The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

3 stars
J.E. Irausquin Blvd #330, Palm Beach, Aruba,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
176 reviews
a wonderful friendly place

I have nothing negative to say. I was perfect in every way. Will return next year See full review

  • Curt H.
  • Mar 5, 2013
The Mill Resort

Small ,clean , accommodating, nice and relaxing most of the time very quiet - peaceful , no large... See full review

  • Randy C
  • May 10, 2013
Dutch-inspired Palm Beach budget hotel with two pools, fitness center
Enjoy shuttle service to and from Palm Beach, which is right across the street from the charming low-rise Mill Resort & Suites Aruba. Architecture is Dutch-inspired, as there is even a windmill. Every room or suite has a view of the tropical gardens. Family-friendly to a point (no kids are allowed in the "Royal rooms"), the Mill Resort has activities just for a kids, and a designated playground for little ones, along with two freely flowing fresh water pools.
Highlights
  • Beach located right across the street
  • Spacious studios and suites in a low-rise Dutch-inspired setting
  • Restaurant, bar and free shuttle to and from Mill Beach
  • Spa and fitness center
  • Two outdoor freshwater pools
Rooms

The hotel features spacious rooms and suites with tropical decor and modern amenities like cable TV, radio, safety deposit box, coffeemaker and iron/ ironing board. Some units have full kitchen. All rooms and suites are non-smoking.

Recreation
Romping is encouraged at the playground for kids, and the whole family (or just adults) may participate in daily activities. Two freshwater pools wind around the hotel like a natural body of water would. A spa and fitness center provide pampering and a spot to work out on-site. A shuttle provides transportation to Palm Beach, right across the street from the Mill Resort & Suites Aruba, where guests can find towels and lounge chairs. The concierge can help arrange activities spanning the island.
Transportation
  • Shuttle service to and from beach
  • Queen Beatrix International Airport (9 mi/14 km)
Attractions
  • Pedernalis (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Bubali Bird Sanctuary (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Red Sail Sports Aruba (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Meeting room on-site
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available poolside and in the lobby
Policies and fees

The minimum check-in age at the resort is 21.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba Rooms

Studio
Studio features: One king size bed, (some with sofa bed), bathroom with shower, full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, dining/sitting area.
Supersaver
Supersaver features: A run-of-the-house room with queen-size bed, bathroom with shower, mini-refrigerator and coffee maker.
JR Suite
JR Suite features: one king size bed or two double beds, bathroom with shower/tub, kitchenette, stove, mini-fridge, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.
Two Bedroom Suite
Two Bedroom Suite features: three king beds or two king bed and two double beds, two bathrooms, full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, dining/sitting room with sofa-bed, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.
Royal
Royal features: one king size bed, large roman tub and a separate shower, mini-fridge, coffee maker, sitting area, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.
One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite features: two king size beds, two bathrooms, full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, dining/sitting room with sofa-bed, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

12.5645 -70.0469
Area served
Palm Beach, Aruba
Nearby airports
Queen Beatrix International Airport (AUA) Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 9 miles (14 km.)
Area description
Complimentary beach shuttle service provided to the hotel's beach facilities across the street, so guests can enjoy a wide array of water sports, from swimming and snorkeling to sailing and windsurfing. Kids can chase waves, build a sandcastle, or burn off energy in the hotel's own playground and kids club. Also at the hotel itself are two outdoor pools.

Dining

The Garden Cafe
The Garden Cafe offers a buffet breakfast, a-la-carte lunch and casual indoor as well as patio dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
amy, travel girl
Northern Kentucky
Mar 5, 2010

not for us

The hotel itself was fine... nothing more. If you are looking a peaceful, relaxing vacation, I'd say go elsewhere. The walls are very thin, the bar is LOUD and right in the center of the "resort". There is limited room around the pool, and the regulars or time share people get up at the crack of dawn to claim the best seats with their stuff. This should not be allowed, but happens every day. The housekeeper was the nicest person we met on the island. One day we accidenally left the safe wide open with all our $ in it, when we got back the room had been cleaned and we were not missing a cent. WOW! The hotel beach is not too far, but you have to walk through another bigger hotel to get there. They start putting the chairs away at 6:00 so unless you bring your own stuff, you probably wont have a place to sit there either. We were very disappointed at the amount of litter all up and down the beaches. Overall this place was for us, a bust.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The prices for food and beverage around the island are high to say the least. We were glad we brought some things to cook in our room as to avoid what to me felt like robbery. We never ate out (2 people) for less than $85. A 6 pack of beer at the hotel costs $25. YIKES!

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Temporary/Imaginary Yachtsman
Massachusetts
Feb 17, 2010

Repeat Visitor Reports....

The front desk staff have never been too concerned to acknowledge guests standing right in front of them. Rude, rude, rude! We've stayed at The Mill several times (very good price/value), but it always plays out the same way at the front desk....there is no common courtesy on display. Never!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Temporary/Imaginary Yachtsman
Massachusetts
Feb 17, 2010

Repeat Visitor Reports....

The front desk staff have never been too concerned to acknowledge guests standing right in front of them. Rude, rude, rude! We've stayed at The Mill several times (very good price/value), but it always plays out the same way at the front desk....there is no common courtesy on display. Never!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
All over
Feb 8, 2010

Aruba Getaway

My stay was brief,but pleasant. The staff was friendly, the pools were great, and the location is good. This hotelis a great place to get up to three adjoining rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Great nightlife in either direction is only a short drive away.

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
All over
Feb 8, 2010

Aruba Getaway

My stay was brief,but pleasant. The staff was friendly, the pools were great, and the location is good. This hotelis a great place to get up to three adjoining rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Great nightlife in either direction is only a short drive away.

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sportsnut.
Taunton,Ma
Feb 7, 2010

Ok room for sleeping. Few ameneties

Convenient to Highrise hotels & eateries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sportsnut.
Taunton,Ma
Feb 7, 2010

Ok room for sleeping. Few ameneties

Convenient to Highrise hotels & eateries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston MA
Jan 28, 2010

Great place for less $$

It's all you want, if you dont like US hotel Chains. Beach is in walking distance, pool is small but who needs a pool if you have the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston MA
Jan 28, 2010

Great place for less $$

It's all you want, if you dont like US hotel Chains. Beach is in walking distance, pool is small but who needs a pool if you have the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
caribbeansunset
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 26, 2010

Has gone downhill

Initially, the bathroom was smaller than a closet. Our "view" was the roof from a sliding glass window. I prefer to have a cup of coffee and read my book & plan my day in the morning by sitting outdoors. This was not possible. We asked for and got a room change. The new room had tiny ants in the kitchen and the microwave kept blowing the circuit in the whole kitchen so they removed the microwave. When we went to have breakfast, we were told that we were required to have on our bracelets. Really? Plastic annoying bracelets for the entire 7 day trip? It's not an all-inclusive resort, and non-guests were permitted to have breakfast, and we weren't requesting to charge anything to our room. Our money spends everywhere on the island, so we went elsewhere for breakfast. When checking out, I informed them of their ridiculous bracelet policy, especially for breakfast. I was informed that their policy is that guests are to wear bracelets at all times. These bracelets are not removable until you cut them off. Who wants their vacation pictures to contain those stupid bracelets. The maintenance staff and housekeeping were very nice. The staff at the front desk were friendly and cooperative and willing to resolve issues. When checking out, allow for extra time. It seems there is a lot of confusion at the desk at check out time. This was my 3rd stay at this hotel in 3 years. It has gone downhill each year, and I will not be staying there for my next trip to Aruba. I guess I just expected more as a repeat customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

ABC Adventures offers a Jeep Tour of the Island. What a fantastic 8 hour day we spent touring and learning about the island. Our tour guide was awesome. At the end of the tour, he took us to his family's fish market so we could see how the locals live. What a great time we had. Also, the waterpark near the Divi was a lot of fun. It looks like it was closed, but it wasn't. The park had so few people in it, we were able to walk up to and get on every slide.

Back to menu Return to top