$183 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel

5 stars
The Wharf at Woolloomooloo, 6 Cowper Wharf Road, Sydney, NS 2011
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.8
out of 5
40 reviews
awesome!

Stylish room, 5 star service! Hotel even surprised me with the sparking & treats for my birthday!... See full review

  • lulu730
  • Aug 15, 2014
Can you say, "pillow menu"??

Stayed for two nights with a few girlfriends. We had a harbour view loft room. Perfect amount of... See full review

  • Whale Pants
  • Jun 12, 2014
Lofty rooms with water views on the Woolloomooloo Wharf

Retaining original features of the historical wharf structure--including exposed timber beams and black pipes--BLUE Sydney has infused the elderly building with a dash of serious cool. Coveted loft rooms are apartment-size with five-star amenities and boutique style. The award-winning Water Bar draws Sydney starlets, business executives and jetsetters who sip fanciful cocktails by candlelight. The Wharf at Woolloomooloo never looked so glam.

Highlights
  • Fabulous address on Woolloomooloo Wharf
  • Hip bar attracts celebs and socialites
  • Loft accommodations with giant windows
Rooms

Dramatic floor-to-ceiling windows covered with dual blinds feature shimmering Pacific or city views from the hotel's 100 rooms. Standard room interiors in shades of stone and sand are sparse, but do not lack luxury. The hotel's 36 loft rooms are worth the splurge with high ceilings, plush couches and deep tubs. Emerald throws, pillows and glass panels pay homage to the hotel's name while deep timber beams and exposed black pipes nod to the building's heritage. Hotel quarters feature high thread count linens, pillow-top mattresses, Wi-Fi and LCD TV.

Features

BLUE Sydney, a member of the Leading Small Hotels of the World, knows how to deliver amenities and experience. The hotel features a state-of-the-art fitness center and indoor lap pool, plus six restaurants in the wharf complex. The award-winning Water Bar has a cinematic setting populated by lovely patrons who sip colorful martinis on silver ottomans. The entire property features Wi-Fi.

Transportation
  • St. James or Kings Cross station
  • Railway Station (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Airport (9.3 mi/15 km)
Attractions
  •  Woolloomooloo Wharf (across the street)
  • Oxford Street shopping (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • The Rocks (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Circular Quay (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Moore Park Golf Course (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Darling Harbour (3.7 mi/6 km)
  • Manly Beach (8.7 mi/14 km)
Business
  • Business center with private office, fax, copy, courier and secretarial services
  • High-speed Internet and Wi-Fi
  • Meeting facilities

Hotel Map

-33.8684 151.2206
Area served
CityCenter
Nearby airports
KINGSFORD SMITH AIRPORT, (SYD), 14.00, KM, S;
Area description
City Center, Located in the historic finger wharf redevelopment on Sydney

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel Rooms

ALL
Description not provided
Superior Wharf Room. King Bed.
Superior Wharf Room. King Bed. 34SQM. HSIA On Charge. El Safe
Superior Room Wheelchair Access.
Superior Room Wheelchair Access. King Bed. 34SQM.HSIA On Charge. El Safe
Superior Lunar Loft Room.
Superior Lunar Loft Room. Interior View. King Bed. 64SQM. HSIA On Charge. El Safe
Superior Rafter Room. Interior
Superior Rafter Room. Interior View. King Bed. 35SQM. HSIA On Charge. El Safe.
Loft Suite 1 Bedroom. Marina
Loft Suite 1 Bedroom. Marina View.58SQM. HSIA On Charge. El Safe
Ultra Loft Suite 1 Bedroom.
Ultra Loft Suite 1 Bedroom. Marina View. 98SQM. HSIA On Charge. El Safe
Luxury Room. Marina View. 2
Luxury Room. Marina View. 2 Double Beds. 46SQM. HSIA On Charge. El Safe.
Luxury Room. Marina View. King
Luxury Room. Marina View. King Bed. 46SQM. HSIA On Charge. El Safe
Loft Suite 1 Bedroom. Pier View.
Loft Suite 1 Bedroom. Pier View. 58SQM. HSIA On Charge. El Safe
Deluxe Room. Pier View. 2 Double
Deluxe Room. Pier View. 2 Double Beds. 46SQM. HSIA On Charge. El Safe
Deluxe Room. Pier View. King Bed
Deluxe Room. Pier View. King Bed. 46SQM. HSIA On Charge. El Safe
Superior Room. Woolloomooloo
Superior Room. Woolloomooloo View. King Bed. 36SQM. HSIA On Charge.El Safe

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Meal plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Outdoor parking
Room
DVD player
TV
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Turndown service
Shower
Electronic door locks
Iron
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.2 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.6 mi
  • Government House: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.2 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.6 mi
  • Government House: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.7 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.7 mi
  • Customs House: 0.7 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.7 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.8 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.8 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.9 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 1.1 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.1 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.2 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 1.2 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 1.3 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Star City Casino: 1.5 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.5 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.5 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 1.6 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.7 mi
  • Bradleys Head Fortification Complex: 1.9 mi

Dining

The Cafe
Price range- 15.00 - 25.00 AUD Suitable attire- Business/casual Reservations Required- No BLUE Cafe, located in the heart of the wharf, offers Big Breakfast and Classic Sydney Cafe Fare, freshly brewed coffee and refreshing juices. The cafe enjoys scenic
The Water Bar
Glossy black surfaces flow along with refracting crystals creating an interactive flow of split light and dark water. High contrast noir lighting

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.9
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PhilM the world traveler
denver, colorado
Dec 4, 2013

Blue Hotel after cruise stay

The Blue Hotel is great, a short distance from the center of Sydney. a lot of places to have lunch and dinner right outside the hotel. The rooms are great and the bedding is very comfortable. Next time we are in Sydney we will definitely stay at the Blue Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SueBoo
Hong Kong
Aug 1, 2013

Cold and cavernous

This is definitely a good weather hotel. I realise that there are restrictions on the design due to the historic nature of the building, but it was freezing cold. Our bathroom had almost no counter top, so we had to put our toiletries, etc on the floor, and then the shower leaked all over the floor! And the airconditioning unit was very noisy. That said, the location was fabulous and the staff were very very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom and Alyx
Calgary,Alberta
Apr 22, 2013

perfect hotel

From the very beginning when I was helped out of our airport shuttle the staff could not have been more helpful.They were friendly with genuine smiles and very kind.It was so nice to be treated as a friend with no expectation of a tip(tipping is not the practice in Australia)They answered all our questions and I never felt rushed or like there was anything that was too much trouble.My daughter mentioned she loved the big bath but had no bath salts and they sent some up right away. Wonderful beds and pillows. The location is terrific with great restaurants below along the wharf.It is right beside the Domaine and Botanical gardens and I only wish it wasn't pouring rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Mantra Restaurant is on wharf along hotel and has the BEST truffle fries and great seafood.

Review of BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The three sisters.
Melbourne
Apr 10, 2013

Sydney Getaway

Great location, good restaurants and cafes in the surrounding area. Bar at the hotel also very good, we enjoyed the cocktails. Only issue was the really loud people in the room next to us, took three phone calls and visits from the staff to get them to settle down around 2am. Bathroom was a little small but there were two separate toilets which made up for it. Considering the price, we thought it was good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tilbury Hotel in Woolloomooloo had delicious food and was good value. Staff were excellent.

Review of BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Family of three
Victoria
Apr 8, 2013

Lovely one night stay

We were in Sydney for a wedding and had a wonderful experience at Blue. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and very welcoming to us and our 4 year old son. The location for us was great as it was very close to the venue at the end of the wedding. Thankyou Blue, we will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Fam
Not Provided
Feb 28, 2013

Convenient Location

Fantastic restaurants at your doorstep. Only problem is that if you want an early night the hotel is located above the restaurants and you can hear everything. Not a problem if you are out late. Room extremely comfortable with luxurious bathroom and amenities. Architecture within in the room is unique!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
geminijodie
Darwin
Feb 20, 2013

great location with friendly helpful staff

My husband and I had a wonderful experience staying here recently as we came to Sydney for the first time to attend a concert at the Opera House.After much research I chose this hotel after reading others reviews & the price offered. We stayed in a loft room which was very comfortable with all modern conveniences and loved the unique history of the hotel and location.We also had fun exploring the area as is within walking distance of many local attractions including Botanical Gardens, Opera House,CBD,Harbour bridge,Potts Point and Kings Cross.All interactions with staff were positive,as they were extremely friendly & helpful.Food at hotel and nearby restaurants (including famous Harrys Pie shop!) was lovely albeit somewhat expensive at some places.Would definitely recommend this hotel to others and we hope to return there again in the not too distant future.The whole transaction was smooth and very impressed with services and value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Follow the Cahill Walk to Sydney Harbour Bridge -well worth it as wonderful views as path winds through Circular Quay ,the Rocks & CBD.

Review of BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Warwick
Blue mountains
Feb 17, 2013

Magnificent awesome staff so helpful

Superb, great location excellent hotel would highly recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dimz
Sydney
Jan 30, 2013

Modern and Cosy by the Water

Lovely, Modern decor. Cosy bed. Clean rooms. Friendly and efficient concierge and service. 20min walk outside of the City centre. closer to the Botanical Gardens. situated right by the water. was a nice little getaway from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Would have to cab into the city central for night life. there are a few cafes and restaurants and a Harrys Cafe De Wheels right next door for a midnight snack but no night life otherwise

Review of BLUE Sydney - A Taj Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Young1
Australia
Dec 1, 2012

Luxury at Woolloomooloo

My boyfriend and I were extremely happy with our stay at the Blue. The check in/check out service was stress free. We stayed in a Delux Loft Suite on the naval side of the wharf and it was great to be overlooking the water. The room was spotless, the bed super comfortable and we had absolutely no issues. We ordered room service dessert twice during our stay and both times they were delicious and arrived within 10 minutes of ordering. The turn down service was also a pleasant surprise and a nice touch. During our 5 day stay I didn't see any children. To get into the CBD it's a short walk through the Botanic gardens which requires some stairs and uphill walking. This didn't bother us as the gardens were beautiful. I would definitely return to the hotel, and perhaps pay extra for a lost suite facing the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Manta on the wharf was amazing, super fresh, impeccible service and well worth the price. Crinitis is also on the wharf and was reasonably priced for the standard of food.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search