$285 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

3 stars
View map of 103 L. G. Smith Boulevard, 103 L.G. SMITH BLVD., Palm Beach,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
34 reviews
great trip

The hotel was very nice. Great staff. Great Location. Had to learn the lay of the land with regard... See full review

  • Paul Y.
  • Feb 13, 2015
pool area excellent!!

the kids loved the pool (including lazy river and waterslide)! could almost never get them to the... See full review

  • Laura O
  • Dec 3, 2014
Spacious timeshare villas with lazy river and pool on Palm Beach
This family-friendly timeshare resort offers a home away from home with its fully equipped, spacious villas, and some key places to unplug: the Marriott's Aruba Surf Club expanse of Palm Beach, and its winding lazy river. More aquatic fun can be had at the pool areas, while activities specific to younger guests, including arts and crafts and video games, are available as well.
Highlights
  • Marriott Vacation Club Resort on Palm Beach
  • Lazy river and fun, active pool area
  • Spacious villas with fully equipped kitchens
  • Restaurant and pool bar on-site
Rooms
Sun-bleached cotton bedding and sky-blue hues decorate this room, along with granite tops along the fully equipped kitchens with refrigerator and microwave oven of each one-, two- or three-bedroom villas at the Marriott's Aruba Surf Club. Rooms are also appointed with sofa sleeper and Internet access.
Dining
While visiting the Marriott's Aruba Surf Club, hanging out at Seaworthy's Pool Bar is crucial. They serve drinks and a light lunch. Captain's Galley is American-style breakfast, lunch and dinner. For finer dining, guests are directed to the nearby Marriott's Ocean Club and Aruba Marriott Resort's restaurants, which include Ruth's Chris Steakhouse and a sushi bar. Guests are also welcome to visit local grocery stores or cook in-room, and supply their own drinks while lounging.
Recreation
Float for hours in the gentle current of the lazy river, or stop time at the serenity pool. Palm Beach is just steps away. Families can play together or make arts and crafts at the in the Kids Maze-Matey's Hall. Those ages 12-17 and their game-loving friends who dare to click along and participate can hang at The Den, which has PS3 and Wii games. Free weights, exercise equipment and complimentary fitness classes are at hand at the Helmsman Fitness Center in the Marriott's Aruba Surf Club.
Transportation
  • Aruba International Airport (7 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • Pedernalis (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
  • Bubali Bird Sanctuary (2.3 mi/3.6 km)
  • Red Sail Sports Aruba (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet access in public areas and guest rooms
  • Meeting rooms

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Marriott's Aruba Surf Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Casino
Sauna
Children's activities
Game room
Tennis
Water skiing
Picnic area/tables
Steam bath
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Car rental desk
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Dining

Seaworthy's Pool Bar
Swim up to Seaworthy's Pool Bar for a refreshing tropical beverage or cocktail. Serving drinks from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m., we are a unique beachfront restaurant in Aruba. Stop by for a refreshing reprieve while soaking up the tropical Caribbean sunshine.
Captain's Galley
This Aruba beachfront bar and grill is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Enjoy succulent burgers, light sandwiches, wings, wraps and more with frozen specialty drinks, signature cocktails and beer within a casual, tropical atmosphere.
The MarketPlace
Perfect for snacks, cold drinks, ice cream and necessities. Featuring freshly brewed coffee, specialty espresso drinks and more.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Mariott

excellent i loved the mariott surf club was the best hotel ever staff we're very good i would recommended for everyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chickadee59
Business
Queens, New York
Apr 11, 2013

Wonderful vacation spot

This hotel was awesome. Extremely clean and staff was very friendly and helpful. Lazy river was great and so relaxing. The only negative with aruba is everything is expensive and also added on service fees. But for vacation, you gotta go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ABellewRN
Business
Utah
Nov 10, 2013

Amazing Family Vacation!

My husband and I have been all over the Carribean/Mexico/Hawaii/Tahiti, and were looking for something new. We chose Aruba and went in October 2012, so not as crowded as others have mentioned. The lazy river was an unexpected hit...we were in it every day of our stay. Seaworthy's Pool Bar happy hour was a highlight of our day! Our three kids never had a dull moment between the lazy river, waterslide, beach, and many iguana sightings. We rented a car, and so spent one day exploring (hiked a rock formation, visited a bird refuge and the butterfly farm), one day at Baby Beach (HIGHLY recommended...amazing snorkeling), and 1/2 day shopping in Oranjestad. We also did a Pirate Cruise, which leaves shore right next to the hotel...the kids absolutely loved it, it was their favorite part of the vacation, and a close second was the butterfly farm. The room couldn't have been better...we were on the 8th floor and had a spectacular view, very clean, with a full kitchen. We shopped at Ling's for groceries and ate mostly in our room, groceries are expensive but dining out is even more so. We only ate dinner out twice, one night at Madame Janette's, highly recommended, and once at Moomba-the staff there was awesome and the atmosphere amazing, but the food was just good. Never had a problem getting a beach chair or a chair poolside, if you're patient, a great spot opens up, but again - in October it's not as crowded...and not a lot of kids. Hurricane Sandy was forming just off the coast and so the trade winds died during our stay, which made it very hot...thus the daily Lazy River excursions. Our family would go back in a heartbeat...but I would keep an eye on the wind, as I've heard the trades can really pick up and make it hard to enjoy the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bring your own flotation devices...so cheap in the states, and SO expensive on the island. The hotel has an air pump to blow them up, you use them all week and stow them in your bathtub at night, and at the end of your stay, leave them by the elevators and someone else will use them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
steelking
Business
brooklyn
Dec 13, 2013

Excellent Vacation Venue

Great Place to be. With or without children, this hotel is a fantastic place for a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Touch of Gold is a terrific, honest jewelry store

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PaulF
Business
Coram, NY, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Trip

The Motel was very clean & very friendly to the guests. The Motel went out of there way to help the guest. Went to the beach or the pool. I have been to Aruba 5 times now & each time the Motel is very friendly. The island is very safe to travelers & all the people are very friendly. Stayed at Marriott Surf Club in Aruba. The island is beautiful. Room was very clean & comftable. Value for money is good. Staff was very friendly to the guest. Room had a small Kitchenette in it, refrig, micro, stove so you could have Breakfast & Lunch in room. Staff is very friendly & goes out of there way to help you with any problem you might have. The value for the money is just right

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Madam Jeanette & Chalette Swiss are both great places to have dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marley Maniac
Business
Wakefield, RI
Oct 7, 2009

Couldn't have asked for better!

This was our first trip to Aruba and thanks to the Surf Club, it won't be our last. We stayed for a week in September 2009, which is a great time to go as there aren't many families travelling though the hotel was still booked to capacity. First, the hotel - the grounds are perfectly manicured and there are cleaning crews picking up debris, washing the sidewalks and raking the sand every morning. We only used the pool once, but it was perfectly clean though a bit crowded. The beach is wonderful, but if you want to reserve a palapa for free, be prepared to get in line at 6:45 am. The hotel, while the having over 600 rooms, is not overwhelming. The buildings have their own entrances so even at max-capacity, we never waited more than 30 seconds for an elevator. We had a standard room that would be considered a mini-suite elsewhere - sitting area and kitchenette, it was perfect! The staff - Aruba is known for its friendly people and the Surf Club is no exception. You cannot pass an employee without them saying hello with a big smile and asking how you are doing. The first couple of days we did receive calls to attend a timeshare seminar and after telling them that we were not interested, the calls stopped but we were still treating as valued guests. We had two instances where we needed to call the front desk(once for noisy neighbors in the middle of the night and once for a smell coming from the a/c). In both instances, the problems were resolved in minutes. Our only complaint is the lack of food options. The Surf Club only has a coffee shop in gift shop and a pool bar that serves burgers, wings, etc. There is no restaurant per se. You can walk to one of the other Marriott properties, which is no big deal, but the food options there weren't great either. There is a restaurant right next to the Surf Club (so close, you would think it was owned by the hotel) but the staff was extremely rude so we never ate there. Since you really won't want to leave the property for breakfast or dinner, I suggest going to the grocery store on the first day and stocking up. Since even the standard rooms have kitchenettes, it is convenient and a great way to save a little money. Overall, our experience was fabulous. I would not hesitate to reccommend the Surf Club and I intend to return next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to the grocery store on the first day. I suggest Ling and Sons (it's an IGA so they stock a lot of American brands). Once you get to the Surf Club you won't want to leave the property for breakfast or lunch so it is wonderful to be able to make something in the room. Plus, food is expensive on the island so it's a great way to save a few bucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 27, 2011

Perfect.

Stayed in a 1 bedroom with kitchen/living room/dining room... no complaints whatsoever. Got up around 8am to reserve chairs by the main pool and had no issues finding one with shade and one with sun every day. More than enough chairs at the beach every day... Food at the pool bar was always good, wasn't too expensive, and they had 2 for $14 happy hour specials (frozen/mixed drinks) every day from 3-5pm. Rooms were immaculate, definitely recommend going to the grocery store to save money on breakfast and lunch. Short walk to the shops/restaurants... No need to bring any long sleeved shirts or pants during this time of year, it's hot even at night! LOVED the hotel and are already trying to plan another vacation there within the next 6 months. We are VERY picky people... but there is nothing bad to say about the Surf Club.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to Ling and Sons- grocery store. Very Americanized. Stock up on food for breakfast/lunch and buy your alcohol there. Drinks at the pool every day can be very expensive (beers $6, mixed/frozen drinks $8.50-12). Since it's a time share resort, you are allowed to bring your own food/drinks to the pool- buy a throw away cooler and stock up for the week so you can splurge on dinners!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mom of teensand tweens
Business
new Jersey
Apr 17, 2011

Fantastic

The Surf Club was absolutely wonderful for traveling with children. the staff was extremely courteous, the rooms clean and well kept, the grounds were magnificent. the lazy river was just that. It helped one to relax even more. I recommend this trip to families with small children as wellas teenagers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rhode Island
May 18, 2011

Excellent Vacation

Excellent service, very friendly staff. Beautiful location/view of the ocean and island from an Oceanside room. The resort is very clean and well-kept with several good options for eating/drinking at the Surf club and at the two neighboring Marriotts. 2nd year in a row staying at the Surf club and very satisfied both times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Aug 2, 2011

aruba trip

it was fabulous! great experience...friendly staff, clean room, and great pool facilities!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top