$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Divi Aruba Phoenix Resort

4 stars
View map of J.E. Irausquin Blvd. 75, Palm Beach,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Divi Aruba Phoenix Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CJH Aruba 2014
Business
Rochester NY
Apr 28, 2014

Fun but lack of training for employees and management issues show

Our room was very nice but we had to change rooms two days after we arrived with no compensation for the inconveniance of unpacking, repacking and unpacking again. I guess a free drink would have been nice. When my brother and sister inlaw arrived they were treated very poorly at the front desk when asked if they could check in one hour early. This was a Tuesday and not what we would call a busy day. When my sister inlaw showed up for the 4 pm checkin the girl behind the counter rudly told her is was 3:58 and she would need to wait! Not a good way to make a first impresion. Secondy three of the 5 pools available were discusting. The water was murky with stuff floating around the surface. We even cleaned out the filters twice ourselfs. One of the pools was the swim up bar. Two of the pools we would not even go in, they were that bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bone Fish Grill

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
camp doc
Business
ridgewood , nj
Apr 27, 2014

quiet boutique hotel setting

we have spent many vacations at the divi pheonix, its location is ideal, walking distance to other venues, we use the bus to go food shopping, unlike some of the large hotels, it is quiet, friendly and accomadating. the rooms enable one to have meals that are simple and the nearness to so many places offers extensive options, the restaurants in house are also superb, the only thing i might add would be the availability of bicycles to enable one to explore the island, as i think about it free wi fi would put the divi a significant step above the other hotels, the tennis courts are nice and the gym adequate for all but the super hard core.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

if you gtamble the riu and occidental are the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AprilVacation
Business
Framingham, MA
Apr 27, 2014

Family week at Divi Aruba Phoenix - April 2014

Just spent five nights (April 2014) at the Divi Aruba Phoenix resort, and here's my humble review (and reasoning for four stars): Our check-in was a bit rocky, but John/Lam and Max at the front desk helped to make it better. We were assigned a ground floor 1BR in the old tower, but ended up paying an upgrade fee to stay in a nicer room in the new tower. Trust us, it's a big improvement since we did see the quality of the first room in the old tower (OLDER 1BR with 1 1/2 baths). We were told that the rooms in the old tower were scheduled for renovations starting in May 2014, so doubt we would upgrade in the future. The 1BR that we were assigned to had two full baths, granite counters and stainless steel appliances. There was also a washer/dryer combination unit. The room was about 600 sq feet, clean and had a nice balcony. I believe all rooms have a great view of the ocean, so no complaints there. The hotel property is clean with nice pools and plenty of lounge chairs. It's a bit of bear reserving a palapas/hut in the morning IF you want an ideal location, but we were able to get one nevertheless. There are about 75 palapas/huts situated along the beach, and about 10 more around the pools - one main pool, one kiddie pool, and one pool with a swim-up to the bar. There's also a whirlpool. The hotel uses a towel card exchange program which allows you to obtain one beach towel per card, and be warned that if you don't return the card at check-out, you will be charged $25 per card. Located on Palm Beach, it was not too crowded, and you are about a 10 minute walk to the high-rise hotel restaurants near the Radisson, Occidental, etc. It's best to walk along the beach, but be warned that it's a bit dark walking past the former Westin hotel (which was purchased by the next door neighbor, RIU). Nevertheless, a pretty easy walk, and there is a police station located between the former Westin hotel and the Divi Aruba Phoenix. We walked to restaurants via the Radisson hotel. Lunch at the Pure Beach restaurant was so-so, but dinner at the Pure Ocean restaurant was well worth it. There is a breakfast buffet at Pure Ocean which we enjoyed as well. Wait service at the restaurants were fine Staff at the Divi Aruba Phoenix was fine and friendly. Special kudos out to Max at the front desk, Carmen at the towel hut, and Shelo the bell captain. So why the four star rating: The king bed was awful and springy. Also, the dresser drawers looked worn down. Televisions are manufactured by Sanyo, and in my humble opinion, if this is a representation of a "timeshare" room, why cheap out on the electronics? Although I mentioned stainless steel appliances, the Whirlpool dishwasher was extremely loud and indicative of a base model. I definitely would not use it; unless, you are not in the room. Since we were wondering, we were told that the timeshares are being sold in the range of $25k to $40k, why cheap out on the appliances, electronics and bedding? If you are interested in a timeshare presentation, its about a hour, and they provide free breakfast or equivalent incentive - we skipped all of that and asked for pricing. Overall, we cannot complain - Aruba is a fun place to visit and stay for rest and relaxation. The weather is a comfortable 80s, and the tradewinds make it appear cooler. Don't forget the sunscreen!! The Divi Aruba Phoenix may not be a Marriott or Hyatt Regency, but it is a high quality hotel to consider and stay at. We would definitely consider going back to this hotel, and it's a good value for the money spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask the hotel to include the "One Happy Family" promotion. This promotion is offered by the Aruba Tourism bureau, and the Divi Aruba Phoenix is a participating hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
King T
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Apr 25, 2014

Beautiful!

The view that you get from the balcony of this resort is amazing. The pool has a light in it which changes colors at night even more amazing. The staff was very friendly. The room has basically everything you can think of : a washing machine , a mini kitchen, jacuzzi bath in the bathroom. The only bad part was that the wifi didn't work very well. I stayed here for my bday I loved it, I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a busy strip that has bars, stores, restaurants etc. When I first got here I took a cab from the resort to this strip which was $9 for a two minute drive which was a waste of money. I realized that there is a pathway along the beach that you can walk along to get to this strip and its worth the walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snorkling Diva
Business
Pennsylvania
Mar 23, 2014

Great place and outstanding vacation

Thought I had booked a room - but turned out to be a beautiful condo! One of the most comfortable beds, clean/quality linens, and the BEST pillows of any place I have ever stayed, very clean facility. Great location, quiet but within walking distance of great restaurants, activities, shopping, casinos. Ate at each restaurant on site - sunset dinner on beach at Pure Ocean was special and food/drinks were excellent. Also ate dinner at Pure Beach and that was also very good - recommend the fish special of day. Happy Hour also at Pure Beach, awesome drink specials. Concierge very helpful. Did not get up at dawn for palupa and still able to get one on the days/times we wished - but spent more time snorkeling at other locations and mostly used beach later in afternoon. Husband's only complaint was not enough washcloths a couple of days. Me-no complaints. Totally relaxing and wonderful vacation at excellent resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to best snorkeling sites - Malmok and Arashi Beach. Baby Beach also ok, but longer drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just Lou
Business
New York
Sep 1, 2013

Great place. Room needed some maintenance

I've stayed at the Divi Phoenix a couple of times, and really like it there. For the most part, everything was great except our 1BR suite in the beach tower had two showers with 2 broken shower doors. I called to report them on our first night there, and they didn't come to look at them until the 2nd night. Then they never returned to fix them at all. It wasn't a big issue other than the doors didn't close and water went all over the bathroom. Other than this, my stay was good and I'll return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Too Hot Mamma
Business
Aruba
Jul 17, 2013

Overall a good deal

Aside from all public areas being "open air" and bad maid service, I would recommend this hotel. Rooms are beautiful and comfortable and the location is perfect in Aruba. We had to constantly ask for maid service and only really got our room cleaned one night out of the four we stayed, whereas, our travel partners had great maid service every day. Also, found the front desk staff to be a bit rude but concierge was extremely helpful. The Pure Beach restaurant was wonderful. Would be a great place for families to stay - as each room offers a full kitchen. Would probably not stay there again, just because of the only air conditioning is in private rooms and it was just too hot walking around other parts of the hotel but if that doesn't bother you, and you get good maid service, then this is a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Try the Cobb Salad and Coconut shrimp at the Ocean Beach restaurant - best in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cara mia
Business
aruba
Jun 30, 2013

awsome

really enjoyed aruba, the hotel location was wonderful ,the room was nice the vi\ew spectacular,the stakk average not very friendly,the bus tour was super the weather the best the beach and water the best ever

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dward
Business
Aruba Phonex Divi
Apr 18, 2013

Average At Best

Staff friendly and efficient with the exception of the bar staff. People complained that the service was slow and the bar staff ignored the guests. After waiting an inordinate amount of time my wife bought a drind and realized she did not have change for a tip. She secured change and came back to the bar to give the bar tender a tip only to wait 5 minutes at which point she left. Whirlpool had clear signs indicating no children. On several occassions it was full of children from 4 to 10. No policing the rules. At most hotrels internet services are free. Here there was ann unusually high fee. The washer dyer was foreign with no English instructions other than a card which listed the names of the dials. Like our neighbors, we had to phone maintenance for assistance. This is no four star facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Divi Aruba Phoenix Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Fraz
Business
Quincy, MA
Apr 6, 2013

Family vacation w/20th wedding anniversary

Overall expƩrience very nice. There was some nice entertainment at hotel. Food in general was fair. Stay away from the pizza! Staff overall were nice. Rooms where cleaned everyday. Loved the location. Beach clean and beautiful and not overcrowded. Christian the gentleman that did tube rides was awesome. He's a plus for the hotel, though he doesn't work directly for them. Would love to come back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top