$210 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

5 stars
80 Pyrmont Street, Pyrmont Sydney, Sydney, NS 2009
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
74 reviews
Perfect pre-drinks cave !

Great location and excellent services. Would definitely rate it best apartments in sydney See full review

  • Shak0707
  • Aug 7, 2014
Family and Friends Bday break

Nice Spacious rooms, perfect for groups. Ideal location close to city, darling harbour and casino. See full review

  • aqrb
  • Jun 25, 2014
Astral Tower and Residences at The Star is the place to stay when you want to enjoy first class luxury accommodation and all the action and excitement of Sydney's premier entertainment venue. Astral Tower and Residences at The Star is a part of the huge casino complex. The property is a 10 minute walk across Pyrmont Bridge from the city as well as 5 minutes walk to Darling Harbour All hotel rooms are beautifully presented with views of either the city skyline or surrounding suburbs.

Hotel Map

-33.8689 151.1952
Area served
Sydney.
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport.
Area description
Astral Tower and Residences at The Star are perfectly located just minutes from the heart of Sydney's CBD and Darling Harbour. There are many transport options; taxis, harbor ferry, Metro light rail, monorail and complimentary shuttle services and luxury. All the hotel rooms are beautifully presented with a choice of King or Twin rooms and views of the city skyline, Harbour Bridge or Pyrmont and surrounding suburbs. The range of apartments offers even greater flexibility with separate dining/living areas and fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities. They provide ideal accommodation for both business and leisure travelers. A 24-hour convenience store is located in the retail arcade. Taxis harbor ferry, Light Rail, Monorail and complimentary shuttle services are all at The Star's doorstep. For guest convenience, Valet parking is discounted for Hotel & Apartment guests to $26.00 per 24 hours and is accessed via Jones Bay Road, Pyrmont.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Astral Tower and Residences at The Star also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Astral Tower and Residences at The Star Rooms

Deluxe City or Harbour View
City or Harbour View Rooms with High-speed internet access, Work station / desk, 24-hour room service, Individually controlled A/C and heating, FOXTEL TV channels with in-house movies, International direct-dial phone, personalised voice mail, Mini bar, in-room safe, tea / coffee making and hair dryer, Non-smoking rooms and floors available. Room size: 32m sq.
Deluxe Pyrmont Room
District View Rooms with High-speed internet access, Work station / desk, 24-hour room service, Individually controlled A/C and heating, FOXTEL TV channels with in-house movies, International direct-dial phone, personalised voice mail, Mini bar, in-room safe, tea / coffee making and hair dryer, Non-smoking rooms and floors available. Room size: 32m sq.
Star Suites
Melt into the leather sofa in your separate lounge room as you enjoy the latest in entertainment on your retractable big screen LCD. Room size is 76 square metres and features High-speed Internet access, Ipod docking station, Comfortable work station / desk, 24-hour room service, FOXTEL TV channels & In-House movies, Individually controlled A/C and heating, International direct-dial phone, personalised voice mail, Mini bar, in-room safe, tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryer.
One and Two Bedr. Apartments
If you're after a little more space, or perhaps we're lucky enough to have you stay with us for longer, we have one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments. Enjoy your own private balcony, separate dining/living areas, a kitchen and full laundry facilities. It's all the convenience you deserve during your stay. One Bedroom Apts are city view and 60-70m2 in size. Two Bedroom Apts are either city or Pyrmont View, have a second bathroom and measure 85-95m2.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Casino
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • Star City Casino: 0 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.2 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.7 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.7 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.7 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.7 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.8 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 1 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 1 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1 mi
  • Parliament House: 1 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 1 mi
  • Customs House: 1 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 1 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 1 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 1.1 mi
  • Australian Museum: 1.1 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.1 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.1 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.2 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 1.3 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Government House: 1.3 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.4 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.5 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.7 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.8 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 2 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.3 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.5 mi

Dining

The Star
There are 8 Signature Dining options and 6 Casual Dining venues within The Star.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (74)

Ratings and reviews for Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendy
Not Provided
Jan 10, 2011

Had a lovely overnight stay.

Had a lovely overnight stay. Superb service, great facilities, great food and very nice room. Would not hesitate to stay there again. Very Happy !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Big dawg
Austi nsw
Feb 3, 2014

Buyer beware!

NB:this isn't the new part of the casino. The new part is called the darling but they don't tell you which is which. The main attraction, the terrace bar, was closed due to bad weather (lack of patrons????????) but it wasn't raining and was in middle of January so it was not cold. Half the restaurants were closed. Morning newspaper didn't show up. Concierge said he 'couldn't get through' to restaurant to make booking when he phoned. Two beers were sent to my room after I complained, but what good are they late at night when you get back to your room and just want to crash out?... Very disappointed. Only good thing was big room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sandrinastud
Orange
Jan 12, 2014

Great service

was upgraded to executive room was really comfortable, staff in the whole complex were really friendly restaurants were god value we had an excellent time Thankyou

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

food court is good value for breakfast, become an absolute member and I makes it even cheaper

Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jules01
Business
Perth
Jan 5, 2014

Bed and pillows extremely uncomfortable

I travel quite at lot during the year - approx 60 - 90 nights. This bed was the most uncomfortable I have slept in for years (and I travel all over Asia as well). The pillows were like rocks. I ended up putting the duvet on top of the mattress and then lying on top of that to try to get comfortable. This was a slight improvement. The bed also had the midline lump that old beds get. Clearly time for a change and hopefully an improvement. The overall room seemed tired and need of a spruce up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food court in the complex is quite good

Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
aysh
Melbourne, Australia
Jan 2, 2014

Very dissapointed family

On arrival the staff lost our form which had all our credit card details and they asked us to fill it out again. Once explained that it was done, she realised she was looking at someone else's information. How does that happen when the names don't match? On our second day a mysterious bag was left in our room whilst we were out. I rang reception, apparently the owner was looking for it for 3 hours and it was delivered to the wrong room. How could they get the room numbers wrong? To top it off on the same day we were locked out of our room for 3.5 hours because the battery was was completely dead and no one could get it to work. The hotel had to get outside help. Mind you after continuously complaining 'cause we weren't being informed of what was happening and we were left in the corridor for at least 20 minutes before someone came to assist us. The drama continued in the foyer with no explanation of what was happening. By this time we were very hungry as we didn't have our wallets on us and we couldn't go and get something to eat. The staff ended up giving us a room to rest and they sent us food whilst a locksmith came and solved to unlock our room. We wasted our night as we had plans for the evening. Not happy family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jbnkl
Sydney
Dec 28, 2013

Short stay

Beds are very hard other than that room was clean and tidy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Garden buffet far too expensive , find somewhere else to eat

Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nafe
Sydney, Australia
Dec 16, 2013

Great way to chill out after a concert.

The room was very comfortable, the beds were great as was the pillow menu. The bathroom was a reasonable size, but the door on the sower/bath leaked water which tended to soak the bathmat. Other than the expected overpriced in-room drinks and snacks, the room was fantastic. Free wiFi would have been nice, why don't more hotels offer this as part of the package? The staff were excellent though and we were able to check in earlier than the usual time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pyrmont Bridge Hotel about 5 mins up the road has great value pub food, and a nice Bistro area.

Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim H
Sydney, Australia
Nov 14, 2013

At least once in your life you need to spoil yourself

Mix the most beautiful Harbour City in the world with the best hotel in Sydney and you are in heaven. There is nothing Astral Tower and Residences at The Star doesn't offer at Darling Harbour. Spend your days and nights with First Class Entertainment, exotic restaurants, quaint eateries, the Casino. Alternatively it's an easy walking distance to the magnificent Sydney Aquarium, Madame Tussauds, the Australian Maritime Museum, shopping at Darling Harbour or Paddy's Markets. You can try a lunch or dinner cruise or if you're more adventurous climb THE Bridge, or do a donut on the harbour with Ocean Extreme's Rush Hour ride... so many things to do and so little time to do them. The wonder of staying at the Star is you have the choice to stay indoors and spoil yourself in your fabulous apartment or suite or venture out and within minutes all your senses are alive with what Sydney has to offer. The STAR by name and the STAR by nature.... perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are so many great attractions within a short distance from The Star; the only hit I'd give is to take your best pair of walking shoes and indulge yourself when you return to the hotel... have a massage ;)

Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanda2186
Sydney
Oct 9, 2013

Great place to stay

Had a great experience at Astral Tower and Residences at The Star. Arriving on a Saturday, I was able to check in an hour early. We were given a room on the 12th floor with 2 very comfortable double beds for my friend and I. We had an exciting evening out with our friends in Surry Hills and the City, and easily made our way back to our hotel room with no issues after midnight. Had a wonderful sleep and woke up refreshed. Had plenty of time to get ready before I easily checked us out at 11am on Sunday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kc photowa
Perth WA
Sep 12, 2013

Great Hotel

Reception was easy, and quick. Apartment is quite spacious and well laid out. Good sized balcony looking towards the city gave great views of the Darlking Harbour boat traffic. Bed only has 1 side table, making morning coffee & paper difficult. Coffee supplied is instant, milk is UHT; not up to standards of Singapore hotels, some of which are providing Nespresso machines. Biggest complaint is that the room overlooks the plant rooms and the noise from the exhaust fans is loud, especially at night, making it impossible to have the window open for fresh air. The other main complaint is the huge cost of wifi - $99 for a week; one day Australian hotels will stop gouging their customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Astral Tower and Residences at The Star

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shortypants
Sydney, NSW
Jul 20, 2013

Girl's night out

The hotel was a perfect place to stay after going to the Lyric Theatre. The staff were very helpful and the room was very clean. The bed was very comfortable and there was very little noise ( it was a week night). Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great place to stay after seeing a show at the Lyric theatre.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search