$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 17, 2014 Check-out: Dec 20, 2014

The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

3 stars
J.E. Irausquin Blvd #330, Palm Beach, Aruba,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
112 reviews
THE MILL

The staff is great at this hotel they are always willing to help..The bartender Cornell is great he... See full review

  • KATE668
  • Oct 18, 2014
Good value hotel

This is actually a resort that doubles as a hotel. It had a spacious room, very clean and well kept... See full review

  • jdiazmunoz
  • Aug 25, 2014
Dutch-inspired Palm Beach budget hotel with two pools, fitness center
Enjoy shuttle service to and from Palm Beach, which is right across the street from the charming low-rise Mill Resort & Suites Aruba. Architecture is Dutch-inspired, as there is even a windmill. Every room or suite has a view of the tropical gardens. Family-friendly to a point (no kids are allowed in the "Royal rooms"), the Mill Resort has activities just for a kids, and a designated playground for little ones, along with two freely flowing fresh water pools.
Highlights
  • Beach located right across the street
  • Spacious studios and suites in a low-rise Dutch-inspired setting
  • Restaurant, bar and free shuttle to and from Mill Beach
  • Spa and fitness center
  • Two outdoor freshwater pools
Rooms

The hotel features spacious rooms and suites with tropical decor and modern amenities like cable TV, radio, safety deposit box, coffeemaker and iron/ ironing board. Some units have full kitchen. All rooms and suites are non-smoking.

Recreation
Romping is encouraged at the playground for kids, and the whole family (or just adults) may participate in daily activities. Two freshwater pools wind around the hotel like a natural body of water would. A spa and fitness center provide pampering and a spot to work out on-site. A shuttle provides transportation to Palm Beach, right across the street from the Mill Resort & Suites Aruba, where guests can find towels and lounge chairs. The concierge can help arrange activities spanning the island.
Transportation
  • Shuttle service to and from beach
  • Queen Beatrix International Airport (9 mi/14 km)
Attractions
  • Pedernalis (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Bubali Bird Sanctuary (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Red Sail Sports Aruba (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Meeting room on-site
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available poolside and in the lobby
Policies and fees

The minimum check-in age at the resort is 21.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba Rooms

Studio
Studio features: One king size bed, (some with sofa bed), bathroom with shower, full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, dining/sitting area.
Supersaver
Supersaver features: A run-of-the-house room with queen-size bed, bathroom with shower, mini-refrigerator and coffee maker.
JR Suite
JR Suite features: one king size bed or two double beds, bathroom with shower/tub, kitchenette, stove, mini-fridge, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.
Two Bedroom Suite
Two Bedroom Suite features: three king beds or two king bed and two double beds, two bathrooms, full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, dining/sitting room with sofa-bed, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.
Royal
Royal features: one king size bed, large roman tub and a separate shower, mini-fridge, coffee maker, sitting area, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.
One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite features: two king size beds, two bathrooms, full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, dining/sitting room with sofa-bed, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

The Garden Cafe
The Garden Cafe offers a buffet breakfast, a-la-carte lunch and casual indoor as well as patio dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (112)

Ratings and reviews for The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Sep 29, 2009

couples retreat

* relaxed & sightsee * more activities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The bus stops right in front of hotel which will take you to most parts of the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weekend Vacation-er
Business
NYC
Sep 14, 2009

MIXED FEELINGS

The hotel is NOT on the beach. It is across the street from the beach. Our room was MOLDY, our sheets smelled horrible, in fact we had to use towels as sheets b.c of fear of mold. we complained to the front desk and were not moved. The pool is great as is the staff. The DJ is awesome! the hotel parties are wonderful. The drinks are good, but don't count on heavy alcohol content. I loved the hotel but our room was horrible. The view from our room was brown grass, it looked awful. I guess you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus to the downtown area, it's right across the street from the hotel. A cab to the hotel from the airport costs 25USD. You can also take the bus to the hotel. Must try restaurant: old fisherman's (by the bus depot downtown, aruba).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emilie
Business
New York
Sep 13, 2009

Good hotel /price but no activities

We rent a car to see all the island has to give. The trips managed by the hotel were expensives. The activities were not as discibed on their website because not enough people was there. The happy hour is the only activity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The fontain cave !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robbintoo
Business
Yonkers, NY
Aug 15, 2009

Alot for a little

Although the front entrance is nothing to speak of, you are very pleasantly surprised when you enter and see the beautiful, large pool area. There are two large irregularly shaped pools surrounded by the 2 story units, palm trees, and thatched umbrellas that fit 3 lounges underneath. The bar is poolside as is the restaurant. There are 3 sizes of rooms. The "smallest" has a whirlpool tub between the room and bath area. The middle sized room is larger and has an additional sofabed instead of the tub. All 3 sizes are adjoining to allow combinations of different size units. The largest has a kitchenette. All have a small refrigerator. The only problems we had with the rooms were minor. We had a leak in the bedroom of one room, there was a problem with the satellite tv (not the hotel's fault), and the knobs in the bathroom sink were very hard to turn. This was balanced by the whirlpool tub and the large double sink.While the mattresses are not great,we slept very comfortably. The location of the hotel is very convenient. It is midway between the large hotel area and the small hotel area. The Westin hotel is across the street and the "Mill beach" adjoins it. It is a short walk to the beach(around the Westin), or the hotel has a beach shuttle which will drive you there whenever you like. It is about a 3 block walk to the main restaurant and boutique area. There is also a bus stop right outside the back entrance of the hotel. The ride into the downtown area is about 10-15 minutes and is very reasonable. The bus is $1.30 one way or $2.30 round trip.There are buses that go to just about all the tourist sights and beaches. Renting a car is more convenient, but not really necessary. While we were there, we toured the island, which we found very interesting. You get a much better perspective of what the island is like than by just staying in the hotel area or seeing only beaches. We took the Atlantis submarine and loved it. It is on the expensive side, but well worth the cost. We went down 137 feet and saw ocean life that we would never get to see otherwise. Put that on the top of your "must do" list. There are many other interesting tours if you like to keep active. We spent 1 1/2 days in town which has great shopping. There are a few malls (one, the Renaissance)is very high end with many designer shops. It also has the best casino we went into with MANY slot machines and table games. Most of the slots were penny machines, but you have to put in about $1.80-$2.50 a shot to win the big prizes.We found the atmosphere to be much more fun than the hotel casinos. We spent the rest of the time either around the pool or at the beach. ONE CAVEAT....try to determine if the hotel has a promotion for the locals on the weekend. We came on a Monday and from Monday through Wednesday the pool was totally tranquil. On Thursday, when the promotion started, the hotel was loaded with children who took over the pool area for the next 3 days. There was so much yelling, running around and carrying on that it made it impossible for the adults to have any peace. Adults are supposed to supervise their children, bur few did. This was the one big negative of the week. If you are not planning to spend much time around the pool, this will be a non-issue, but if you want to relax, it will be very difficult. I do want to emphasize that this may not happen if there is no cut price promotion going on. Restaurants in the area and in town are quite expensive. We checked out many menus. The appetizers ran between $10-15 each and entrees were typically in the $20s and up. Desserts ran about $6.50-7.50. The restaurant at The Mill was the best and most reasonable of all we tried. The only problem is that many of the items on the menu have been cut out due to the fact that it was a slow time. The only thing we would have like is more to do in the evening. We did not go into the larger hotels, but in the hotel area and in town "entertainment" consisted mostly of...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't waste time going to Baby Beach. It is not as pretty as some of the other beaches, even though it is touted as a great beach. Very little shade, pay toilets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single girls who had a great vacation
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Aug 4, 2009

Adequate accomodations!

This was my second trip to the island, my first trip in 2005 and my 2nd trip in July '09. Previously I had stayed at the Hyatt and choose The Mill this trip due to budget reasons. I found the hotel to be clean although not as fancy as others which is what I expected. [...] at the front desk, was very helpful and friendly. I didn't charge anything to the room due to opinions I had read prior to my vacation so I didn't have any problems with incorrect charges. Upon my earlier than check in arrival, our room was ready, unfortunately that room had only one king bed and we needed two double beds. That was corrected immediately and the new room was also ready. Our room was located on the side of the property facing the Westin on the first floor with patio access to the grassy area by the pool. The furnishings and tile in the bathroom were a little outdated but it was clean and the cleaning staff came each day in a timely manner to perform their cleaning duties which left the room with a nice citrus scent each day. The air conditioning worked great, as a matter of fact I had to use 3 blankets to accomodate my friend's need to stay cool! I didn't experience any problems with bugs as noted by other travelers opinions. My complaints are: the shower pressure was not the best,the towels not the fluffiest(no washcloths available, only hand towels), refrigerator wasn't that cold even on lowest setting,the closet set up with 3 sliding doors made access difficult for both sides at the same time. The pool area was very quiet with no activites as noted on their website. It was always clean of any debris and water just the right temp to cool you off. The beach area was okay, a little crowded with chairs and people but no problem getting a chair in a sunny or shady spot and the shuttle service was timely. No big deal to us to be across the street from the beach. The buffet breakfast offered was overpriced, but we found that 2 bagels w/ cream cheese and 1 coffee @ $6.50 to be sufficient, plus we went grocery shopping at Super Food on Sunday open from 10-1 for our breakfast and lunch food. The hotel location couldn't be better to access downtown and low/high rise areas plus there is a bus stop close. The bus was $2.30 for a round trip, $1.3 for one way and not normal to wait more than 10-15 mins for pickup. A taxi to downtown I think was around $12. I would definitely stay at The Mill again. The concierge was helpful with info reagrding the island and bus routes, the mini mart in the hotel was not overpriced and had most of the things you may have forgot to pack, and the rental car desk clerk got an economy car for us without any reservation for a reasonable price which we were able to drop off at the airport for a small charge the day of our departure. If you are expecting a 5 star resort this is not it, but if you are looking for adequate accomodations with easy access to the island this is your spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin Pennsylvania
Aug 3, 2009

Very friendly and homey

The hotel was nice but being single too many kids around. I would have preferred if they would have paid attention where they put the families and the single people. I believe if I go back I will stay in a different hotel. It had a very friendly staff but no room service and I had a child that screamed every morning. I am single!!! The staff was excellent!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Be aware that taxi's are very expensive in Aruba and be prepared to bring extra money. Dining was great except for one restraraunt The Mirandi the atomsphere was awesome but the food not so good and very pricey also the cab ride is very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Jul 25, 2009

Fine for a couple of nights

We stayed here for 2 nights before checking into our timeshare. This was very adequate for the purpose. Rooms clean and good size. Liked that it was across the street from the bird sanctuary[Bublai Plas] for anyone interested in birds and a 2 minute walk to the Butterfly Farm. Pool was nice. Beach was 5 minute walk and not the cleanest-there was trash and beer bottles on beach. Restaurant was mediocre at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Logo Kid
Business
Michigan
Jun 29, 2009

Great location for the price!

This is our second stay at the Mlll. We like the rooms and location to the other high-rise hotels and all the shops located nearby. Parking at the Mill was not a problem. The staff treated us very well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Madame Janette's is an excellent place to dine: delicious food & excellent service!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Mill
Business
Holland, MI
Jun 23, 2009

WOW, GREAT PLACE TO STAY!!!

It was great!!! We had a lot of fun playing Bingo, and getting free drinks :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Buy your own food for breakfast and lunch, and have fun at the restaurants at night!!! This was the best part of our vacation.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G and A Honeymooners
Business
Houston, Tx, USA
Jun 23, 2009

Needs A Little More.....

The Mill Resort is a budget type of establishment. It appeared to be a cool place to stay but once you get there the trademark "Mill" restaurant in the front of the hotel is closed and somewhat run down. The "Mill" looked like it had been a nice little gift shop/restaurant/attraction spot but went out of business some years back and is now just an eye sore. I dont want to run this place into the ground, but the stay was mediocre. There was a DJ poolside but the guests were not excited at all. the mood of the hotel was drab at best. I will say that it was a clean establishment and the iguanas were neat to see walking around the pool area. If you want to have more of a modern and luxury type stay, you'll want to save just a little more money and stay at one of the nicer beachfront hotels. My wife and I will probably not stay there again. we didnt hate it, but when we saw the other hotels and what they had to offer, it was an easy decision for our next trip. We stayed 5 days and 4 nights. The Mill Resort is a good spot for rowdy teenagers out of high school or young broke college students looking to party on a budget to stay. I say this because this is the type of crowd that will bring life into this establishment. Everybody has their own experience, this was ours. (Honeymooners from Houston,TX)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Do your research on the tours that are offered. Our hotel offered one that was for a partial day that only took you by Jeep around the island for about $95 per person. We shopped around and found the same deal but it was all day and included more sights, snorkeling, and a meal with drinks throughout the day for $89 a person. And the tour guide was a blast! Pay attention to what is available!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top