$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

5 stars
View map of 11 Jamison Street, Sydney, Sydney, NS 2000

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mzbetty
Business
Raleigh NC
Oct 18, 2009

unbeatalbe location for the price

This was a great place to stay and in ideal location.Five minutes from everything and the room was really really nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hleigha
Business
Hermosa Beach, CA
Oct 13, 2009

Top Notch Hotel at an Affordable Rate

The concierge, valet, front desk, and door attendants are all very personable, friendly, and helpful. If you politely request to be checked in earlier, they will make an effort to accommodate you or stow your luggage if you want to check out the city until your room is ready. The rooms are in great order, very clean, but I'd recommend a floor at 16 or above as the lower floors could be noisy with the street traffic. (There are roughly 30-31 floors). You are located in the CBD, so the hotel is anywhere from 5-15 minute walking distance to the Rocks, Circular Quay, Hyde Park, Botanic Gardens, Opera House, and Pitt Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sydney guest
Business
San Bruno, CA
Oct 12, 2009

Great location

Great location to all major sights within walking distance, such as the Circular Quay, the Contemporary Museum of Art; Sydney Opera House, Queen Victoria Building; St. James. Also the Wynyard Station is just around the corner. The Blue Mountain day trip is well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, Colorado
Oct 11, 2009

Amora Jamison almost perfect!!

This was mine and my wife's first trip to Sydney and in fact Australia. The Amora Hotel was without a doubt one of the better things about the trip. They checked us in early, the bed was huge and comfortable, the bathroom was like a resort - gorgeous clear glass shower. It was very quiet, had a nice balcony facing the Rocks area, the room was big for the price and it's in a great location. The Rocks and Circular Quay are about a 5 minute walk, Darling Harbour and Kings Cross both about a 10 minute walk. The area around the hotel has a ton of amenities inlcuding quick access to Sydney's AWESOME rail system (Wynyard station). In the rail station is a cheap laundry (dont use the hotel for this, $$$$$) - a Coles (big grocery store with good prices) and a ton of little fast food restaurants. Mcdonalds is actually good here- as are Oporto (chicken/burgers) and Starbucks (2 within 3 blocks.) Within a few blocks in the Rocks are a lot of good Italian restaurants, lots of little tourist traps, souvenirs, etc. The only NON awesome thing about the Amora is the internet access - being from the USA, we expect cheap or free wifi everywhere we stay. Theirs in $10 for an hour or $50 for the week. It is slow, wired only and not fast. A hotel otherwise of this calibre should get with the program. I am more than willing to pay a few extra bucks to have the internet free. Get a clue, Amora. Otherwise highly recommended - but bring your aircard!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

DONT take Sydney airport shuttles - do the CityRail if you can. The shuttle takes forever and they keep driving around until it's full. Complete waste of $24 a person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Sep 25, 2009

Central Location

I have stayed here a number of times in the past, and was pleasantly surprised to note a definite improvement in staff attitude and service. Payed extra to have access to the executive lounge, which provided a rather meagre breakfast (lots of room for improvement), and evening drinks/canapes. The canapes were more plentiful than a previous trip, and the lounge is a generally comfortable place to have a drink and relax before dinner. Unlike other hotels in the area, however, this lounge does not offer free wifi. The lounge staff were pleasant, but did not speak English well enough to understand or answer questions, and seemed fond of clearing up the evening refreshments 20-30 minutes before the posted closing time. Rooms are large (for a city), well appointed, and were spotlessly clean. Some traffic noise noted, even on higher floors. Broadband internet in rooms. Concierge desk personnel were extremelly helpful. Location is close to transportation (both bus and trains), and the tourist areas. Great choice for a hotel in the Sydney CBD.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sydney tourist
Business
Madison, WI
Sep 15, 2009

sydney Amora Jamison

We arrived at 8 am after an all-night flight and they were kind enough to let us check in early without any problems. The concierge was incredibly helpful in arranging tours and dinner reservations. We signed up for a Club room, which included free internet access and a nice continental breakfast and evening wine reception. A great value when you consider that internet access was normally $9.99 for 2 hours and breakfast was $30. Great central location with easy walking (<10 minutes)to Darling Harbour, central shopping district, Circular Quay, and the Rocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sydney fans
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 14, 2009

Amora in Sydney

We enjoyed our stay. The staff, especially the concierge, were most helpful. Nice extra touches, like fruit, provided. Although we arrived on a very early morning flight, the hotel had a room ready that they allowed us to check into at 9am, which was so nice. I would suggest a fresh duvet cover for each guest instead of the fancier one that is likely not changed between guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for souvenirs in Chinatown or at Paddy's Market. They sell the same merchandise as the shops on the harbor, but the asking prices are less, and they will bargain a discount.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bwana B.
Business
Sudbury, ON, Canada.
Sep 6, 2009

Location, location, location.

I stayed at the Amora Jamison for two nights so I could see a bit of Sydney before continuing on to New Caledonia to visit a friend and vacation there. The hotel staff were excellent and the room was spotless and surprisingly quiet for being in the heart of the city. Since the Opera House and Harbour Bridge were must-see items, I appreciated the fact that they were within easy walking distance. There is also lots of restaurants, pubs, and shopping centres along the way, so you could essentially find anything you were looking for. I took a tour that included a harbour lunch cruise, and the Circular Quay where the cruise boat and water-taxi`s arrive & depart is only two blocks away. Perfect! The only complaint (or irritation) I had with my stay there was being charged an additional $1.80 AU for a local call to confirm my harbour tour, and the fact that when I had the munchies late in the evening, they wanted $6.00 AU for a tiny bag of potatoe chips that was available along with the similarly ridiculous priced items in the bar fridge. Maybe it`s just my way of thinking, but I resented them price-gouging their guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy your late-night snacks and beverages elsewhere and bring them to your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tia, professional traveler
Business
Atlanta
Sep 3, 2009

Best kept secret??

Mixed reviews. Obviously this hotel is geared for the business traveler. There are no big amenities, like pool or fitness center. The small amenities would nickel and dime you to death. The charges for cleaning, and internet were ridiculous! It's clear that the typical guest isn't picking up the tab for this hotel. The rooms are very small and the internet isnt wireless, so you must sit at the desk to achieve any correspondence. and electrical outlets... what a mess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
uniquem
Business
Hollywood, FL
Aug 25, 2009

Amora Jamison Hotel Sydney

I have never had any experience like this before in my life and I've traveled extensively to multiple countries. I've even had much better hotel experiences in multiple Third World countries! When I first checked in, I was given 2 cards that needed to be used to activate the elevators (and to get into the hotel room). The woman at the front desk gave me the cards without activating them, so I spent about 5 minutes in the elevator thinking I was doing something wrong before going back to the front desk. I went back to the desk and told her I was having problems. She then activated the cards, didn't even apologize for her error (not activating the card so we could use the elevator and get into our room), then sent us on our way. By that time, the bellhop brought the luggage from the lobby and were waiting for us at our door wondering what happened to us! The room had an extra foldout bed in it that we didn't request (in the way) and was freezing cold. I turned the heater on, which after 2 hours of waiting still did not heat up the room. Housekeeping barged into the room (the security bolts had been removed from the doors.... the front desk staff claimed that the Australian government 2 years ago made it a law to remove all bolts from hotel doors... not sure if that is true or not) looking for the foldout bed that was removed by the bellhop hours before. The staff didn't know what they were doing. Someone from engineering came to "fix" the heat, but the whole time we were there, we continued to have problems with it. Every day we would be missing either washcloths (never in my life have I been to any hotel where I've had problems with this.... and supposedly this is a 5 star hotel!), or they'd throw away our soap and not replace it, or they'd take a towel and not replace it, or they'd move our towels around, provide dirty tea/coffee cups. There were way too many mistakes/things wrong for this to be considered a good hotel. There were so many problems.... every day there was an issue. I was just so sick of having to call down to the front desk for things that were missing! We started hiding soap (so that we would have soap to use and wouldn't have to call the front desk, isn't that ridiculous?) I've never had to do anything like that in my whole life! I would have been better off somewhere else! I can say without a doubt that I would never go back there ever again! I've spent a lot less money going to other hotels in the past and had a lot better service than I got at this hotel. Even the heater in the pool was not working (I wonder how long that was broken for. They had a note in the pool area saying that they were getting it fixed. I wonder if that was really true). The only good thing about this hotel was that it was close to the Rocks, the subway, ferry, bus route... basically in a good, central location and easy to walk to a variety of places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top