$131 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

5 stars
View map of 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
St. Cloud, MN
Jul 20, 2009

superb service, location, and taste

Very elegant hotel, especially rooms. Very large bathroom with separate tub and shower. Excellent bed. Two very small problems in the room were repaired within (literally) minutes. Excellent location for major tourist and business sites in Sydney. Excellent staff. We strongly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yank Down Under
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 1, 2009

Best Value in Sydney

This hotel was a last minute replacement for unsatisfactory accommodations elsewhere. I can not speak highly enough of this hotel. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are large, the bathrooms are first class, and the location is quiet yet close to everything you want or need. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Darling Harbour has great bars and a vibrant nightlife and is a downhill walk from the hotel.

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hleigha
Friends
Hermosa Beach, CA
Oct 13, 2009

Top Notch Hotel at an Affordable Rate

The concierge, valet, front desk, and door attendants are all very personable, friendly, and helpful. If you politely request to be checked in earlier, they will make an effort to accommodate you or stow your luggage if you want to check out the city until your room is ready. The rooms are in great order, very clean, but I'd recommend a floor at 16 or above as the lower floors could be noisy with the street traffic. (There are roughly 30-31 floors). You are located in the CBD, so the hotel is anywhere from 5-15 minute walking distance to the Rocks, Circular Quay, Hyde Park, Botanic Gardens, Opera House, and Pitt Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sydney guest
Couples
San Bruno, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Great location

Great location to all major sights within walking distance, such as the Circular Quay, the Contemporary Museum of Art; Sydney Opera House, Queen Victoria Building; St. James. Also the Wynyard Station is just around the corner. The Blue Mountain day trip is well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
St Albert Alberta Canada
Apr 22, 2009

great location, great city

Aside from the above, it is located within walking distance of everything you would want. The decore is exceptional, and the staff very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

not many places to eat in close by after 7pm

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mzbetty
Couples
Raleigh NC
Oct 18, 2009

unbeatalbe location for the price

This was a great place to stay and in ideal location.Five minutes from everything and the room was really really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cupertino, CA
Nov 2, 2009

Luxury hotel in financial district

Stellar first-class service without being overly superficial. Great service from each member of the staff. Loved the pillow menu and dentrifice kits. We got a corner room on the 4th floor that looked like a studio! Would have liked a plasma on the desk and fluffier towels, but loved the bathroom design and the firm mattress. Five minute walk from the Circular Quay (take a ferry to Taronga Zoo or Manly Beach) and the Rocks where you can shop at DFS Galleria or grab a beer. Highly recommend Pancake House, which is about a 200 meter walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Cityrail from the airport ($10 for students, $15 for regular) to the Wynard Station, which is a 2 min walk to two min walk to the hotel. It's much faster than any shuttle. Georges Street is also very close and they have the free 555 green/blue buses on the weekends that will take you up and down the city centre to the Queen Victoria Building, World Square and Paddy's Market.

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Prudala
Friends
San Francisco, CA
Jul 28, 2009

First-Class Service, First-Rate Hotel

We spent about ten nights at the Amora Jamison, and because we were there for a relatively long time, we were given a free upgrade from a premium king to a park suite. I cannot say enough good things about the guest services (mainly the concierge and bellman staff); they are the most amicable and helpful people whom I have ever met in a hotel--and I have stayed in scores of hotels over the years. The staff at the Jamison appear to go out of their way to make you feel at home, and we were so grateful for that treatment--felt special, really. The location is ideal to shopping, the Circular Quay, the Rocks, and the Opera House, as well as outstanding restaurants. Finally, the price we got on Orbitz was fantastic for the quality and service we received! Without a doubt, we would recommend and return to the Amora Jamison Hotel in lovely, romantic Sydney.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Florida, USA
Aug 20, 2009

Amora Jamison Sydney Australia

My boyfriend and I took a trip to Sydney to celebrate my promotion. I emailed the hotel ahead of time and they gave us a beautiful corner room with a spectacular view on the 27th floor--and had a bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us! It doesn't get better than that! We asked several different concierges about dinner restaurant suggestions and their 3 recommendations were superb for our tastes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A funky, fashionable, very "Sydney" restaurant called Steel Bar and Grill is a 5 minute walk from the Amora. We were booked in by the concierge and had a cocktail in the outdoor seating area first--the cocktail menu is very creative and the "Pink Lady" was delicious. We were sat at our table and the sommelier came up and recommended a wine for us. We started with wood-fired calamari which was fantastic. Our entrees were Veal Cutlet and I had the Pan Roasted Snapper. My boyfriend and I have been in hospitality for 18 and 13 years respectivley and are very particular and picky about food and wine and Steel delivered above and beyond. The staff were very personable and friendly and stood chatting away with us very naturally. I would recommend this restaurant to young couples who love well-thought out, exceptionally fresh and flavored modern food. It is great for people watching and the cocktail menu is fantastic. I would probably not recommend it to people with children or people who do not attempt "adventure" in food.

Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA, Bend Oregon
Jul 15, 2010

Best Hotel in Sydney

The staff was wonderful and the room was great. The location is spot on, walking distance to both the Opera House and Darling Habor is about 10 mins. Taking the train to and from both the domestic and international airports is very easy, it drops you off a block from the hotel at the Wynyard station. You can buy a weekly pass for bus, trains and ferry's for 59.00 dollars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top