$285 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

3 stars
View map of 103 L. G. Smith Boulevard, 103 L.G. SMITH BLVD., Palm Beach,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sierra madre momma
Business
Twin Cities, MN
Mar 14, 2011

fabulous time for spring break

The Aruba Surf club was a wonderful experience. The room was lovely, although not up to Marriott's new standard of bedding. Ask for a room above the 5th floor for the best views. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. The bus and taxi system work great for getting around; no need to rent a car. The weather was perfect, as long as you don't mind the trade winds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants on the beach right by the hotel have great sunset views and excellent food, although eating out is expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Roseland, New Jersey
Feb 24, 2011

Aruba-Marriott Surf Club

Aruba and the people are 5 Star. This timeshare unit (Gardenview) is the smallest..If not travelling with kids would suggest 2 Queen beds instead of pullout. Room and beds very clean, view over pool was lovely but would suggest asking for higher floor than 5. Kithenette very handy, bring your own toiletries. Would not suggest for couples during childrens school breaks! We went to the neighboring Ocean Club beach for alittle peace. Overall a great trip...people could not be nicer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants were great. Our favorite Screaming Eagle and Simple Fish at the Marriott. We are well travelled and SFish is one of our favorite resturants now! Right on the beach! Reserve well in advance of your trip. Dont miss the amazing coconut cream Arubian cake!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfield, CT
Feb 21, 2011

Good Family Vacation spot

Gardenview guestroom was small for 3 people. Lots of restaurants and shops outside of the hotel that were easy to find. Hotel did not have a nice restaurant or bar. Many activities offered through the hotel and on the premises of the hotel property. Out of approximately 15 treadmills, only half of them were in working order. A rental car is necessary. Lazy river so fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make reservations ahead of time--perhaps even before you arrive. You can always change them or cancel the later, but it is difficult to get a reservation on short notice at almost any restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
svhooter
Business
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Apr 14, 2010

Review of Marriott Surf Club

This is a timeshare location so the rooms have a full kitchen and washer - dryer. It was a great time. Room Cleaning staff was awesome. Pool staff was OK. This may be because many people are owners and bring their own drinks to the pool. But Pool staff not as attentive as what we experienced at Hyatt previously. But very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Madame Janettes. A little expensive but great food and atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delray Beach, Fl.
Feb 22, 2010

Rude staff

The first thing I could notice at our arrival was the two humongous towers, wich for me is already a bad sign. After that we went to the check in area where the front desk attendant was very rude... two times. (I complained to the manager, but he did not do anything, but apologise). The rooms are very nice, clean and confortable but the pool and beach facilities are overcrowded, specially the beach facilities, it is almost imposible to get a chair and a spot there. So, I think we paid to much money for what we got. (Way to much money). I will never go there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

At the left side of the hotel there are a couple of good restaurants and they have beach chairs you can use for free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Feb 22, 2010

Family getaway

4 nights is the perfect length of time, very relaxing days with great weather, beautiful beach and lazy river, take an early walk on beach before it gets too hot, wear a lot of sunscreen if you burn easily; watch the sunset from beach or balcony; in the afternoons the wind blows through the pool area and is like a wind tunnel in certain spots; people tag their chairs very early and dont use them, system is not great, but you can always find chairs in between and during the day

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

rent a jeep for a day, it is fun; but if you go off road, some spots are hard to navigate; you should be a good driver, esp if you want to go to the natural pool, very rugged terrain.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philadelphia reviewer
Business
philadelphia, pa
Nov 2, 2009

Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Beautiful hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Oct 28, 2009

Excellent

Great hotel. Right on the clean beach. Lazy river is very relaxing. Can easily go to ocean club and resort by walking a few minutes. Clean rooms. We went in october and it was perfect. Can imagine it is a little crowded in peak season, but what beautiful place on the beach isnt?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Two best restaurants were El Gaucho (one of the best steaks I ever had) and Screaming Eagle(everything was perfect including my martini).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MASS
Oct 11, 2009

Marriott Surf Club

Lovely location - convenient to restaurants and shops. You are able to walk places and do not need a rental car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Bring coffee and cereal and snack food. The prices for "munchies" is out of sight. The rooms (lock off rooms) have a small kitchen with coffee pot, microwave, refrigerator, and toaster.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Marriott's Aruba Surf Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marley Maniac
Business
Wakefield, RI
Oct 7, 2009

Couldn't have asked for better!

This was our first trip to Aruba and thanks to the Surf Club, it won't be our last. We stayed for a week in September 2009, which is a great time to go as there aren't many families travelling though the hotel was still booked to capacity. First, the hotel - the grounds are perfectly manicured and there are cleaning crews picking up debris, washing the sidewalks and raking the sand every morning. We only used the pool once, but it was perfectly clean though a bit crowded. The beach is wonderful, but if you want to reserve a palapa for free, be prepared to get in line at 6:45 am. The hotel, while the having over 600 rooms, is not overwhelming. The buildings have their own entrances so even at max-capacity, we never waited more than 30 seconds for an elevator. We had a standard room that would be considered a mini-suite elsewhere - sitting area and kitchenette, it was perfect! The staff - Aruba is known for its friendly people and the Surf Club is no exception. You cannot pass an employee without them saying hello with a big smile and asking how you are doing. The first couple of days we did receive calls to attend a timeshare seminar and after telling them that we were not interested, the calls stopped but we were still treating as valued guests. We had two instances where we needed to call the front desk(once for noisy neighbors in the middle of the night and once for a smell coming from the a/c). In both instances, the problems were resolved in minutes. Our only complaint is the lack of food options. The Surf Club only has a coffee shop in gift shop and a pool bar that serves burgers, wings, etc. There is no restaurant per se. You can walk to one of the other Marriott properties, which is no big deal, but the food options there weren't great either. There is a restaurant right next to the Surf Club (so close, you would think it was owned by the hotel) but the staff was extremely rude so we never ate there. Since you really won't want to leave the property for breakfast or dinner, I suggest going to the grocery store on the first day and stocking up. Since even the standard rooms have kitchenettes, it is convenient and a great way to save a little money. Overall, our experience was fabulous. I would not hesitate to reccommend the Surf Club and I intend to return next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a cab to the grocery store on the first day. I suggest Ling and Sons (it's an IGA so they stock a lot of American brands). Once you get to the Surf Club you won't want to leave the property for breakfast or lunch so it is wonderful to be able to make something in the room. Plus, food is expensive on the island so it's a great way to save a few bucks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top