$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Travelodge Newcastle City

4 stars
12 Steel Street, Newcastle, Newcastle, NS 2302
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
54 reviews
Thank you..!

It was such a lovely place to stay in for the weekend... The staffs were awesome, very polite. The... See full review

  • WilliamBroadbridge
  • Aug 12, 2014
Hotel in city centre

This is a lovely hotel in a great location in the centre of city . There is parking and the Checkin... See full review

  • Geofftwmba
  • Jun 22, 2014
Fringed by a breathtaking coastline and cosmopolitan eat streets, Travelodge is in a great place for you to reside and explore Newcastle.Travelodge Newcastle is ideally situated at 12 Steel Street and is just opposite to McDonalds, Panthers Newcastle, and the Market Town Shopping Centre on King Street. Travelodge offers 131 guestrooms.

Hotel Map

-32.9275 151.7632
Area served
Newcastle Easy access off the Sydney to Newcastle F3 Freeway. Flights available through Newcastle Airport. Port Stephens, Hunter Valley wineries and Lake Macquarie is only one hour away.
Nearby airports
Newcastle International Airport
Area description
Located right in the heart of Newcastle, close to major shopping centers and boutiques, eat streets, sandy beaches and Newcastle's fabulous waterfront. AAA Rated 4 Star, the Travelodge Newcastle offers everything you would expect from a full service hotel. We offer 24 hour reception, limited onsite parking (charges apply), outdoor pool and marquee, restaurant and bar, as well as extensive conference and meeting facilities. Added conveniences for visitors are laundry service and an Internet kiosk and gym. We look forward to welcoming you to Travelodge Newcastle soon. Sienna Cafe and Bar is open from 6.30am-930am Mon-Fri and 7.00am-10.00am Sat -Sun for Breakfast and 6.00pm -10.00pm Mon-Sat for Dinner.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Newcastle City also booked these hotels.

Travelodge Newcastle City Rooms

Standard room
Our modern rooms accommodate 2 people, maximum occupancy is 3. Extra guest $40 per night and carparking is $15 per night. Room contains 1 queen bed OR 2 single beds - bedding configuration not guaranteed
Bed n Breakfast
Our modern rooms accommodate 2 people, maximum occupancy is 3. Extra guest $58 per night and carparking is $15 per night. Room contains 1 queen bed OR 2 single beds - bedding configuration not guaranteed. Includes breakfast.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Facilities The Travelodge Newcastle provides professional, flexible and affordable event facilities. Let us exceed your expectations by providing flexible solutions at surprisingly competitive rates. Our facilities include - 5 Multi Functional Conference Rooms - theatre style capacity for up to 120 people, and banquet style for 100 people Outdoor Poolside Marquee Sienna Bar & Cafe The Travelodge Newcastle is perfect for weddings, corporate events and other celebrations! Please contact us directly for further details +612 4926 3777 or tncc@travelodge.com.au

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Newcastle City

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tazyates
old bar
Mar 12, 2013

weekend stay

Hotel was clean and room had a real big bed. Room was was good, staff really friendly and very helpful I hate having to pay extra for parking at 15 per night. Should be in room cost as the car park is on hotel property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business Man 356
Business
Brisbane
Mar 11, 2013

Very tired and needs a good clean

The rooms are spacious and generally comfortable but everything needs a good clean. The table in the room had not been wiped down properly and looked to have sauce or gravy on it. I really don't think the Travelodge would qualify as a 4 star hotel and would be 3 1/2 stars at best. It is fine for one night but anything more would be a stretch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret Johnston
Brisbane, Queensland
Mar 5, 2013

Well done Travelodge - Newcastle!

We stay at the Travelodge Newcastle every March and thisyear I think the service was outstanding. The room was ready, the check-in was smooth - everything was explained and checkout was so easy as we had prepaid on line. My only thing on the "wish list" is that it would be nice to have some small room service choices available on Sunday nights even if the restaurant isn't open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We stumbled on the Newscastle Leagues Club to the right on King Street and then first right again - opposite Spotlight. The Club has lovely meals and great variety. Drinks are cheap too! Good for a Sunday night when the Travelodge restaurant isn't open.

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jaya
Business
Penang, Malaysia
Feb 26, 2013

Good Place to stay

The Hotel is in the vicinity of city centre. A short drive by taxi from the New Castle Railway Station. The Hotel Staff was friendly and helpful. The Room was clean and large. There are many eateries close to the Hotel and Restaurant is available at the Hotel except for Dinner on Sundays.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eateries are close to the hotel reachable within 2 to 3 minutes of walking. Supermarket is as well close to Hotel.

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vonny
Business
Port Macquarie
Nov 16, 2012

There for work

The room was pretty good. Because it was the weekend, the noise went into the small hours of the morning and was hard to sleep through. The location was excellent. We were able to walk to where we needed to be

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Old cow
Windsor NSW 2756, Australia
Oct 23, 2012

catch up

Over 5 years of staying and requesting, still wonder why I can't get a room looking over harbour. Foyer and bar area way too hot/over heated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Catevee
Business
Not Provided
Jul 31, 2012

could do with umproving

As our plane was delayed we only just had time to sleep in this Hotel, out early in the morning again, as we were there for a function so didnt see amenities. Had to request a towel as there was only one in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Milan Mike
Brisbane
May 7, 2012

West End renewal

This is a good hotel choice in an urban renewal area of Newcastle. Its walking distance to most attractions and is in an interesting neighbourhood. Its got a little way to go before its ideal for nightlife and restaurants...but the old buildings have lots of potential.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

You can easily walk into the CBD and tour the main sights of the Newcastle peninsula. It is a bit hilly but the views are worth it.

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mouse
Sydney
May 7, 2012

good visit

Room great. Bathroom a bit old. ALL the staff fantastic, very helpful, polite and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat Allen
Business
Monterey, CA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great Value for the Price

The hotel was very nice and an excellent value for the price. Room was larger than I expected. All the staff that I dealt with during my week long stay were especially nice people. Only minor downside is that it is on a main street that can get a bit noisy at night. Would I stay there again? Yes I would.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Easy walk to the historic section of Newcastle from the hotel takes about a half an hour. Pleasant thing to do in the evening.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search