$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

5 stars
View map of 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 25, 2009

Quick trip to Sydney

After a long flight from the US, I was very pleased to receive an offer to register at 8:00 am, rather than having to wait for normal afternoon check-in. Because no king rooms were available at that time, I willingly accepted a two twin room. The very nice trade off (in addition to the early check in) was a nice high floor, city view room - which given the excellent per night rate of $124, was quite nice. The only real negative was a late (by a half hour) wake up call - which could have had a costly outcome (cab vs bus shuttle), had I not also set the alarm clock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

10 - 15minute leisurely walk Circular Quay(boat tours), the Rocks, the Opera House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andrew S.
Business
Perth
Dec 29, 2014

Great hotel, amazing location!

Upon arrival we were disappointed that our room wasn't ready (think we were about 1 hr early) however this was the only thing we could fault. The receptionist assisted in viewing potential room upgrades however none took our fancy.The rest of the trip went without a hitch. We ate in the hotel one evening and although we missed the buffet there was a fabulous seafood platter on the menu and the service was fantastic. The location is also second to none.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brownlee
Business
Dartford
Feb 25, 2015

Central position

Ideal location for Westfield tower, opera house, bridge arranged private tour to Blue mountains from the hotel. Helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cody L.
Business
N/A
Mar 19, 2015

Very Nice Time

Really enjoyed the stay. Nice staff and good customer service. Some things could have been better but overall really good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tia, professional traveler
Business
Atlanta
Sep 3, 2009

Best kept secret??

Mixed reviews. Obviously this hotel is geared for the business traveler. There are no big amenities, like pool or fitness center. The small amenities would nickel and dime you to death. The charges for cleaning, and internet were ridiculous! It's clear that the typical guest isn't picking up the tab for this hotel. The rooms are very small and the internet isnt wireless, so you must sit at the desk to achieve any correspondence. and electrical outlets... what a mess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
uniquem
Business
Hollywood, FL
Aug 25, 2009

Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney

I have never had any experience like this before in my life and I've traveled extensively to multiple countries. I've even had much better hotel experiences in multiple Third World countries! When I first checked in, I was given 2 cards that needed to be used to activate the elevators (and to get into the hotel room). The woman at the front desk gave me the cards without activating them, so I spent about 5 minutes in the elevator thinking I was doing something wrong before going back to the front desk. I went back to the desk and told her I was having problems. She then activated the cards, didn't even apologize for her error (not activating the card so we could use the elevator and get into our room), then sent us on our way. By that time, the bellhop brought the luggage from the lobby and were waiting for us at our door wondering what happened to us! The room had an extra foldout bed in it that we didn't request (in the way) and was freezing cold. I turned the heater on, which after 2 hours of waiting still did not heat up the room. Housekeeping barged into the room (the security bolts had been removed from the doors.... the front desk staff claimed that the Australian government 2 years ago made it a law to remove all bolts from hotel doors... not sure if that is true or not) looking for the foldout bed that was removed by the bellhop hours before. The staff didn't know what they were doing. Someone from engineering came to "fix" the heat, but the whole time we were there, we continued to have problems with it. Every day we would be missing either washcloths (never in my life have I been to any hotel where I've had problems with this.... and supposedly this is a 5 star hotel!), or they'd throw away our soap and not replace it, or they'd take a towel and not replace it, or they'd move our towels around, provide dirty tea/coffee cups. There were way too many mistakes/things wrong for this to be considered a good hotel. There were so many problems.... every day there was an issue. I was just so sick of having to call down to the front desk for things that were missing! We started hiding soap (so that we would have soap to use and wouldn't have to call the front desk, isn't that ridiculous?) I've never had to do anything like that in my whole life! I would have been better off somewhere else! I can say without a doubt that I would never go back there ever again! I've spent a lot less money going to other hotels in the past and had a lot better service than I got at this hotel. Even the heater in the pool was not working (I wonder how long that was broken for. They had a note in the pool area saying that they were getting it fixed. I wonder if that was really true). The only good thing about this hotel was that it was close to the Rocks, the subway, ferry, bus route... basically in a good, central location and easy to walk to a variety of places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DutchUK
Business
London, UK
Feb 7, 2012

Overpriced and poor standards!

Stayed a week here just. Lived and stayed in Sydney many times, this hotel is NOT 5*, it would be 3 Only! Housekeeping staff are over-stretched, and stressed. Bed linen rarely changed unless you ask, beds not made properly with sheets hanging over, single mattress protectors on a double bed. Bathroom fittings are rusting and dusty. Light switches very old, cannot put light on in bathroom until you in and look behind folding door, impossible in the dark Terrible storage capacity in room, filled with useless hotel placed things, so we had to move things out and place them above the wardrobe to fit clothes in draws and have some decent space. Rooms are behind the times, carpets need cleaning, Aircon thick with dust and grime, lift panels faulty, look above you and you see months of flies and dirt in the lift lights! Urgh! Maintaining a hotel to a standard appears a problem here. Amora is Thai owned, but fails to meet their Asian standards. It does NOT sit in the Marriott, Sofitel, Four Seasons, Swissotel range which are 5*, yet they want the same rates. Disappointing, misleading, and i would Not recommend nor stay here again. Basic hygiene, proper housekeeing and Maintaining, are a sign of very poor management, with poor knowledge of their staff and hotel. The basics are not met here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
uniquem
Business
Hollywood, FL
Aug 25, 2009

Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney

I have never had any experience like this before in my life and I've traveled extensively to multiple countries. I've even had much better hotel experiences in multiple Third World countries! When I first checked in, I was given 2 cards that needed to be used to activate the elevators (and to get into the hotel room). The woman at the front desk gave me the cards without activating them, so I spent about 5 minutes in the elevator thinking I was doing something wrong before going back to the front desk. I went back to the desk and told her I was having problems. She then activated the cards, didn't even apologize for her error (not activating the card so we could use the elevator and get into our room), then sent us on our way. By that time, the bellhop brought the luggage from the lobby and were waiting for us at our door wondering what happened to us! The room had an extra foldout bed in it that we didn't request (in the way) and was freezing cold. I turned the heater on, which after 2 hours of waiting still did not heat up the room. Housekeeping barged into the room (the security bolts had been removed from the doors.... the front desk staff claimed that the Australian government 2 years ago made it a law to remove all bolts from hotel doors... not sure if that is true or not) looking for the foldout bed that was removed by the bellhop hours before. The staff didn't know what they were doing. Someone from engineering came to "fix" the heat, but the whole time we were there, we continued to have problems with it. Every day we would be missing either washcloths (never in my life have I been to any hotel where I've had problems with this.... and supposedly this is a 5 star hotel!), or they'd throw away our soap and not replace it, or they'd take a towel and not replace it, or they'd move our towels around, provide dirty tea/coffee cups. There were way too many mistakes/things wrong for this to be considered a good hotel. There were so many problems.... every day there was an issue. I was just so sick of having to call down to the front desk for things that were missing! We started hiding soap (so that we would have soap to use and wouldn't have to call the front desk, isn't that ridiculous?) I've never had to do anything like that in my whole life! I would have been better off somewhere else! I can say without a doubt that I would never go back there ever again! I've spent a lot less money going to other hotels in the past and had a lot better service than I got at this hotel. Even the heater in the pool was not working (I wonder how long that was broken for. They had a note in the pool area saying that they were getting it fixed. I wonder if that was really true). The only good thing about this hotel was that it was close to the Rocks, the subway, ferry, bus route... basically in a good, central location and easy to walk to a variety of places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top