$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 12, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

3 stars
View map of J.E. Irausquin Blvd #330, Palm Beach, Aruba,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
124 out of 124
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
caribbeansunset
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 26, 2010

Has gone downhill

Initially, the bathroom was smaller than a closet. Our "view" was the roof from a sliding glass window. I prefer to have a cup of coffee and read my book & plan my day in the morning by sitting outdoors. This was not possible. We asked for and got a room change. The new room had tiny ants in the kitchen and the microwave kept blowing the circuit in the whole kitchen so they removed the microwave. When we went to have breakfast, we were told that we were required to have on our bracelets. Really? Plastic annoying bracelets for the entire 7 day trip? It's not an all-inclusive resort, and non-guests were permitted to have breakfast, and we weren't requesting to charge anything to our room. Our money spends everywhere on the island, so we went elsewhere for breakfast. When checking out, I informed them of their ridiculous bracelet policy, especially for breakfast. I was informed that their policy is that guests are to wear bracelets at all times. These bracelets are not removable until you cut them off. Who wants their vacation pictures to contain those stupid bracelets. The maintenance staff and housekeeping were very nice. The staff at the front desk were friendly and cooperative and willing to resolve issues. When checking out, allow for extra time. It seems there is a lot of confusion at the desk at check out time. This was my 3rd stay at this hotel in 3 years. It has gone downhill each year, and I will not be staying there for my next trip to Aruba. I guess I just expected more as a repeat customer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

ABC Adventures offers a Jeep Tour of the Island. What a fantastic 8 hour day we spent touring and learning about the island. Our tour guide was awesome. At the end of the tour, he took us to his family's fish market so we could see how the locals live. What a great time we had. Also, the waterpark near the Divi was a lot of fun. It looks like it was closed, but it wasn't. The park had so few people in it, we were able to walk up to and get on every slide.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RED40
Business
Baltimore, Maryland
Jan 12, 2010

Not designed for adults

Beautiful pool area. Guests are young, down to age 3, If you want to converse in English with the other guests; forget it. Many tweens, with and without parents. If you a Gay single male forget that as well.Nice staff, but everything costs you. U.S. phone service is so expensive you really need to call collect. They encourqge it. Your cell phone should work great if you are willing to spend hundreds of dollars to make a few phone calls daily including checking voicemail.Cab to airport will cost $30.00 each way. A beer at $ 5.00 apiece. The Europeans are very well behaved and cluster to each other, probably because of language and culture. Your not going to start a conversation with the Swede, Dutch, Spanish or Columbian family next to you. They keep to their own. Additionally, Idon't think they speak English.The rooms are nice and have really nice Euro bathrooms which are large.Activities are geard to kids and the really dull.. The rooms have full kitchens but the hotel makes sure you do not have a food market anywhere near the hotel zone. You have to drive downtown to get to a market. Which means you have to get a car. You can take a bus, but try that with groceries. A quarter mile to get to good restaurants and shopping is O.K. And you get to sightsee, mostly of more expensive hotels. And getting out of Aruba is pure Hell..It will take 3 hours or more and you and your luggage is checked a half dozen times over. That is of course when TSA shows up, which is not a sure bet at least when the airport says there supposed to be there. So you wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a car for a least shopping..Otherwise you are at the mercy of the Hotel. And unless you plan on eating at the same Garden Cafe restaurant every night and no shopping your skrewed. And if you are a Gay person this is not the Hotel for you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jonesboro, GA
Nov 9, 2009

You get, what you pay for...

fair...the staff and visitors were friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

purchase all-inclusives.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
captew
Business
southern NH
Oct 12, 2009

Mill Resort is a non resort

stayed at Westin across the street for 5 nights prior, but this place is a zoo. Music by the pool blaring until 10:00 pm so coud not sleep or hear the TV. Police came at 9:30 to break up a fight near the pool. Beds have no box spring just thin mattress. Lizard in room on wall, a real one. Staff was nice. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Aqua Grille is a phenomenal experience. Best food we had all week form all over the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 1, 2009

Avg.. but Enrique, the bartender, rocks!

It was a good hotel. Definitely good service for the price. We didn't expect a 5-star gig so it was fine. In general customer service in Aruba was not that great and this hotel was no exception. However, the Colombian bartender, Enrique, was amazing. He helped us find the cool places to go to, and would keep us entertained during a short breaks at the bar. He introduced us to a small group of guests staying from Venezuela so we were able to make nice friends that we are still in touch with. The Internet fee at the hotel is a bit of a rip off but I guess one's not there to be on the computer. Also, the beach is not as close as one would think but they have a shuttle and it is within walking distance. Also, they're late night snacks--sandwiches--are horrible. Make sure to buy things at the supermarket if you have a car, or get it from the hotel store before it closes. Otherwise, you'll come back to your hotel at 4am after partying and you have nothing to munch on. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CT
Sep 29, 2009

couples retreat

* relaxed & sightsee * more activities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The bus stops right in front of hotel which will take you to most parts of the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weekend Vacation-er
Business
NYC
Sep 14, 2009

MIXED FEELINGS

The hotel is NOT on the beach. It is across the street from the beach. Our room was MOLDY, our sheets smelled horrible, in fact we had to use towels as sheets b.c of fear of mold. we complained to the front desk and were not moved. The pool is great as is the staff. The DJ is awesome! the hotel parties are wonderful. The drinks are good, but don't count on heavy alcohol content. I loved the hotel but our room was horrible. The view from our room was brown grass, it looked awful. I guess you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus to the downtown area, it's right across the street from the hotel. A cab to the hotel from the airport costs 25USD. You can also take the bus to the hotel. Must try restaurant: old fisherman's (by the bus depot downtown, aruba).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emilie
Business
New York
Sep 13, 2009

Good hotel /price but no activities

We rent a car to see all the island has to give. The trips managed by the hotel were expensives. The activities were not as discibed on their website because not enough people was there. The happy hour is the only activity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The fontain cave !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emilie
Business
New York
Sep 13, 2009

Good hotel /price but no activities

We rent a car to see all the island has to give. The trips managed by the hotel were expensives. The activities were not as discibed on their website because not enough people was there. The happy hour is the only activity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The fontain cave !

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Robbintoo
Business
Yonkers, NY
Aug 15, 2009

Alot for a little

Although the front entrance is nothing to speak of, you are very pleasantly surprised when you enter and see the beautiful, large pool area. There are two large irregularly shaped pools surrounded by the 2 story units, palm trees, and thatched umbrellas that fit 3 lounges underneath. The bar is poolside as is the restaurant. There are 3 sizes of rooms. The "smallest" has a whirlpool tub between the room and bath area. The middle sized room is larger and has an additional sofabed instead of the tub. All 3 sizes are adjoining to allow combinations of different size units. The largest has a kitchenette. All have a small refrigerator. The only problems we had with the rooms were minor. We had a leak in the bedroom of one room, there was a problem with the satellite tv (not the hotel's fault), and the knobs in the bathroom sink were very hard to turn. This was balanced by the whirlpool tub and the large double sink.While the mattresses are not great,we slept very comfortably. The location of the hotel is very convenient. It is midway between the large hotel area and the small hotel area. The Westin hotel is across the street and the "Mill beach" adjoins it. It is a short walk to the beach(around the Westin), or the hotel has a beach shuttle which will drive you there whenever you like. It is about a 3 block walk to the main restaurant and boutique area. There is also a bus stop right outside the back entrance of the hotel. The ride into the downtown area is about 10-15 minutes and is very reasonable. The bus is $1.30 one way or $2.30 round trip.There are buses that go to just about all the tourist sights and beaches. Renting a car is more convenient, but not really necessary. While we were there, we toured the island, which we found very interesting. You get a much better perspective of what the island is like than by just staying in the hotel area or seeing only beaches. We took the Atlantis submarine and loved it. It is on the expensive side, but well worth the cost. We went down 137 feet and saw ocean life that we would never get to see otherwise. Put that on the top of your "must do" list. There are many other interesting tours if you like to keep active. We spent 1 1/2 days in town which has great shopping. There are a few malls (one, the Renaissance)is very high end with many designer shops. It also has the best casino we went into with MANY slot machines and table games. Most of the slots were penny machines, but you have to put in about $1.80-$2.50 a shot to win the big prizes.We found the atmosphere to be much more fun than the hotel casinos. We spent the rest of the time either around the pool or at the beach. ONE CAVEAT....try to determine if the hotel has a promotion for the locals on the weekend. We came on a Monday and from Monday through Wednesday the pool was totally tranquil. On Thursday, when the promotion started, the hotel was loaded with children who took over the pool area for the next 3 days. There was so much yelling, running around and carrying on that it made it impossible for the adults to have any peace. Adults are supposed to supervise their children, bur few did. This was the one big negative of the week. If you are not planning to spend much time around the pool, this will be a non-issue, but if you want to relax, it will be very difficult. I do want to emphasize that this may not happen if there is no cut price promotion going on. Restaurants in the area and in town are quite expensive. We checked out many menus. The appetizers ran between $10-15 each and entrees were typically in the $20s and up. Desserts ran about $6.50-7.50. The restaurant at The Mill was the best and most reasonable of all we tried. The only problem is that many of the items on the menu have been cut out due to the fact that it was a slow time. The only thing we would have like is more to do in the evening. We did not go into the larger hotels, but in the hotel area and in town "entertainment" consisted mostly of...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't waste time going to Baby Beach. It is not as pretty as some of the other beaches, even though it is touted as a great beach. Very little shade, pay toilets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top