$147 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
169 Castlereagh Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
290 reviews
A good night's sleep after 40 hours on our feet

We were looking forward to a good night's sleep after flying direct from Athens. The gentleman on... See full review

  • Kangaroo Island Walkers
  • Jul 7, 2014
Best value ever!

Amazing room! Amazing location! Very clean and our room was much more spacious than other reviews... See full review

  • FIrst Time in Sydney
  • Nov 26, 2013
Renovated Art Deco boutique hotel near Sydney’s big attractions
Looking for a boutique hotel experience in the heart of Sydney? You'll find one at the recently renovated Castlereagh Boutique Hotel Sydney. Built in 1920s and recently renovated, the Castlereagh's Art Deco interiors are tasteful and elegant. Dine at Cello's restaurant or grab a drink at the Castlereagh Lounge. Bigger parties will enjoy the amenities of the Grand Dining Hall. Visitors also have convenient access to nearby shops and restaurants, not to mention attractions such as the Sydney Tower and Skywalk, Harbour Bridge, the Opera House, Hyde Park and the Art Gallery, as well as the Royal Botanical Gardens that's just minutes from the hotel.
Reasons to stay
  • Classic décor with modern amenities
  • On-site dining and lounge areas
  • Near Pitt Street Mall and Sky Gardens
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel Sydney rooms
Natural and ornate rooms of various suite sizes welcome guests for an attractive and comfortable experience at Castlereagh Boutique Hotel Sydney. There are 82 rooms and suites with warm wooden décor. Modern amenities include HD TV, multiple channel choice, radio, and free high-speed wireless Internet access for guests to use. In-room personal safes (additional cost applies) easily house precious items such as jewelry, laptops and documents. Guest laundry and dry cleaning services keep clothing and linens fresh. Rooms are newly renovated and secure, while a 24-hour reception service provides guests with a relaxed retreat from which to explore the nature and culture of Castlereagh. Each room is equipped with air-conditioning, towels and toiletries, mini-bar, tea and coffee. Room service is sensitive to the needs of diverse guests for a pleasant and memorable stay. Attractions are within walking distance of the rooms and transport is readily available.
Things to do nearby
  • Sydney Tower with Skywalk close to Max Brenner Chocolate Bar (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Sydney's Pitt Street Mall with Sky Gardens and The Strand Arcade (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Hyde Park with Archibald Fountain (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Australian Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Hyde Park Barracks (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • The National Mint (0.5 mi/ 0.8 km)
  • Art Gallery of NSW and Sydney Aquarium of Wildlife (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Royal Botanical Gardens (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Opera House (1.2 mi/2.0 km)
  • Harbour Bridge (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
~

Hotel Map

-33.8726 151.2089
Nearby airports
Sydney Kingsford Smith Airpo, (SYD), 12.00, KM, SE;
Area description
City Center, Market and Park

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

General
Elevators
Dining
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Multilingual
Tour desk
FAX
Room
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Great Synagogue: 0 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.4 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.1 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.2 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.2 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.3 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.4 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.5 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.6 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.7 mi
  • Customs House: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.8 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.9 mi
  • Government House: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.5 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.7 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
10:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (290)

Ratings and reviews for Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SENIOR CITIZEN
UK
Mar 7, 2013

CENTRAL LOCATION

Excellent location in heart of Sydney shopping area. Room was small but more than adequate for a short stay. Staff very helpful. Would recommend to my friends as offering excellent value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
farmer
Auckland
Mar 6, 2013

Great location

Handy to Museum where we saw exhibition. Close to shops, easy walk to harbour. Good value breakfast. Staff helpful. House bar best in area, but can't wear shorts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hellsy
Wollongong
Mar 5, 2013

Spotlessly clean, centrally located within easy walking distance to all city sights. Close to public

Loved staying here, Receptionists pleasant and very obliging & courteous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

State Theatre within 6mins walk

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mohrle
Berkeley, California
Mar 4, 2013

Not even one star

This was the worst 4-star hotel I have ever stayed at anywhere. The public rooms were nicely redecorated, but our room was hot. with only 2 small windows that were "blind: and could not be opened. One wall was badlly in need of repainting. There was a hole where the bathroom door handle was torn out, the closed window in the bathroom was in a rusted frame. On the floor was a previous guest's car reservation. We couldn't wait to get out of there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mohrle
Berkeley, California
Mar 4, 2013

Terrible

Dirty, noisy, hot. Impressive only in the public areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QE2 Perle
Toronto, Canada
Mar 2, 2013

Great for single traveller

Quaint boutique hotel. My second stay. So close to everything. Great transportation. A few minutes walk from Hyde Park and Queen Victoria Building (QVB) and excellent shopping and even the Apple store and Woolworth's for groceries. Staff friendly and helpful especially re local transportation and tours. Early check - in was available to me on both my stays. Good breakfast buffet in hotel for hot and cold food $15 with prepaid vouchers bought at reception. Feeling of security in hotel as you must insert your room key in elevator panel in order to access your floor. Free washer and dryer on most floors for guest use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gorman
Perth
Feb 28, 2013

Small room bad bed

Great location,nice decor. Room very small and uncomfortable double bed Would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Safari
Perth
Feb 27, 2013

Shoppers delight but thats all

The noise levels at the hotel at night were difficult to deal with. Extremely noisy air conditioners outside. Small rooms and small beds. Not recommended for anyone over 140 cm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cricket Fan
Sussex, England
Feb 23, 2013

Small and uncomfortable

While a reasonable location in the CBD of Sydney, the standard double room was the smallest I have ever stayed in. It was extremely difficult to turn round in the room, unpack a reasonably sized bag or get past the end of the bed without risking injury. The staff ranged from helpful (front desk) to rude (lounge). However the biggest problem, is that the hotel and our room was located next to a building site, where some equipment was working all night long, maing sleep all but impossible, The staff were aware of this and really did not seem to care - it will be OK by next year, was the comment received. We also had the unique experience of drawing the curtain at 0730 in the morning and seeing feet in the middle of the window of our tenth floor room. Not sure how the workman was fixed to the hotel, but, judging by the song he was singing, he seemed comfortable as he painted our window! This was an experience we would gladly have missed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinta Ria Restaurant, Cockle Bay, Darling Harbour

Review of Castlereagh Boutique Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tom.f.1234
Perth, Western Australia
Feb 20, 2013

Perfect for what we wanted

We stayed at The Castlereagh for 3 nights before picking up a cruise, and for what we wanted it was great. The location is very central, you can walk to Hyde park in a couple of minutes or less, circular quay in 15. Our room was as boutique suggests...cosy, but more than adequate, we could fit 3 suitcases and 2 of us in there without any dramas, and very clean. The bathroom was also clean, and I have extremely high standards. The building itself is quite grand, and breakfast was in a beautiful drawing room style. The staff were attentive and allowed us to leave our luggage there after we had checked out for the day before boarding the ship, and after the cruise again until we got our flight home, which was a massive help to us. We would definitely stay there again and have no hesitation to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Café, called Aero on the corner opposite the town hall building that is being renovated. The breakfast there was great, I have a big appetite and couldn't finish my meal both times we went there, and it was very reasonably priced. I had 2 large hash browns, 2 tomatoes, 2 eggs, 2 slices of toast, 2 sausages, 4 decent bacon rashers, lots of beans and a pile of mushrooms of $15. There are lots of places to eat in Sydney, and we were only there for 3 days, but ate breakfast there twice, it was that good.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search