$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 14, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

BreakFree On George Sydney

4 stars
653 George Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
8 reviews
pleasant stay

Hotel was great location for shopping, darling harbour, restaurants and bars, close to the casino... See full review

  • noodlechinese
  • Jun 20, 2014
Fantastic couple tour

We are the new couple for this Australia journery . SDY is our last destination . We selected the... See full review

  • meitian
  • May 28, 2014
Right in the heart of Sydney, BreakFree on George offers stylish accommodation, which is perfect for romantic weekends, corporate stays or family holidays.

Location

BreakFree On George is located in the heart of the city's bustling Darling Harbour, Chinatown and entertainment precincts. The property offers convenient access to all transport and is within walking distance to Paddy's Market, Capitol Theatre, Entertainment Centre, World Square Shopping, Cinemas and Cockle Bay.

Rooms

This property offers 159 fully serviced apartments equipped with usual home comforts and designed with modern and functional interiors. The rooms are ideal for both short or long term stays, whether staying for business or leisure.

Restaurant

Offering a wide variety of delicious meals, the on-site restaurant is the perfect place to keep your taste buds busy throught out the day.

General

The hotel offers a 24-hour reception service. Also available is a tour desk where the friendly staff will provide all information about the lovely city and its amusements.

Hotel Map

-33.879 151.2052
Area served
Sydney
Nearby airports
30 min drive to the Airport (Sydney)
Area description
BreakFree On George Sydney is located in the heart of the city's bustling Darling Harbour, Chinatown and entertainment precincts. The property offers convenient access to all transport and is within walking distance to Paddy's Market, Capitol Theatre, Entertainment Centre, World Square Shopping, Cinemas and Cockle Bay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BreakFree On George Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

BreakFree On George Sydney Rooms

Studio Room
Our Studios feature kitchenette with microwave, dual stove tops and bar fridge. Some with living area, some with balcony. Our studio apartments offer full size bath with shower, some with walk-in shower. Rooms are appointed with cable TV, pay-per-view movie
Studio Queen Executive
Our Studio Queen Executive feature kitchenette with microwave, dual stove tops and bar fridge. Located in the quieter part of the Hotel, these internal apartments have guaranteed living area, study desk and balcony
1 Bedroom Apartment
Our 1 Bedroom Suites feature kitchenette with microwave, dual stove tops and bar fridge. Living and dining areas (some with balcony). Our 1 Bedroom Suites offer full size bath with shower. Rooms are appointed with cable TV, pay-per-view movies and broadband internet
Open Plan Suite
Our Open Plan Suites feature kitchenette with microwave, dual stove tops and bar fridge. Living and dining areas (some with balcony). Our Open Plan Suites offer full size bath with shower (some with 2 bathrooms). Rooms are appointed with cable TV, pay-per view movie
2 Bedroom Apartment
Our 2 Bedroom Apartments feature separate bedrooms with a Queen size bed in the master bedroom, and 1 Queen bed or 2 Single beds (subject to availability) in the second bedroom. Separate lounge/dining area with sofa and dining table for 4.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Capitol Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.2 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.4 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.2 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.4 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.4 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.7 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.7 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.8 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.9 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.9 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.9 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 1 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1.1 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.2 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • Customs House: 1.2 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.4 mi
  • Government House: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.5 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.6 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.6 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.1 mi

Dining

Chiili & Spicy
Chilli & Spicy Restaurant is open 7 days from 7am until 10pm serving a full hot Australian breakfast, lunch & dinner all located on the Mezzanine Level.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (8)

Ratings and reviews for BreakFree On George Sydney

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BreakFree On George Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meitian
Business
CHINA
May 28, 2014

Fantastic couple tour

We are the new couple for this Australia journery . SDY is our last destination . We selected the property just for the location when we browsing online.We did the check-in in a very narrow lobby but we met the very friendly Turky man at the receiption .From then on all the experience of our staying are very satisfactory .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

CHINATOWN IS JUST DOWNSTAIR . IT IS A PERFECT LOCATION AND OPTION FOR WHO LOVE CHINA .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BreakFree On George Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The travelling ranger club
Business
Yosemite,CA
Mar 9, 2010

great place to stay

The hotel was in a great location but because of the great location on the main road it was noisy. I didn't mind the noise because we could walk out our door and there were bars and restaurants right there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BreakFree On George Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint George, UT
May 20, 2010

Good Location for the Price

My main concern was that the hotel lobby had two entrances, one directly off George St (probably the most heavily travelled street in Sydney) and one entrance on the street to the north of the hotel (Sussex). The lobby always seemed very busy with foot traffic, and I couldn't figure out why until we were sitting in the lobby for 30 mins. waiting for our shuttle to the airport, and I'm guessing at least 50 people walked thru as a shortcut from George St to Sussex (definitely not hotel guests, just people too lazy to walk around the street corner. I couldn't believe it!!! They were practically stumbling over our feet as we sat there waiting. I commented to the lady at the desk, and she agreed that it was busy, but they didn't know how to stop it (after 9 pm the doors are locked, and a room key is required to get into the front doors of the hotel, but when people ring the outside bell, the desk is required to buzz them in). I might mention that a room key was required to operate the elevators. We were on the 9th floor, so the traffic noise wasn't quite as bad as if we'd been on the lower floors, but double-glazed windows (rather than a single pane of glass) would have helped considerably!! Hotel staff was very helpful and extremely accommodating, and I was really grateful for that. Location, although super busy, was within a very short walk to most all transportation (free city shuttle, double-decker hop on/hop off bus, city busses, etc.), the Capital Theater, and some great eating places. Lastly, the area around the hotel was dotted with ATMs and convenience stores (great places to pick up misc. food items/munchies, but everything was super expensive).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just across the street and down a few doors was a great place to get fish and chips (Paddy's) and an excellent Japanese restaurant near the Capital Theater with excellent tempura (we ate there twice in 4 days).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BreakFree On George Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
noodlechinese
Business
manila
Jun 20, 2014

pleasant stay

Hotel was great location for shopping, darling harbour, restaurants and bars, close to the casino and capitol theatre. Good fast check-in and out. Trains/buses/light rail all at the door. Hotel room was roomy enough for two people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BreakFree On George Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seoul, S. Korea
Feb 24, 2011

Great Location

Sight Seeing; Relaxation The location and amenities were perfect; however, the outside noise from traffic, people and construction made it IMPOSSIBLE to sleep on the comfy bed provided. Instead, I slept on the sofa every night just hoping to get 'some' sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go on self-guided tours & save yourself hundreds. You don't need to pay for a tour package (i.e. Blue Moutains, Featherdale Wildlife Park). You can easily get to the most popular sights and save money while you're at it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BreakFree On George Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mature Couple plus 2
Business
Lancashire
Oct 3, 2013

ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT

We were on the 13th floor so away from most of the noise of George Street - one of the main shopping streets. View from the balcony (buildings and street), especially lights at night, was great. This is Sydney, which doesn't sleep at night, so if you are a light sleeper ear plugs may help - even on the 13th floor! Hotel is situated in Chinatown and the hotel lobby (during the day) is used as a cut-through between George Street and Sussex Street. It is, therefore, usually very busy. You may even wonder if you are staying in Australia or China at times! We didn't eat in the hotel (even for breakfast) so cannot comment on the restaurant. The 2 bed suite was comfortable but nothing more. The second bedroom was definitely bijou. The rooms were definitely in need of TLC in respect of the decor and some of the furnishings. There was a piece of coving missing from the living room and the door into the main bedroom didn't close fully. At least, if you did, you had to shoulder charge it to get it open again! We are forced to wonder if hotels intentionally assign such rooms to bookings not made directly with them? The balcony does help extend the living area (for 4 adults, at least). The kitchen area is very well equipped with washer/dryer, dishwasher, microwave, oven and gas hob. The ensuite bathroom was very spacious. The cost of WiFi - $13.20 for 2 hours is, in our opinion, extortionate! All that said, the staff were very helpful and resolved any other issues we had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BreakFree On George Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 11, 2010

Sydney 2

Hotel was fine but not quite the class of hotel I expected from a 4 star hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BreakFree On George Sydney

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Singapore
Jul 23, 2011

internet sucks

Internet sucks and have to pay for it. This is the first time in my travelling career that I have to pay surcharge for using credit card to settle my bill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

location is great as it is within chinatown. lots of restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top