$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

3 stars
View map of J.E. Irausquin Blvd #330, Palm Beach, Aruba,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single girls who had a great vacation
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 4, 2009

Adequate accomodations!

This was my second trip to the island, my first trip in 2005 and my 2nd trip in July '09. Previously I had stayed at the Hyatt and choose The Mill this trip due to budget reasons. I found the hotel to be clean although not as fancy as others which is what I expected. [...] at the front desk, was very helpful and friendly. I didn't charge anything to the room due to opinions I had read prior to my vacation so I didn't have any problems with incorrect charges. Upon my earlier than check in arrival, our room was ready, unfortunately that room had only one king bed and we needed two double beds. That was corrected immediately and the new room was also ready. Our room was located on the side of the property facing the Westin on the first floor with patio access to the grassy area by the pool. The furnishings and tile in the bathroom were a little outdated but it was clean and the cleaning staff came each day in a timely manner to perform their cleaning duties which left the room with a nice citrus scent each day. The air conditioning worked great, as a matter of fact I had to use 3 blankets to accomodate my friend's need to stay cool! I didn't experience any problems with bugs as noted by other travelers opinions. My complaints are: the shower pressure was not the best,the towels not the fluffiest(no washcloths available, only hand towels), refrigerator wasn't that cold even on lowest setting,the closet set up with 3 sliding doors made access difficult for both sides at the same time. The pool area was very quiet with no activites as noted on their website. It was always clean of any debris and water just the right temp to cool you off. The beach area was okay, a little crowded with chairs and people but no problem getting a chair in a sunny or shady spot and the shuttle service was timely. No big deal to us to be across the street from the beach. The buffet breakfast offered was overpriced, but we found that 2 bagels w/ cream cheese and 1 coffee @ $6.50 to be sufficient, plus we went grocery shopping at Super Food on Sunday open from 10-1 for our breakfast and lunch food. The hotel location couldn't be better to access downtown and low/high rise areas plus there is a bus stop close. The bus was $2.30 for a round trip, $1.3 for one way and not normal to wait more than 10-15 mins for pickup. A taxi to downtown I think was around $12. I would definitely stay at The Mill again. The concierge was helpful with info reagrding the island and bus routes, the mini mart in the hotel was not overpriced and had most of the things you may have forgot to pack, and the rental car desk clerk got an economy car for us without any reservation for a reasonable price which we were able to drop off at the airport for a small charge the day of our departure. If you are expecting a 5 star resort this is not it, but if you are looking for adequate accomodations with easy access to the island this is your spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin Pennsylvania
Aug 3, 2009

Very friendly and homey

The hotel was nice but being single too many kids around. I would have preferred if they would have paid attention where they put the families and the single people. I believe if I go back I will stay in a different hotel. It had a very friendly staff but no room service and I had a child that screamed every morning. I am single!!! The staff was excellent!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Be aware that taxi's are very expensive in Aruba and be prepared to bring extra money. Dining was great except for one restraraunt The Mirandi the atomsphere was awesome but the food not so good and very pricey also the cab ride is very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jul 25, 2009

Fine for a couple of nights

We stayed here for 2 nights before checking into our timeshare. This was very adequate for the purpose. Rooms clean and good size. Liked that it was across the street from the bird sanctuary[Bublai Plas] for anyone interested in birds and a 2 minute walk to the Butterfly Farm. Pool was nice. Beach was 5 minute walk and not the cleanest-there was trash and beer bottles on beach. Restaurant was mediocre at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Logo Kid
Business
Michigan
Jun 29, 2009

Great location for the price!

This is our second stay at the Mlll. We like the rooms and location to the other high-rise hotels and all the shops located nearby. Parking at the Mill was not a problem. The staff treated us very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Madame Janette's is an excellent place to dine: delicious food & excellent service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Logo Kid
Business
Michigan
Jun 29, 2009

Great location for the price!

This is our second stay at the Mlll. We like the rooms and location to the other high-rise hotels and all the shops located nearby. Parking at the Mill was not a problem. The staff treated us very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Madame Janette's is an excellent place to dine: delicious food & excellent service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Mill
Business
Holland, MI
Jun 23, 2009

WOW, GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!!

It was great!!! We had a lot of fun playing Bingo, and getting free drinks :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Buy your own food for breakfast and lunch, and have fun at the restaurants at night!!! This was the best part of our vacation.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G and A Honeymooners
Business
Houston, Tx, USA
Jun 23, 2009

Needs A Little More.....

The Mill Resort is a budget type of establishment. It appeared to be a cool place to stay but once you get there the trademark "Mill" restaurant in the front of the hotel is closed and somewhat run down. The "Mill" looked like it had been a nice little gift shop/restaurant/attraction spot but went out of business some years back and is now just an eye sore. I dont want to run this place into the ground, but the stay was mediocre. There was a DJ poolside but the guests were not excited at all. the mood of the hotel was drab at best. I will say that it was a clean establishment and the iguanas were neat to see walking around the pool area. If you want to have more of a modern and luxury type stay, you'll want to save just a little more money and stay at one of the nicer beachfront hotels. My wife and I will probably not stay there again. we didnt hate it, but when we saw the other hotels and what they had to offer, it was an easy decision for our next trip. We stayed 5 days and 4 nights. The Mill Resort is a good spot for rowdy teenagers out of high school or young broke college students looking to party on a budget to stay. I say this because this is the type of crowd that will bring life into this establishment. Everybody has their own experience, this was ours. (Honeymooners from Houston,TX)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do your research on the tours that are offered. Our hotel offered one that was for a partial day that only took you by Jeep around the island for about $95 per person. We shopped around and found the same deal but it was all day and included more sights, snorkeling, and a meal with drinks throughout the day for $89 a person. And the tour guide was a blast! Pay attention to what is available!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 11, 2009

The Mill Resort

It was a relaxing vacation. The Mill Resort is a budget hotel with nice pool and has a good buffet breakfast but the price is a little high. The royal room was clean and basic. Had to ask for washcloths 3 times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveled with friends
Business
Northern NJ
Jun 8, 2009

Great price for the stay

Hotel staff very friendly, thank you Feliz for getting our rooms straightened out! Rooms clean and most have a small kitchenette. Pool and patio are beautiful and great place to enjoy more sun after the beach. Hotel staff (desk, food service, housekeeping) all courteous and friendly. Price of rooms was terrific but it is not a luxury hotel BUT rooms are comfortable and clean, beach is a short walk across street. All this leaves the extra $$ to enjoy the Aruba nightlife. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mills are at the beginning of the strip of restaurants and shops. A great place to start your day with a walk or run. There are tons of great places to eat....don't miss Smokey Joes, best ribs. The lighthouse is a beautiful trip (10 min car ride) to see the sunset but the restaurant is not worth the $$...a drink and appy is all but the dinner was not worth the expense. Aruba has changed a lot in the past 15 years, more family friendly. Best snorkeling and scuba diving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveled with friends
Business
Northern NJ
Jun 8, 2009

Great price for the stay

Hotel staff very friendly, thank you Feliz for getting our rooms straightened out! Rooms clean and most have a small kitchenette. Pool and patio are beautiful and great place to enjoy more sun after the beach. Hotel staff (desk, food service, housekeeping) all courteous and friendly. Price of rooms was terrific but it is not a luxury hotel BUT rooms are comfortable and clean, beach is a short walk across street. All this leaves the extra $$ to enjoy the Aruba nightlife. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mills are at the beginning of the strip of restaurants and shops. A great place to start your day with a walk or run. There are tons of great places to eat....don't miss Smokey Joes, best ribs. The lighthouse is a beautiful trip (10 min car ride) to see the sunset but the restaurant is not worth the $$...a drink and appy is all but the dinner was not worth the expense. Aruba has changed a lot in the past 15 years, more family friendly. Best snorkeling and scuba diving.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top