$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 30, 2014

Travelodge Newcastle City

4 stars
12 Steel Street, Newcastle, Newcastle, NS 2302
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
54 reviews
Thank you..!

It was such a lovely place to stay in for the weekend... The staffs were awesome, very polite. The... See full review

  • WilliamBroadbridge
  • Aug 12, 2014
Great weekend getaway

Very pleasant experience , central location and great value for money! Staff very helpful See full review

  • Vezzy
  • Aug 18, 2014
Fringed by a breathtaking coastline and cosmopolitan eat streets, Travelodge is in a great place for you to reside and explore Newcastle.Travelodge Newcastle is ideally situated at 12 Steel Street and is just opposite to McDonalds, Panthers Newcastle, and the Market Town Shopping Centre on King Street. Travelodge offers 131 guestrooms.

Hotel Map

-32.9275 151.7632
Area served
Newcastle Easy access off the Sydney to Newcastle F3 Freeway. Flights available through Newcastle Airport. Port Stephens, Hunter Valley wineries and Lake Macquarie is only one hour away.
Nearby airports
Newcastle International Airport
Area description
Located right in the heart of Newcastle, close to major shopping centers and boutiques, eat streets, sandy beaches and Newcastle's fabulous waterfront. AAA Rated 4 Star, the Travelodge Newcastle offers everything you would expect from a full service hotel. We offer 24 hour reception, limited onsite parking (charges apply), outdoor pool and marquee, restaurant and bar, as well as extensive conference and meeting facilities. Added conveniences for visitors are laundry service and an Internet kiosk and gym. We look forward to welcoming you to Travelodge Newcastle soon. Sienna Cafe and Bar is open from 6.30am-930am Mon-Fri and 7.00am-10.00am Sat -Sun for Breakfast and 6.00pm -10.00pm Mon-Sat for Dinner.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Newcastle City also booked these hotels.

Travelodge Newcastle City Rooms

Standard room
Our modern rooms accommodate 2 people, maximum occupancy is 3. Extra guest $40 per night and carparking is $15 per night. Room contains 1 queen bed OR 2 single beds - bedding configuration not guaranteed
Bed n Breakfast
Our modern rooms accommodate 2 people, maximum occupancy is 3. Extra guest $58 per night and carparking is $15 per night. Room contains 1 queen bed OR 2 single beds - bedding configuration not guaranteed. Includes breakfast.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Conference Facilities The Travelodge Newcastle provides professional, flexible and affordable event facilities. Let us exceed your expectations by providing flexible solutions at surprisingly competitive rates. Our facilities include - 5 Multi Functional Conference Rooms - theatre style capacity for up to 120 people, and banquet style for 100 people Outdoor Poolside Marquee Sienna Bar & Cafe The Travelodge Newcastle is perfect for weddings, corporate events and other celebrations! Please contact us directly for further details +612 4926 3777 or tncc@travelodge.com.au

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Newcastle City

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
3.6

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tyw66
Sydney
Jan 9, 2014

Friendly staff but interior needs an upgrade

Stayed one night on a trip passing through Newcastle. Very friendly front desk staff, while the room is good sized and clean, the hallway was dark and had a musky smell. I've stayed in several Travelodges around the country, this one is rather tired in comparison and needs an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Subo restaurant serves great food and is one of the best value for money places I've been to.

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Parklife
Country
Jan 8, 2014

Happy Hour

Despite notice in lift that Bar was closed New Years Eve, we were told we couldn" have our recently purchased drinks by the pool. That it was a licenced premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Darby Street great shops & coffee

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chub
Australia
Jan 6, 2014

couple of days

A couple of days in Newcastle. Stay there often at this hotel. Good room ,handy location. Reasonable breakfast. Club deal made it under $100 at the time including breakfast so very good value. Locals are a bit noisy outside at night coming home from the pubs. I will probably stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Around the harbour foreshore restaurants and bars worth a look.

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tonybalony
Newcastle
Jan 1, 2014

Short Stay

a lovely place for a short stay. Very nice and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is very convenient to this location.

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Julie Pilot
North East Victoria, Aust
Dec 15, 2013

Great overnight stay

Very friendly & helpful staff - nice room - bath needs to be more non slip - good location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to shopping centre & maccas & not all that far from the foreshore attractions

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kenneth.L.
Gold Coast Qld
Nov 19, 2013

Convenient

When I was a teenager the travel lodge was on Newcastle Beach, how disappointing to find it's relocated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining out on Darby St, on a Friday night is OK, also try the resturants along the harbour

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sall
Dubbo, NSW, Australia
Aug 19, 2013

Weekend Away

Motel was very central to everything in Newcastle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nerida C
Business
sydney australia
Jun 16, 2013

Quick business stopover

IStayed one night for business, the staff member who checked me in was very helpful and friendly, room was clean and comfortable and I would happily stay again. I walked to the hotel from Civic train station, I think Wickham station is actually closer but even so it wasn't too far, although a bit quiet and didn't feel the safest when walking later at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Daisy999
Business
Sydney Australia
May 26, 2013

Disappointing!

Thought we'd try the Travelodge on this Newcastle trip, but we won't be staying there again. My room was an excellent example of poor cleaning standards over a period of time ... built up soap scum ... build-up of dust in corners ... tap handles that I felt the need to wipe before using. And the little black tray that held the minibar food items was filthy! Given the cleaning standard, the lack of a top sheet was a worry. Do they change the duvet cover after each guest??? And if the duvet's too hot, your only option is to take the cover off it or sleep with no cover at all. I've never experienced this in a 4-star hotel and it's not really good enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Newcastle City

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SMBCTH
Port Macquarie, NSW
May 2, 2013

Below average

Close to noisy club and brothel. door man wanted me to show him a wrist band from a music festival before he'd let me in at night even though i hadnt been to the music festival and was just coming home from having dinner out in town. tiniest bathroom. cleanliness was pretty average, as was the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search