$73 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

Aspire Hotel Sydney

3 stars
383-389 Bulwara Road, Ultimo Sydney, Sydney, NS 2007
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
225 reviews
Good location.

The hotel is clean if a little run down. Good location for the Power House Museum and Paddy's... See full review

  • Dave D
  • Apr 8, 2014
Aspired

I was given a fantastic deluxe room fitted with an extremely useful in-room safe. The décor was a... See full review

  • that lived in look
  • Mar 29, 2014
Low cost hotel with friendly service near Darling Harbour

The former Aspen Hotel has been rebranded as the Aspire Hotel Sydney. Simple interiors deemed as retro by insiders offer a comfortable stay with friendly service.  A fine option for travelers on a budget, Aspire Hotel offers a convenient location on a quiet street near Darling Harbour, the Powerhouse Museum, Chinatown and public transportation to the central business district and beyond. Aspire Hotel promises ease for leisure and business travelers.

Highlights
  • Private access to Mary Ann Park next to the hotel
  • Short walk to attractions and Sydney's central business district
  • Reasonably-priced rooms
Rooms

The hotel's 96 guest rooms are a throwback to the 1970s, featuring retro-style bedding and furniture that offer plenty of comfort. All rooms include private balconies (some with views), spotless bathrooms, a refrigerator and air conditioning. All rooms are non-smoking. Décor favors blues and browns, with flowered bedding and dark wood furniture. The hotel offers a work desk and Wi-Fi (fees apply).

Features

Guests receive private entrance to the adjacent Mary Anne Park, perfect for a picnic or relaxing in the grass. The hotel restaurant serves breakfast daily and lunch and dinner when pre-booked for groups of 20 or more. Patrons have access to the business center with Internet kiosks or can request emails be sent through the 24-hour reception staff. The hotel provides free luggage storage as well as sightseeing assistance and tour booking. Parking and Wi-Fi are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • Paddy's Market Monorail Stop (4 blocks)
  • Central Station Railway (.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Airport (7 mi/10.6 km)
Attractions
  • Paddy's Market (4 blocks)
  • Sydney Convention Center (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Sydney Aquarium (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Darling Harbour (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Pitt Street Mall (1.5 mi/2.3 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (4.8 mi/7.6 km)
  • Bondi Beach (6.2 mi/10 km)
  • Manly Beach (10.5 mi/16.8 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference and meeting facilities
  • High-speed Internet and Wi-Fi (fees apply)

Hotel Map

-33.8804 151.1986
Area served
Leisure, corporate guests and families.
Nearby airports
Kingsford Smith International Airport.
Area description
The Aspire Hotel Sydney is just a short walk from Darling Harbour, the Convention and Entertainment Centre, Sydney's Central Business District, Chinatown and Theatres. Parking is available within the property at an extra charge.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Aspire Hotel Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Aspire Hotel Sydney Rooms

Standard Room
Room consists of 1 queen bed & sofa bed, or 1 queen bed & 1 single bed. Rate is for 1-2 persons. Maximum 3 adults at a surcharge $40.00/night/extra person, or 2 adults & 1 children aged under 12 years accommodated at no extra charge*.Bedding configuration can be requested when making booking but cannot be guaranteed.Children only free of charge when using exisiting bedding. Separate rollaway bed or sofa bed can be requested at extra charge.
Deluxe Room
Room contains either 2 queen beds & 1 sofa bed, or 1 king bed (can be split to 2 x king singles) & 2 sofa beds. Maximum 5 adults at a surcharge of $40.00/night/extra person or 2 adults & 1 children aged under 12 years accommodated at no extra charge*.Bedding configuration can be requested when making booking but cannot be guaranteed.*Children only free of charge when using exisiting bedding. Separate rollaway bed or sofa bed can be requested at extra charge.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.4 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.8 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 0.3 mi
  • University of Technology: 0.3 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.4 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Belmore Park: 0.5 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.8 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.8 mi
  • University of Sydney: 0.8 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.9 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • General Post Office: 1 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 1 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 1.1 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 1.1 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 1.2 mi
  • Parliament House: 1.2 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 1.3 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 1.3 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 1.4 mi
  • Customs House: 1.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 1.5 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.5 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 1.6 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 1.7 mi
  • Government House: 1.7 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.8 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 1.8 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 1.8 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 1.9 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 2.3 mi

Dining

Henry's Restaurant
Currently our restaurant only operates during breakfast opening times. Enjoy a full buffet or continental breakfast in relaxing setting.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Three rooms cater for meetings of up to 130 persons and cocktail functions up to 280 persons. Every room has natural light, direct-dial telephone links and individual air conditioning controls. All conference rooms are located on the ground floor for easy access and can be secured during breaks. Private access to Mary Ann Park next to the hotel provides refreshing space for outdoor breaks, activities and catering. Choose from a selection of packages and catering options to suit all tastes and budgets.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for Aspire Hotel Sydney

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 225
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Aspire Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
chivi
Seoul, South Korea
Nov 27, 2011

Good Location, thats about it

Literally, 5 minute walk from the beginning of Darling Harbor and Paddy’s Market. Rooms were ok but very old and it had a dungy feeling to it. Be prepared to pay for everything and everything is expensive. If you can find a hotel about the same price somewhere close, I suggest you take it. I would not recommend, unless you could not afford anything else in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Paddy's Marker... it is must go, fresh produce and lots of merchandise to purchase.

Review of Aspire Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JCAH
Adelaide SA
Apr 1, 2013

Central to Mono Rail. Trains 15 to 20 mins walk.

Room had odour of cigarette smoke, we had asked for non smoking room on-line when booking. Noticed bad odour as soon as we opened door to room. When we asked we were told the hotel was all non smoking, although we were offered another room, we were unsure there would be any difference. Opinion is that this hotel requires some updating of furnishings. Beds were reasonably comfortable. Was somewhat further from circular quay and darling harbour than expected but the mono rail was just five minutes walk away. Staff were quite helpful and friendly but that is expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe breakfast bar on Harris St Ultimo they have Mecca Coffee brand. Food and coffee great. On way to train station. They have very quick service and are a cheerful lot.

Review of Aspire Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sunny sunshine
South coast
Jan 14, 2014

Good budget accommodation

Good place to stay if your looking for that quick cheap get away close to city nothing to do at the hotel but close enough to darling harbour and market city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Market city walking distance has factory outlets with some good bargains!!

Review of Aspire Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Floridea
Nov 11, 2010

Good for price

Excellent location. Rooms were good for the money. All amenities cost extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Aspire Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BERLINANGELA
PEARCEDALE, VICTORIA
Mar 5, 2013

good value - but ....

very central location, staff very helpfully and friendly but rooms need some renovation and new mattresses , all together still good value in compare to other inner city hotels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

only 10 minutes walking distance to Darling Harbour

Review of Aspire Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ABC123
Montreal, Canada
Sep 10, 2013

Staying there was ok..

Travelling from Canada, it was our first time in Sydney for my mom and I. We booked this hotel last minute (maybe 4-5 days before arriving in sydney) because most of the other hotels were more expensive. Staying there for 5 nights was ok.., staff was really helpful. However the hotel is getting old. Our air conditioning wasn't working when we arrived, they had to change our room after 2 days. They brought us a fan for the first 2 nights. Since we went to Sydney at the begining of September it was not too hot, we didn't complain mostly because we were out all day. We did found one cockroach in the bathroom.. And there was no free wifi in the hotel. Since we are not from Australia, we needed to plan our trip and check stuff online, how to get to some places, etc. We just decided to go to the Mcdonalds which is 5 minutes away for their wifi. It's just too bad because we can find free wifi almost everywhere in Sydney but not at our hotel. Again, if you want to pay the extra 5$/hour wifi, it's up to you. Of course, before arriving to Sydney, we were in Brisbane and for the same price we had free wifi, a little kitchen, a nice view from the balcony, etc but all that would be really more expensive in Sydney so we can't really compare this hotel with the others. Overall my mom didn't appreciate this hotel, but I've seen worse and I didn't plan to stay the whole day in our room, so just staying at this hotel (well located) to sleep is a good value. I would recommend this hotel to a friend if they can't afford the expensive hotels of Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It takes around 10 minutes by walk to get to Chinatown. There are plenty of restaurants (not only Chinese food you can find taiwanese/japanese/korean food also). You walk 5 more minutes and you arrive in Darling Harbour with other restaurants. There is the central station not too far if you have to take the train. There was the monorail before but it is now closed.

Review of Aspire Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stempy
wagga wagga
Mar 22, 2012

memories

The best advice I can give any one who is going to visit Sydney go to the aspire we have been again since and many many times before it is easy to get just everywhere and as money is tight for the bush people having to stay over this is the place -

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

absolutely everything is at your reach even for the oldies with walking sticks

Review of Aspire Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OpenRoadWorks
Melbourne, Victoria Australia
Apr 29, 2013

Smooth

Hotel is slightly dated (e.g. carpet in lift is threadbare) but overall good value with clean room, bedsheets, and bathroom. Everything functioned. Quiet area as we were there during school break. Good it wasn't on a main road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Aspire Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yiyi
Canberra, Australia
Jun 24, 2013

suitable for family

Great location. Walking distance to China town, Paddy’s Market, and beautiful Darling harbour。 Clean room with one Queen size bad and 2 single beds. Very good value for money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Aspire Hotel Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
malndeb
Coffs Harbour, NSW
Sep 10, 2013

Close to it all

The place is clean and the beds are comfortable - great value for money, with private secure parking. It's situated in a quiet area and close walking distance to so much Sydney has to offer - Powerhouse Museum, Entertainment Centre & Darling Harbour, Chinatown, Paddy's Market & City Centre down to Circular Quay if you don't mind walking. With family of 5 it serves it's purpose - after all, you only want a place to sleep. There's a great cafe around the corner for fabulous breakfasts & lunch. The staff are friendly, airport shuttle available on request for the same amount as the walk to Central and a train fare. We regularly stay there as it's close to all the things the kids love and we're not afraid to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search