$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

5 stars
View map of 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 27, 2010

Stylish, convenient comfort in the city

The Amora has it all, very stylish decor with a warm and inviting atmosphere, excellent staff and services, spacious (corner) rooms with great views, and a perfect location - walking distance to The Rocks, Circular Quay/Opera House/Botanical Gardens and Darling Harbour yet set away from the crowded tourist areas. The only negatives were the lack of cafes/restaurants open on weekend mornings within a two black radius (plenty in more touristy areas) and they need to replace the window shades that are falling apart. But the positives far outweigh the negatives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you're there on a weekend, get they're breakfast special - it's excellent and there's not much else close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, Colorado
Oct 11, 2009

Amora Jamison almost perfect!!

This was mine and my wife's first trip to Sydney and in fact Australia. The Amora Hotel was without a doubt one of the better things about the trip. They checked us in early, the bed was huge and comfortable, the bathroom was like a resort - gorgeous clear glass shower. It was very quiet, had a nice balcony facing the Rocks area, the room was big for the price and it's in a great location. The Rocks and Circular Quay are about a 5 minute walk, Darling Harbour and Kings Cross both about a 10 minute walk. The area around the hotel has a ton of amenities inlcuding quick access to Sydney's AWESOME rail system (Wynyard station). In the rail station is a cheap laundry (dont use the hotel for this, $$$$$) - a Coles (big grocery store with good prices) and a ton of little fast food restaurants. Mcdonalds is actually good here- as are Oporto (chicken/burgers) and Starbucks (2 within 3 blocks.) Within a few blocks in the Rocks are a lot of good Italian restaurants, lots of little tourist traps, souvenirs, etc. The only NON awesome thing about the Amora is the internet access - being from the USA, we expect cheap or free wifi everywhere we stay. Theirs in $10 for an hour or $50 for the week. It is slow, wired only and not fast. A hotel otherwise of this calibre should get with the program. I am more than willing to pay a few extra bucks to have the internet free. Get a clue, Amora. Otherwise highly recommended - but bring your aircard!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

DONT take Sydney airport shuttles - do the CityRail if you can. The shuttle takes forever and they keep driving around until it's full. Complete waste of $24 a person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Luis Obispo, CA
Jun 9, 2010

Amora Jamison Hotel

Well located within walking distance of Circular Quay. We had a great room on the "Jamison Club" level, which included club lounge facilities: continental breakfast, evening canapes and drinks. In-room broadband internet was included, but there was no wi-fi available. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms with separate shower and tub, spacious and clean. We have stayed at this hotel a number of times in the past, and it just keeps getting better. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 25, 2009

Quick trip to Sydney

After a long flight from the US, I was very pleased to receive an offer to register at 8:00 am, rather than having to wait for normal afternoon check-in. Because no king rooms were available at that time, I willingly accepted a two twin room. The very nice trade off (in addition to the early check in) was a nice high floor, city view room - which given the excellent per night rate of $124, was quite nice. The only real negative was a late (by a half hour) wake up call - which could have had a costly outcome (cab vs bus shuttle), had I not also set the alarm clock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

10 - 15minute leisurely walk Circular Quay(boat tours), the Rocks, the Opera House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew S.
Business
Perth
Dec 29, 2014

Great hotel, amazing location!

Upon arrival we were disappointed that our room wasn't ready (think we were about 1 hr early) however this was the only thing we could fault. The receptionist assisted in viewing potential room upgrades however none took our fancy.The rest of the trip went without a hitch. We ate in the hotel one evening and although we missed the buffet there was a fabulous seafood platter on the menu and the service was fantastic. The location is also second to none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brownlee
Business
Dartford
Feb 25, 2015

Central position

Ideal location for Westfield tower, opera house, bridge arranged private tour to Blue mountains from the hotel. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cody L.
Business
N/A
Mar 19, 2015

Very Nice Time

Really enjoyed the stay. Nice staff and good customer service. Some things could have been better but overall really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PBChi
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 20, 2014

Awesome dowtown Sydney hotel

We had a terrific experience at the Amora Jamison. The hotel is in the perfect location, just minutes walking distance from most of the major Sydney attractions. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful and the rooms were nice and big. Our bed was very comfortable. I'd stay here again for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Both Sydney Harbour and Darling Harbour are 5 minute walks from the hotel. Save yourself the cab fare and just walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phoenix retirees
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 1, 2014

A very good place for a pre-cruise stay

We stayed one night at Amora Hotel before starting our 18 day cruise. Hotel is conveniently located close to the Cruise terminal, and within walking distance from attractions like Opera House, Royal Botanic Garden, Westfield Sydney Tower. Room was compact but comfortable. It was nice to find a glass enclosed shower stall. They even provided robes and slippers. The staff was courteous and efficient. They held our luggage and let us walk in the town before the room was ready. Concierge gave us a map and directions. We did not use the in-house restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Botanic Garden with majestic trees on one side and Sydney Harbor view on the other is beautiful and is worth spending at least half a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
FL59Traveler
Business
Florida
Dec 14, 2013

Fabulous Hotel - Great Location

The Amora Hotel, located in the Central Business District (CBD), in Sydney was a very pleasant surprise! With a great reputation in the city as a 5-star hotel, my stay there was 5-star as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out The Emperor's Choice Chinese Restaurant just a short walk around the corner. Located below another store, it's a hidden gem serving up great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top