$466 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

4 stars
JE Irausquin Blvd 83, P.O. Box 218, Oranjestad,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
607 reviews
Amazing vacation

The hotel was beautiful. Employees were really nice ans food was great. It was so worth what we... See full review

  • All the single ladies
  • Jul 6, 2014
enjoyed the hotel

everything was fine, the staff was nice and friendly, buffet was great with the assortment of food... See full review

  • travelling wife 04
  • May 5, 2014
Luxury upgrade to VIP treatment at this Palm Beach all-inclusive resort
Awarded the TripAdvisor 2012 Certificate of Excellence, the Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive makes for a worthwhile and memorable vacation spot featuring white sandy beach and crystal clear water. Snorkeling, kayaking and sailing are among the many aquatic activities. Occidental Grand Aruba  offers a chance to upgrade to luxurious comforts at the Royal Club. The Royal Club, a boutique hotel found on the 7th, 8th, and 9th floors of the resort, boasts a club-like atmosphere and offers concierge level service and spacious rooms luxuriously equipped with Etro toiletries, fruit basket, plush bathrobes, and suites that feature hydro-massage bathtub. The club also offers two meeting spaces, in-room dining, private areas, preferred seating at the a la carte restaurant, and complimentary high-speed Internet access at the lounge and members-only area in the reception area.
Highlights
  • Palm Beach location offers excellent stretch of coastline with many water activities
  • Royal Club offers a VIP, five-star experience with private lounge and concierge services
  • Six restaurants and five cocktail bars in-house
Rooms
Rooms at the Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive are decorated in an elegant Spanish colonial style. Amenities include satellite TV, a telephone with data port, Wi-Fi access, in-room safe, hairdryer, private balcony/terrace, and a full bath with shower and hydro-massage tubs. Royal Club-level suites have marble floors, CD and DVD players, and a stocked mini-bar. Grand Concierge Deluxe Pool and Ocean View rooms have concierge and turndown services while Grand Romance Deluxe Pool and Ocean View rooms come with a bottle of champagne and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Dining
Six restaurants serve cuisine from around the globe, including Italian (L'Olio), Mexican (El Ovido) and eclectic fusion (Zen Pan and Desire Caribbean). Breakfast and lunch is served in grand buffet style at The Palm, and hearty snacks-to-order are available at The Beach Club. Expertly mixed cocktails are poured at five bars, which are scattered around the hotel pool, beachside or in elegant lounges.
Recreation
Snorkeling, kayaking, SCUBA or sailing lessons and trips are all house specialties, along with beach games. Little ones ages 4 to 10 can take part in supervised activities at the Kids Club. Additional babysitting is also available. Sound, the in-house nightclub, has dancing and DJs nightly. The casino, with its $2,000 nightly bingo prize, will resume play in February 2011. Live shows go on nightly in the casino's theater, and Cuban cigars are legal here.
Transportation
  • Queen Beatrix International Airport (8.25 mi/13.25 km)
Attractions
  • Pedernalis (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Bubali Bird Sanctuary (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi available throughout the Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive
  • Business center with five PC stations, printers, copier, fax machine, courier and concierge service
  • Three ballrooms with 20,000 square-feet of flexible event space can accommodate up to 800
Policies and fees
  • Upon arrival, $3 per room/per night will be collected for the Aruba Environmental Fee.
  • Guests must be 21 to check in.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive Rooms

Deluxe
Deluxe rooms offer guests either one King bed or two double beds, marble floors, balcony or terrace, mini-bar, hair dryer, satellite TV, alarm clock/radio, telephone with data port, high speed Internet or Wi-Fi access, in-room safe and full bath with shower and tub.
Deluxe Ocean View
Deluxe rooms offer guests either one King bed or two double beds, marble floors, balcony or terrace, mini-bar, hair dryer, satellite TV, alarm clock/radio, telephone with data port, high speed Internet or Wi-Fi access, in-room safe and full bath with shower and tub.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Ocean View
This category features the Deluxe room inclusions, as well as concierge service, turndown service, internet stations, a fruit basket, a bottle of wine, a 10% spa discount and plush bathrobes to wear during your stay
The Royal Club Luxury Ocean View
All Royal Club level rooms include the resort's all-inclusive features, and boast elegantly appointed furniture and amenities, including King beds, marble floors, balcony, CD and DVD players, mini-bar, hair dryer, satellite TV, alarm clock/radio, telephone with data port, high speed Internet or Wi-Fi access, in-room safe, full bath with shower and hydro-massage tubs and room service. Guests will enjoy private check-in at the Royal Club level floor, with a private lounge, restaurant and concierge services.
Grand Romance Deluxe Ocean View
This category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10% spa discounts, turndown service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.
Deluxe Pool and Ocean View
Deluxe rooms offer guests either one King bed or two double beds, marble floors, balcony or terrace, mini-bar, hair dryer, satellite TV, alarm clock/radio, telephone with data port, high speed Internet or Wi-Fi access, in-room safe and full bath with shower and tub.
Grand Concierge Deluxe Pool and Ocean View
This category features the Deluxe room inclusions, as well as concierge service, turndown service, internet stations, a fruit basket, a bottle of wine, a 10% spa discount and plush bathrobes to wear during your stay
Grand Romance Deluxe Pool and Ocean View
This category features Deluxe room inclusions, as well as a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, couples massage, breakfast in bed the first morning, romantic dinner, 10% spa discounts, turndown service, and a surprise gift with special romantic amenities.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Casino
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

12.5702 -70.0462
Area served
Oranjestad, Aruba
Nearby airports
Queen Beatrix Intl. Airport (AUA): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 8.25 miles (13.25 km). From airport, go west towards the downtown area, proceed to 'High Rise Hotels' sign. Follow sign to left, the resort is on the left.
Area description
Shopping, casinos, golf, sightseeing tours and water sports.

Nearby points of interest

  • Surf Club: 0.6 mi
  • Bye Bye Nature: 2 mi
  • The Thode's residence: 2.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Best Getaway for Business Events. Why not hold your next corporate function in paradise? At Occidental Grand Aruba you can count on our state of the art business center. Our meeting rooms are equipped with audio-visual equipment plus offer outstanding catering and impeccable service. All this combined with the most memorable location for your business event. Who says you can't combine business with pleasure? Conference facilities available for up to 800 people.

Dining

L'Olio
Italian Cuisine - a la carte dining. If you're in the mood for a taste of Italy, L'Olio is a must. Plus you'll enjoy a marvelous selection of wines from around the world. Dinner - 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Desires Lounge
One flight up on the second floor, Desires has a romantic setting for getting close to the one you love the most! 6:00pm - 12:00 midnight
Desire Lounge
Caribbean Fusion Cuisine - la carte dining. With dishes like Garlic Octopus with Grilled Mushrooms or Rosemary Shrimp Kebab, you'll find Desire is a epic-urean adventure that will leave you wanting more! Dinner - 06:00pm - 11:00pm
Royal Club Restaurant
Private a la carte and buffet. Open Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner daily for for Royal Club guests.
The Palm
International Buffet - Located on the main floor, you'll love this buffet style eatery. Help yourself to an amazing array of delicious plates or watch as the chef prepares your order exactly to your taste. Breakfast - 7:00am - 11:00am Lunch - 12:00pm - 3:00pm Dinner - 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Cocktail Bar
Located in the lobby, it's a great place to relax between activities!11:00am - 11:00 pm
Zen
Pan-Asian Cuisine - la carte dining. Seat yourself at the Sushi Bar! Or, let one of our chefs show off their talent tableside. Zen offers private dining 'Tatami' style. No matter what you choose it's sure to be magical. Dinner - 6:00pm - 10:00pm
Bikini Beach Bar
Located on the Beach, this is the perfect Hot Spot to sip your favorite tropical potion. 10:00am - 7:00pm
Sound Bar
More than just premium liquors, Sounds has live music and DJs rocking the night away. 07:00pm - 02:00am & closed Sunday
`
Mexican Cuisine - la carte dining. Set in a traditional Mexican dcor, the authentic and unique flavors this restaurant offers is an experience you'll want to repeat. Dinner - 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (607)

Ratings and reviews for Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
607 out of 607
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
All the single ladies
Fontana California
Jul 6, 2014

Amazing vacation

The hotel was beautiful. Employees were really nice ans food was great. It was so worth what we paid for definetly will of back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Entertainment is across the street.

Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Carol
Chicago, IL
Jun 30, 2014

Great pool & beach

There were some amazing things about this hotel and some not so amazing. To start with the good: the beach is clean and beautiful, we found it relatively easy to find a hut on the beach every morning after breakfast and took advantage of the included activities like kayaking, snorkel, and an hour-long sail up the coast. The pool is the best I've seen out of the hotels on the island; there are plenty of activities daily, two hot tubs, and the swim up bar was the place to be, especially since we traveled during the World Cup and they had the games on all day. We spent most mornings on the beach and most afternoons in the pool, it was perfect. It was also a great location; while it isn;t right downtown, there is a nice shopping district right across the street with plenty of street vendors, restaurants, and shops. There are also a good amount of pier bars/restaurants and other hotels within walking distance down the beach. Now for the downsides: we didn't make reservations until we got there so we weren't able to get into all the restaurants. Of the ones that we did get into everything was just okay. Nothing was calling us back and by the last two nights of our trip we decided to go out to eat at other restaurants on the island instead. Luckily, we had planned on this ahead of time, which is why we went with this hotel over the more expensive all-inclusives. Overall, our experience was good. If we could do this resort without the all-inclusive, we would be back often. But other than the ease of access with the beach and pool bars, there isn't much drawing us back to the all-inclusive end of the deal because the food was just mediocre.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take advantage of the free sailing trip up and down the coast from De Palm Tours included with your stay. It was a great opportunity to see what was around us and scope out some activities we wanted to do later in the week.

Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Moe Ali
West ny,Nj
Jun 6, 2014

Quick get away

The hotel is located in a great area, almost in the middle of everything . This was a quick getaway , and my girlfriend and I made the best of it. So as we check in our room, we notice the room had a meldo smell, but not only that they gave me a room with two twin beds.. However, the room had a pool view and ocean. We change our room , bc we needed a king bed . The next room they gave us , had the same smell. Then our view was change from pool view, to a garabage compactor view.. Then as we open the terrace, the door was dirty and meldo on it .. The next day they tried to sell us a time share.. As doing so, the show us a room , that to me any other hotel , this would be considered a regular room. The food was ok, however you would want to leave the hotel and go out to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Dogs vacation
Aruba
May 30, 2014

Great Vacation!!!

Our time at this location was great, the beach and the sand were perfect. Love the sunsets from this beach. The room was large and the bed was soft. My wife and I would highly recomend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mme Cool
hoboken
May 27, 2014

comfortable and relaxing

We enjoyed the ease of this all-inclusive. Food was good enough and enjoyed the variety offered by their different restaurants. Unfortunately, beach umbrellas were in short supply.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a jeep and enjoy an adventure that's really not dangerous. Arikok Nat'l Park is wild and beautiful. Don't miss it.

Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelling wife 04
Niagara Falls, Ontario
May 5, 2014

enjoyed the hotel

everything was fine, the staff was nice and friendly, buffet was great with the assortment of food and very tasteful, rooms were clean and comfortable, yes, we would come back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr10272
NY,NY
May 4, 2014

A notch or two below the top

The staff was excellent. Even though it is an all inclusive I like to still give minimal tips and I believe it is appreciated by the staff, but at no time did I feel like anyone was expecting a tip. The food was good all over but the Italian restaurant I thought was excellent. The beach was real nice and the bars at the pool and beach were convenient. It was easy to set up activities such as waverunners and jeep tour. The grounds were kept very nice. The reason I gave it a notch or two below the top is that the room looked like it was that time to do some repair. It was very clean but little things like over stuffed caulk in the shower which looks dirty no matter how much you clean it. Paint cracking on the wooden toilet seat. Ceiling of the bathroom stained a bit from the steam of the shower. And the TV was old with not great reception which wasn't so bad since we didn't spend too much time in the room. Over all it was a nice experience and I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Make your reservations for one of the 4 restaurants early that day. Not needed for the buffet's.

Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jimmy from Chicago
Aruba
Apr 16, 2014

Accidental more like it

Will never go to or recommend again Service was horrible,had to Change rooms as soon as we got there, deluxe ocean view was a cloudy window pane glass of patio door housekeeping was terrible ,had to call several times,every day No towels at all after room cleaned, had to call for bottled water and never brought until several calls mini bar was two 1/2 cans of beer most liquor was all well no top shelf at all included ,when asked for wine or name brand beer at dinner they wanted to charge(so much for all inclusive ) food was by far mediocre with only 2 resturants typical buffet breakfast with mediocre food pool area was dismal as soon as we got there no severs walking around till third day and was only one for whole pool area to ask for drinks , empty glasses stacked on tables front desk service was terrible waited 15-20 minutes when we got there and 20 minutes to check out only 1 sometimes 2 people who seemed to not know much when asked never again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OHaruba2014
Ohio
Apr 14, 2014

Fantastic Location

Over all a great value. Good was very good. Staff was friendly. Close to everything! If getting a deluxe ocean view make sure to request facing the pool, otherwise you look out to a parking lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Occidental Grand Aruba All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diane and Dave
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Mar 30, 2014

Fantasic for Seniors

Hotel is geat for seniors. Almost everything is handicapped accessable and the staff couldn't be more helpful. We have vacationed at the Occidental Aruba four times and will be back again next year. We love the food and ate at all five restaurants plus the BBQ on the beach and the new "dinner and show". Pool and beach are fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top