$121 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 169 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Eklektech
Business
Maryland
Nov 23, 2012

4 star building, 2 star rooms

Old converted building. Bathroom tiny, noisy plumbing can hear water in adjacent rooms; only one window looking out of always-noisy airshaft, so no view and must be kept closed. Decent climate control. Decent wifi, which room card says must be paid for but they gave it to me free. Staff ranges from friendly to surly. Decent breakfast in stately dining room; did not try dinner. A bit hard to find as entrance is small and major sign says it is a masonic lodge. Location great for upscale shopping; 20 minute walk to Circular Quay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bistro Papillion, on Clarence Street, about 10 minute walk. Classic French home cooking very well done with nice staff. Book ahead on busy nights.

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jenn1234
Business
Sydney
Nov 7, 2012

restfull stay

the hotel was nice, perfect location. the staff were very helpful in finding my way around the city, and getting a taxi. I would stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nee Drinkwater
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 13, 2012

Great Hotel

This is an older hotel in the heart of the city, the rooms are small but very clean and comfortable. The staff were wonderful and very helpful. Only bad this is no help for luggage and cafe and dining rooms not open enough hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rabbie
Business
Fife, Scotland
Apr 18, 2012

Sydney City break

Had a very pleasant stay over our 4 nights. Location,staff & room cleanliness were excellent. Room was a touch on the small side & with adjoining building there was no natural light into room. Hotel reception, lounge & bar area very pleasing with olde world feature. Overall we were happy with the hotel & would use it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Home is where my bags are
Business
Athens, GA, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Great Location in City Centre

If you are heading to Sydney and planning on spending the majority of your time in the hotel room, the Castlereagh Boutique isn't for you. If you're looking for a great place to in Sydney's City Centre to set up a base of operations for exploring the city you'd be hard pressed to find somewhere better. The Castlereagh is about a 5 minue walk from the Town Hall, St James, Martin Place, Museum train stations and the main shopping areas of Castlereagh Street. Its a 20-25 minute walk to Circular Quay and Sydney Opera House. If you're on a budget or missing the States there are 2 Subways, a McDonalds, Starbucks and a host of Australian eatries within minutes. I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

The first chance you get go to the Sydney Visitor Centre in the Rocks or Darling Harbour. Its jammed packed with all kinds of useful information from bus schedules to day trip planning tools. If you're planning Sydney's public transportation the Vistor Centre can help you decide if a MyMulti pass is right for you.

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yankee Traveller
Business
California, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Good value, close to Central Business District

Stayed here 3 nights. Decor is a little dated, but clean. My bathroom was very small which was fine for solo me, but that may be an issue for larger parties. The location is convenient: within walking distance of major tourist sites, numerous shopping galleries, and even Darling Harbour if you're reasonably fit. I didn't try the breakfast, so "no comment" there. Other hotels closer-in were more pricey on such short notice. So C-R is a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Woolworths for groceries is 2 blocks away, as is CitiCorp ATM (if relevant).

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kiro
Business
Japan
Mar 9, 2012

The old house gets older(worn off)

The "Boutique" in the title is just misleading. Beyond location positives, there is nothing else as a reason to recomend it. The worst of all was the noise coming from the construction site just next door where work started as eartly as 07:00 AM. There were two other strange details "build in" the hotel structure - the first is that room size where the hight is twice (or more) biger than any other of demensions and second: the window glass is reinforced and not trasparent (at least - no idea what is the weather outside). Most of other hotel's details were pretty much usual stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just looking
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Good location

Room was small with a full size bed. Room and hotel were very clean. No view from room but window can be opened. Hotel is very convienent to public transportation but yet on a quiet street. Several inexpensive and good places to eat within a block away. If I was spending alot of time in my room, I wouldn't stay there because of room size ,but it is a good place to sleep and get out to see the sights. Room wifi was free. Overall good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The public transportation ticket is a good choice if you want to get out of Sydney. It covers ferries, trains and buses. Just riding the ferries is a good way to take in the great harbour views.

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DollaratChi
Business
New Zealand
Mar 1, 2012

excellent for a couple spending a weekend in Sydney.

We had a very comfortable premier room. Amenities were all there. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Would recommend to a friend. 15min walk to the harbour front, past shops galore.! Everything on your doorstep.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fsbond007
Business
Louisville, KY, USA
Feb 9, 2012

Good location but mediocre hotel

This hotel is historic or antiquated kind. The room size was barely enough to move around. i found this place very expensive for what i was offered. I would not recommend this place. Having said the hotel is located in the Sydney CBD which is a really great place to live while being in Sydney

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top