$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

5 stars
11 Jamison Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
52 reviews
Excellent location, facilities and staff

Highly recommend this great hotel. Only drawback is, as in any other hotel, the cost of the... See full review

  • JuanL
  • Jul 12, 2014
A very good place for a pre-cruise stay

We stayed one night at Amora Hotel before starting our 18 day cruise. Hotel is conveniently located... See full review

  • Phoenix retirees
  • Apr 1, 2014
Lavish luxury with free Wi-Fi in Sydney’s city center

The Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney has a presence. The hotel's sophisticated foyer with spiral staircase and fashionable guests hint at the unparalleled luxury the Amora proudly delivers. Here, every guest's whim is intuited -- hotel offerings range from an on-call dentist to pillow menus. Two chic restaurants and bars, a spa featuring internationally-themed treatments combined with a central location in Sydney's center make this hotel a standout that draws repeat visitors.

Highlights
  • Award-winning Amora Spa
  • Seasonal creations at Charr Restaurant
  • Oversized bathtubs with cityscape views
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
Rooms

The hotel's 415 lavish guest rooms and suites offer views of the city. Standard rooms with earth-toned bedding and furnishings promise bathrooms nearly as spacious as the sleeping quarters. Rest your eyes on city lights while you soak in the marble bathtub. Other amenities include air conditioning, black-out blinds, pillow menu, 24-hour room service, toaster, PlayStation, free Wi-Fi access and a handsome workspace.

Features

The world-renowned Amora Spa boasts treatments inspired by the Pacific, including Thai or Balinese massages and sea salt scrubs. Guests have access to a gym, heated pool, sun deck, sauna and steam room. Foodies rave about Charr Restaurant (open for dinner Monday through Saturday), serving modern Australian seasonal cuisine in a stylish dining room. The hotel also houses two bars and a casual, international eatery serving three meals a day. The property now offers free WI-Fi internet for its patrons.

Transportation
  • Sydney International Airport (10.2 mi/17.4 km)
  • Monorail: City Centre
  • Railway: Wynyard Station (1 block)
Attractions
  • Circular Quay (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • The Rocks (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Sydney Opera House (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Royal Botanic Gardens (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Bondi Beach (5.8 mi/9.4 km)
Business
  • Five conference facilities
  • Business center with secretary service and fax (fees apply)
  • Free Wi-Fi access

Hotel Map

-33.8646 151.2064
Area served
A short stroll from Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge, The Rocks, Darling Harbour, shopping district and the central business district.
Nearby airports
Sydney International Airport, Sydney Domestic Airport
Area description
Ideally located in the heart of Sydney, a short stroll from Circular Quay, Sydney Opera House, Harbour Bridge, The Rocks, Darling Harbour, shopping district and the central business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney Rooms

Jamison Club Twin
Deluxe size room with 2 king single beds, approx 32 Square meters of well utilised floor space and located from levels 30 to 34 capturing panoramic views overlook the city skyline. Fitted with a digital flat screen TV and FREE Internet the Jamison Club Twin room is complimented with a spacious work desk and a comfortable 'Moran' tub chair and ottoman. French 'Hydro' bathroom amenities enhanced by classic black and white floor and wall tiles, a deep standalone bathtub and separate shower are perfect expressions of Amora Jamison aesthetic of timeless luxury. This room type includes access to the Jamison Executive Club Lounge which offers complimentary breakfast, evening drinks and canaps, as well as a business centre with use of boardroom facilities. Rates are for 2, max 2
Jamison Club Executive Suite
A very spacious premium suite with 1 king bed and separate living area, approx 69 square meters of tastefully appointed floor space located from levels 30 to 34. All Executive Suites bring in an abundance of natural light and spectacular panoramic views of the city skyline. Rates are for 2, max 3. Style #1 Contemporary Style - A light toned wooden divider separates the bed and living area. Style #2 Traditional Style - A darker mahogany wood toned suite with separate bedroom and living area. All Executive Suites are fitted with two digital flat screen TV's and FREE Internet, complimented with a spacious work desk and unifying theme dcor making each Executive Suite unique and personal. His and her vanity, separate shower and standalone deep bathtub, French renowned 'Hydro' bathroom amenities enhanced by classic light toned marble floor and wall tiles gives you unhindered views of Darling Harbour, a perfect expressions of the true Amora Jamison timeless luxury.
Deluxe King
Lead-in room with 1 king bed, approx 32 Square meters of well utilised floor space and located from levels 4 to 29 capturing views overlook the city skyline. Fitted with a digital flat screen TV and FREE Internet the Deluxe King room is complimented with a spacious work desk and a comfortable 'Moran' tub chair and ottoman. French 'Hydro' bathroom amenities enhanced by classic black and white floor and wall tiles, a deep standalone bathtub and separate shower are perfect expressions of Amora Jamison aesthetic of timeless luxury. Rates are for 2, max 2
Deluxe Corner
Second tier room type located on the corners of the hotel, with 1 king bed, approx 37 square meters in floor space and located from level 16 - 29 captures views overlooking the city Skyline and showcases Sydney in a very different light. Fitted with a digital flat screen TV and FREE Internet the Deluxe Corner King room is complimented with a spacious work desk and a comfortable 'Moran' tub chair and ottoman. French 'Hydro' bathroom amenities enhanced by classic black and white floor and wall tiles, a deep standalone bathtub and separate shower are perfect expressions of Amora Jamison aesthetic of timeless luxury. Rates are for 2, max 3
Deluxe Twin
Lead-in room with 2 king single beds, approx 32 Square meters in floor space and located from levels 4 to 29 capturing views overlook the city skyline. Fitted with a digital flat screen TV and FREE Internet the Deluxe Twin room is complimented with a spacious work desk. French 'Hydro' bathroom amenities enhanced by classic black and white floor and wall tiles, a deep standalone bathtub and separate shower are perfect expressions of Amora Jamison aesthetic of timeless luxury. Rates are for 2, max 3
Deluxe Park Suite
A junior suite style room with separate living and bedroom areas complimented with a king bed and an en-suite bathroom, approx 52 square meters in floor space and located from levels 4 to 29 showcasing 180 degree views overlook the south aspect of the city skyline and Wynyard Park. Fitted with two digital flat screen TV's and FREE Internet the Deluxe Park Suite is complimented with a spacious work desk and a comfortable 'Moran' couch and tub chair. French 'Hydro' bathroom amenities enhanced by classic black and white floor and wall tiles, a deep standalone bathtub and separate shower are perfect expressions of Amora Jamison aesthetic of timeless luxury. Rates are for 2, max 3
Jamison Club King
Deluxe size room with 1 king bed, approx 32 Square meters of well utilised floor space and located from levels 30 to 34 capturing panoramic views overlook the city skyline. Fitted with a digital flat screen TV and FREE Internet the Jamison Club King room is complimented with a spacious work desk and a comfortable 'Moran' tub chair and ottoman. French 'Hydro' bathroom amenities enhanced by classic black and white floor and wall tiles, a deep standalone bathtub and separate shower are perfect expressions of Amora Jamison aesthetic of timeless luxury. This room type includes access to the Jamison Executive Club Lounge which offers complimentary breakfast, evening drinks and canaps, as well as a business centre with use of boardroom facilities. Rates are for 2, max 2

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
24 hour room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Sydney Wildlife World: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Museum of Sydney: 0.3 mi
  • Customs House: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Observatory: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • State Library of New South Wales: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Hospital: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Tower: 0.4 mi
  • Pitt Street Mall: 0.4 mi
  • Sydney Mint: 0.5 mi
  • Queen Victoria Building: 0.5 mi
  • Hyde Park Barracks: 0.5 mi
  • Pyrmont Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Australian National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Great Synagogue: 0.6 mi
  • Government House: 0.6 mi
  • St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Royal Botanic Gardens: 0.6 mi
  • Harbour Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Town Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Sydney Opera House: 0.7 mi
  • Art Gallery of New South Wales: 0.7 mi
  • IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Star City Casino: 0.7 mi
  • Australian Museum: 0.8 mi
  • ANZAC War Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • Chinese Garden of Friendship: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Convention and Exhibition Centre: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Fish Market: 0.9 mi
  • Sydney Entertainment Centre: 1 mi
  • Capitol Theatre: 1 mi
  • Powerhouse Museum: 1 mi
  • El Alamein Fountain: 1.1 mi
  • Luna Park Sydney: 1.2 mi
  • Belmore Park: 1.2 mi
  • Elizabeth Bay House: 1.2 mi
  • University of Technology: 1.4 mi
  • Wentworth Park: 1.7 mi
  • University of Sydney: 1.9 mi
  • Sydney Football Stadium: 2 mi
  • Sydney Cricket Ground: 2.1 mi
  • Fox Studios Australia: 2.3 mi

Dining

Charr Restaurant
Hotel's signature restaurant. Sophisticated dishes are complimented by a vast wine selection. 50 seating capacity
Gallery Restaurant
International Cuisine. Opens daily for breakfast Lunch and Dinner. 160 seating capacity
Inbargo
A funky bar offering a wide range of local and imported beers, wines, spirits, cocktails and coffee is available. Open Monday to Friday 5pm till late.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (52)

Ratings and reviews for Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sydney tourist
Madison, WI
Sep 15, 2009

sydney Amora Jamison

We arrived at 8 am after an all-night flight and they were kind enough to let us check in early without any problems. The concierge was incredibly helpful in arranging tours and dinner reservations. We signed up for a Club room, which included free internet access and a nice continental breakfast and evening wine reception. A great value when you consider that internet access was normally $9.99 for 2 hours and breakfast was $30. Great central location with easy walking (<10 minutes)to Darling Harbour, central shopping district, Circular Quay, and the Rocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sydney fans
San Diego, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Amora in Sydney

We enjoyed our stay. The staff, especially the concierge, were most helpful. Nice extra touches, like fruit, provided. Although we arrived on a very early morning flight, the hotel had a room ready that they allowed us to check into at 9am, which was so nice. I would suggest a fresh duvet cover for each guest instead of the fancier one that is likely not changed between guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for souvenirs in Chinatown or at Paddy's Market. They sell the same merchandise as the shops on the harbor, but the asking prices are less, and they will bargain a discount.

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sydney fans
San Diego, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Amora in Sydney

We enjoyed our stay. The staff, especially the concierge, were most helpful. Nice extra touches, like fruit, provided. Although we arrived on a very early morning flight, the hotel had a room ready that they allowed us to check into at 9am, which was so nice. I would suggest a fresh duvet cover for each guest instead of the fancier one that is likely not changed between guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for souvenirs in Chinatown or at Paddy's Market. They sell the same merchandise as the shops on the harbor, but the asking prices are less, and they will bargain a discount.

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bwana B.
Sudbury, ON, Canada.
Sep 6, 2009

Location, location, location.

I stayed at the Amora Jamison for two nights so I could see a bit of Sydney before continuing on to New Caledonia to visit a friend and vacation there. The hotel staff were excellent and the room was spotless and surprisingly quiet for being in the heart of the city. Since the Opera House and Harbour Bridge were must-see items, I appreciated the fact that they were within easy walking distance. There is also lots of restaurants, pubs, and shopping centres along the way, so you could essentially find anything you were looking for. I took a tour that included a harbour lunch cruise, and the Circular Quay where the cruise boat and water-taxi`s arrive & depart is only two blocks away. Perfect! The only complaint (or irritation) I had with my stay there was being charged an additional $1.80 AU for a local call to confirm my harbour tour, and the fact that when I had the munchies late in the evening, they wanted $6.00 AU for a tiny bag of potatoe chips that was available along with the similarly ridiculous priced items in the bar fridge. Maybe it`s just my way of thinking, but I resented them price-gouging their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your late-night snacks and beverages elsewhere and bring them to your room.

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bwana B.
Sudbury, ON, Canada.
Sep 6, 2009

Location, location, location.

I stayed at the Amora Jamison for two nights so I could see a bit of Sydney before continuing on to New Caledonia to visit a friend and vacation there. The hotel staff were excellent and the room was spotless and surprisingly quiet for being in the heart of the city. Since the Opera House and Harbour Bridge were must-see items, I appreciated the fact that they were within easy walking distance. There is also lots of restaurants, pubs, and shopping centres along the way, so you could essentially find anything you were looking for. I took a tour that included a harbour lunch cruise, and the Circular Quay where the cruise boat and water-taxi`s arrive & depart is only two blocks away. Perfect! The only complaint (or irritation) I had with my stay there was being charged an additional $1.80 AU for a local call to confirm my harbour tour, and the fact that when I had the munchies late in the evening, they wanted $6.00 AU for a tiny bag of potatoe chips that was available along with the similarly ridiculous priced items in the bar fridge. Maybe it`s just my way of thinking, but I resented them price-gouging their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your late-night snacks and beverages elsewhere and bring them to your room.

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tia, professional traveler
Atlanta
Sep 3, 2009

Best kept secret??

Mixed reviews. Obviously this hotel is geared for the business traveler. There are no big amenities, like pool or fitness center. The small amenities would nickel and dime you to death. The charges for cleaning, and internet were ridiculous! It's clear that the typical guest isn't picking up the tab for this hotel. The rooms are very small and the internet isnt wireless, so you must sit at the desk to achieve any correspondence. and electrical outlets... what a mess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tia, professional traveler
Atlanta
Sep 3, 2009

Best kept secret??

Mixed reviews. Obviously this hotel is geared for the business traveler. There are no big amenities, like pool or fitness center. The small amenities would nickel and dime you to death. The charges for cleaning, and internet were ridiculous! It's clear that the typical guest isn't picking up the tab for this hotel. The rooms are very small and the internet isnt wireless, so you must sit at the desk to achieve any correspondence. and electrical outlets... what a mess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
uniquem
Hollywood, FL
Aug 25, 2009

Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney

I have never had any experience like this before in my life and I've traveled extensively to multiple countries. I've even had much better hotel experiences in multiple Third World countries! When I first checked in, I was given 2 cards that needed to be used to activate the elevators (and to get into the hotel room). The woman at the front desk gave me the cards without activating them, so I spent about 5 minutes in the elevator thinking I was doing something wrong before going back to the front desk. I went back to the desk and told her I was having problems. She then activated the cards, didn't even apologize for her error (not activating the card so we could use the elevator and get into our room), then sent us on our way. By that time, the bellhop brought the luggage from the lobby and were waiting for us at our door wondering what happened to us! The room had an extra foldout bed in it that we didn't request (in the way) and was freezing cold. I turned the heater on, which after 2 hours of waiting still did not heat up the room. Housekeeping barged into the room (the security bolts had been removed from the doors.... the front desk staff claimed that the Australian government 2 years ago made it a law to remove all bolts from hotel doors... not sure if that is true or not) looking for the foldout bed that was removed by the bellhop hours before. The staff didn't know what they were doing. Someone from engineering came to "fix" the heat, but the whole time we were there, we continued to have problems with it. Every day we would be missing either washcloths (never in my life have I been to any hotel where I've had problems with this.... and supposedly this is a 5 star hotel!), or they'd throw away our soap and not replace it, or they'd take a towel and not replace it, or they'd move our towels around, provide dirty tea/coffee cups. There were way too many mistakes/things wrong for this to be considered a good hotel. There were so many problems.... every day there was an issue. I was just so sick of having to call down to the front desk for things that were missing! We started hiding soap (so that we would have soap to use and wouldn't have to call the front desk, isn't that ridiculous?) I've never had to do anything like that in my whole life! I would have been better off somewhere else! I can say without a doubt that I would never go back there ever again! I've spent a lot less money going to other hotels in the past and had a lot better service than I got at this hotel. Even the heater in the pool was not working (I wonder how long that was broken for. They had a note in the pool area saying that they were getting it fixed. I wonder if that was really true). The only good thing about this hotel was that it was close to the Rocks, the subway, ferry, bus route... basically in a good, central location and easy to walk to a variety of places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida, USA
Aug 20, 2009

Amora Jamison Sydney Australia

My boyfriend and I took a trip to Sydney to celebrate my promotion. I emailed the hotel ahead of time and they gave us a beautiful corner room with a spectacular view on the 27th floor--and had a bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us! It doesn't get better than that! We asked several different concierges about dinner restaurant suggestions and their 3 recommendations were superb for our tastes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A funky, fashionable, very "Sydney" restaurant called Steel Bar and Grill is a 5 minute walk from the Amora. We were booked in by the concierge and had a cocktail in the outdoor seating area first--the cocktail menu is very creative and the "Pink Lady" was delicious. We were sat at our table and the sommelier came up and recommended a wine for us. We started with wood-fired calamari which was fantastic. Our entrees were Veal Cutlet and I had the Pan Roasted Snapper. My boyfriend and I have been in hospitality for 18 and 13 years respectivley and are very particular and picky about food and wine and Steel delivered above and beyond. The staff were very personable and friendly and stood chatting away with us very naturally. I would recommend this restaurant to young couples who love well-thought out, exceptionally fresh and flavored modern food. It is great for people watching and the cocktail menu is fantastic. I would probably not recommend it to people with children or people who do not attempt "adventure" in food.

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Florida, USA
Aug 20, 2009

Amora Jamison Sydney Australia

My boyfriend and I took a trip to Sydney to celebrate my promotion. I emailed the hotel ahead of time and they gave us a beautiful corner room with a spectacular view on the 27th floor--and had a bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us! It doesn't get better than that! We asked several different concierges about dinner restaurant suggestions and their 3 recommendations were superb for our tastes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A funky, fashionable, very "Sydney" restaurant called Steel Bar and Grill is a 5 minute walk from the Amora. We were booked in by the concierge and had a cocktail in the outdoor seating area first--the cocktail menu is very creative and the "Pink Lady" was delicious. We were sat at our table and the sommelier came up and recommended a wine for us. We started with wood-fired calamari which was fantastic. Our entrees were Veal Cutlet and I had the Pan Roasted Snapper. My boyfriend and I have been in hospitality for 18 and 13 years respectivley and are very particular and picky about food and wine and Steel delivered above and beyond. The staff were very personable and friendly and stood chatting away with us very naturally. I would recommend this restaurant to young couples who love well-thought out, exceptionally fresh and flavored modern food. It is great for people watching and the cocktail menu is fantastic. I would probably not recommend it to people with children or people who do not attempt "adventure" in food.

Back to menu Return to top