$176 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

5 stars
80 Pyrmont Street, Pyrmont Sydney, Sydney, NS 2009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
74 reviews
Perfect pre-drinks cave !

Great location and excellent services. Would definitely rate it best apartments in sydney See full review

  • Shak0707
  • Aug 7, 2014
Family and Friends Bday break

Nice Spacious rooms, perfect for groups. Ideal location close to city, darling harbour and casino. See full review

  • aqrb
  • Jun 25, 2014
Astral Tower and Residences at The Star is the place to stay when you want to enjoy first class luxury accommodation and all the action and excitement of Sydney's premier entertainment venue. Astral Tower and Residences at The Star is a part of the huge casino complex. The property is a 10 minute walk across Pyrmont Bridge from the city as well as 5 minutes walk to Darling Harbour All hotel rooms are beautifully presented with views of either the city skyline or surrounding suburbs.

Hotel Map

-33.8689 151.1952
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport.
Area description
Astral Tower and Residences at The Star are perfectly located just minutes from the heart of Sydney's CBD and Darling Harbour. There are many transport options; taxis, harbor ferry, Metro light rail, monorail and complimentary shuttle services and luxury. All the hotel rooms are beautifully presented with a choice of King or Twin rooms and views of the city skyline, Harbour Bridge or Pyrmont and surrounding suburbs. The range of apartments offers even greater flexibility with separate dining/living areas and fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. They provide ideal accommodation for both business and leisure travelers. A 24-hour convenience store is located in the retail arcade. Taxis harbor ferry, Light Rail, Monorail and complimentary shuttle services are all at The Star's doorstep. For guest convenience, Valet parking is discounted for Hotel & Apartment guests to $26.00 per 24 hours and is accessed via Jones Bay Road, Pyrmont.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Astral Tower and Residences at The Star also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Astral Tower and Residences at The Star Rooms

Deluxe City or Harbour View
City or Harbour View Rooms with High-speed internet access, Work station / desk, 24-hour room service, Individually controlled A/C and heating, FOXTEL TV channels with in-house movies, International direct-dial phone, personalised voice mail, Mini bar, in-room safe, tea / coffee making and hair dryer, Non-smoking rooms and floors available. Room size: 32m sq.
Deluxe Pyrmont Room
District View Rooms with High-speed internet access, Work station / desk, 24-hour room service, Individually controlled A/C and heating, FOXTEL TV channels with in-house movies, International direct-dial phone, personalised voice mail, Mini bar, in-room safe, tea / coffee making and hair dryer, Non-smoking rooms and floors available. Room size: 32m sq.
Star Suites
Melt into the leather sofa in your separate lounge room as you enjoy the latest in entertainment on your retractable big screen LCD. Room size is 76 square metres and features High-speed Internet access, Ipod docking station, Comfortable work station / desk, 24-hour room service, FOXTEL TV channels & In-House movies, Individually controlled A/C and heating, International direct-dial phone, personalised voice mail, Mini bar, in-room safe, tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryer.
One and Two Bedr. Apartments
If you're after a little more space, or perhaps we're lucky enough to have you stay with us for longer, we have one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments. Enjoy your own private balcony, separate dining/living areas, a kitchen and full laundry facilities. It's all the convenience you deserve during your stay. One Bedroom Apts are city view and 60-70m2 in size. Two Bedroom Apts are either city or Pyrmont View, have a second bathroom and measure 85-95m2.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Star City Casino: 0 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 1 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Parliament House: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 1 mi
  • Customs House: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1.1 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.4 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.5 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.7 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 2 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.3 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.5 mi

Dining

The Star
There are 8 Signature Dining options and 6 Casual Dining venues within The Star.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Big dawg
Austi nsw
Feb 3, 2014

Buyer beware!

NB:this isn't the new part of the casino. The new part is called the darling but they don't tell you which is which. The main attraction, the terrace bar, was closed due to bad weather (lack of patrons????????) but it wasn't raining and was in middle of January so it was not cold. Half the restaurants were closed. Morning newspaper didn't show up. Concierge said he 'couldn't get through' to restaurant to make booking when he phoned. Two beers were sent to my room after I complained, but what good are they late at night when you get back to your room and just want to crash out?... Very disappointed. Only good thing was big room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
aysh
Melbourne, Australia
Jan 2, 2014

Very dissapointed family

On arrival the staff lost our form which had all our credit card details and they asked us to fill it out again. Once explained that it was done, she realised she was looking at someone else's information. How does that happen when the names don't match? On our second day a mysterious bag was left in our room whilst we were out. I rang reception, apparently the owner was looking for it for 3 hours and it was delivered to the wrong room. How could they get the room numbers wrong? To top it off on the same day we were locked out of our room for 3.5 hours because the battery was was completely dead and no one could get it to work. The hotel had to get outside help. Mind you after continuously complaining 'cause we weren't being informed of what was happening and we were left in the corridor for at least 20 minutes before someone came to assist us. The drama continued in the foyer with no explanation of what was happening. By this time we were very hungry as we didn't have our wallets on us and we couldn't go and get something to eat. The staff ended up giving us a room to rest and they sent us food whilst a locksmith came and solved to unlock our room. We wasted our night as we had plans for the evening. Not happy family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jules01
Business
Perth
Jan 5, 2014

Bed and pillows extremely uncomfortable

I travel quite at lot during the year - approx 60 - 90 nights. This bed was the most uncomfortable I have slept in for years (and I travel all over Asia as well). The pillows were like rocks. I ended up putting the duvet on top of the mattress and then lying on top of that to try to get comfortable. This was a slight improvement. The bed also had the midline lump that old beds get. Clearly time for a change and hopefully an improvement. The overall room seemed tired and need of a spruce up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food court in the complex is quite good

Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sirikit
Darwin NT 0800, Australia
Nov 16, 2011

Extremely disappointing!

Overall experience was very disappointing and certainly not value for money. Delayed check in time of one hour. Left sitting in the foyer and no transition room available when I was travelling with a disabled and elderly guest. Not clear explanations of the use of key card and the television reception was extremely poor. Not allocated a two bed room when two adults were travelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Campbell13
Business
NSW
Nov 25, 2012

The Star Hotel - Not so Shiny

The front desk staff were rude and dismissive at checkin. We have stayed at this property on many previous occasions and could not reason why the level of service was so poor on this occasion compared to our previous visits. The reason for the huge disparity in the level of service became evident when we were informed that because we had booked through a third party. I have worked in the tourism industry for more than 30 years and never heard of this as a variance to determine service delivery levels. What needs to happen? Third party booking companies need to ensure that the contractual arrangements with accommodation providers are such that the customer receives the same level of service as if they had booked direct or if this cannot be guaranteed than the featured property is not listed by the third party OR guests are warned to not stay at this property if booking through a third party. Overall a very disappointing stay at the Star Hotel from a property that is usually of a high standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maza
Business
Central Coast
Aug 13, 2012

weekend getaway

I was not too impressed this motel. I think it is overpriced for what you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Toni26
Sydney
Nov 19, 2012

Hi

Treated really well so was all good and at end of day service is important to me. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
May 4, 2010

When we arrived, they told us

When we arrived, they told us our details is not on their system and it took around 10 minutes for us to stand there and waited for them to call [website]. When we checked out, we asked them to help us to check in with the flight and print out the boarding passes, they told us there is no such service. Other than this, the services and room and location is great. The buffet breakfast there is good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tamara
Not Provided
Jan 19, 2010

Make sure you check you bill before

Make sure you check you bill before paying, they add items that should have been inclusions, so to save you chasing a refund take a few minutes to go through your bill. Otherwise great location, light rail downstairs from casino, sub way and heaps of places to eat. Concierge desk very helpful with transport, shopping and places to dine. The pool and spa are beautiful so take some time to enjoy them.Would look at [website] to book as it works out far cheaper then going through star city itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Not Provided
Mar 24, 2009

My only problem was that it smelt

My only problem was that it smelt strongly of cigarette smoke especially when I turned on the air conditioner....actually made me feel ill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search