The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

3 stars
J.E. Irausquin Blvd #330, Palm Beach, Aruba,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
176 reviews
a wonderful friendly place

I have nothing negative to say. I was perfect in every way. Will return next year See full review

  • Curt H.
  • Mar 5, 2013
The Mill Resort

Small ,clean , accommodating, nice and relaxing most of the time very quiet - peaceful , no large... See full review

  • Randy C
  • May 10, 2013
Dutch-inspired Palm Beach budget hotel with two pools, fitness center
Enjoy shuttle service to and from Palm Beach, which is right across the street from the charming low-rise Mill Resort & Suites Aruba. Architecture is Dutch-inspired, as there is even a windmill. Every room or suite has a view of the tropical gardens. Family-friendly to a point (no kids are allowed in the "Royal rooms"), the Mill Resort has activities just for a kids, and a designated playground for little ones, along with two freely flowing fresh water pools.
Highlights
  • Beach located right across the street
  • Spacious studios and suites in a low-rise Dutch-inspired setting
  • Restaurant, bar and free shuttle to and from Mill Beach
  • Spa and fitness center
  • Two outdoor freshwater pools
Rooms

The hotel features spacious rooms and suites with tropical decor and modern amenities like cable TV, radio, safety deposit box, coffeemaker and iron/ ironing board. Some units have full kitchen. All rooms and suites are non-smoking.

Recreation
Romping is encouraged at the playground for kids, and the whole family (or just adults) may participate in daily activities. Two freshwater pools wind around the hotel like a natural body of water would. A spa and fitness center provide pampering and a spot to work out on-site. A shuttle provides transportation to Palm Beach, right across the street from the Mill Resort & Suites Aruba, where guests can find towels and lounge chairs. The concierge can help arrange activities spanning the island.
Transportation
  • Shuttle service to and from beach
  • Queen Beatrix International Airport (9 mi/14 km)
Attractions
  • Pedernalis (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Bubali Bird Sanctuary (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Red Sail Sports Aruba (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Meeting room on-site
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available poolside and in the lobby
Policies and fees

The minimum check-in age at the resort is 21.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba Rooms

Studio
Studio features: One king size bed, (some with sofa bed), bathroom with shower, full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, dining/sitting area.
Supersaver
Supersaver features: A run-of-the-house room with queen-size bed, bathroom with shower, mini-refrigerator and coffee maker.
JR Suite
JR Suite features: one king size bed or two double beds, bathroom with shower/tub, kitchenette, stove, mini-fridge, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.
Two Bedroom Suite
Two Bedroom Suite features: three king beds or two king bed and two double beds, two bathrooms, full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, dining/sitting room with sofa-bed, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.
Royal
Royal features: one king size bed, large roman tub and a separate shower, mini-fridge, coffee maker, sitting area, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.
One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite features: two king size beds, two bathrooms, full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, dining/sitting room with sofa-bed, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

12.5645 -70.0469
Area served
Palm Beach, Aruba
Nearby airports
Queen Beatrix International Airport (AUA) Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 9 miles (14 km.)
Area description
Complimentary beach shuttle service provided to the hotel's beach facilities across the street, so guests can enjoy a wide array of water sports, from swimming and snorkeling to sailing and windsurfing. Kids can chase waves, build a sandcastle, or burn off energy in the hotel's own playground and kids club. Also at the hotel itself are two outdoor pools.

Dining

The Garden Cafe
The Garden Cafe offers a buffet breakfast, a-la-carte lunch and casual indoor as well as patio dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seaglass
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 30, 2012

needed 1 night

The mill was perfect for what we needed, 1 night stay the day before our timeshare was available. The location was awesome, very short walk to the shops and restaurants of the high rise area. This property has an excellent pool, comfortable rooms and a great managers party on the night (thursday) of our stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great value for the $$$. made for an extra day on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk the half mile to the shops and dining of the High rise strip. everything you need without the cab fare.

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. Larson
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

The Mill is Awful

I have just returned from a two week stay at The Mill. This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. The rooms were filthy. There were bugs everywhere. The front desk staff was of no help with problems. The resort was under construction in several areas. Dust and noise were the norm. The housekeeping staff must have used the same dirty water to mop every room in the resort and my room had an offensive odor after each housekeeping visit. The booking included a $25.00 food and beverage credit. The resort did not honor it, saying that I had been misled. You'd be better off sleeping on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PRuta
Toronto, ON, Canada
Mar 14, 2012

Our Stay

My husband and I came to Aruba to live the "One Happy Island" modo. We decided to stay at The Mill Resort as it looked like a nice place and a great location. As we arrived, the staff seemed nice as they greeted us graciously. After our first night, our room did not get cleaned, our keys to our room expired and the staff at the "resort" restaurant seemed like the only thing they wanted was our money. They weren't welcoming or polite. We quickly left The Mill and stayed at another location in the same area which we were much happier with as they exceeded expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Casual Couple
Dover, NH
Feb 9, 2012

Perfect for casual comfort

It was recommended by a friend so we knew we would pay less for our accommodations simply because you had to walk across the street to the beach; and that was fine w/us. We saw the fancier, more expensive high rises and were pleased with everything at the Mill. We would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PapaDoc
Charlotte, NC, USA
Feb 6, 2012

OK Hotel

This hotel was ok; I stayed for a wedding across the street at the Westin. The outdoor amenities are reasonable (pool, bar, restaurant, tennis courts). My room wasn't that great. The shower water was not consistently hot. I couldn't control the thermostat for air conditioning, which landed directly on top fo the bed. A little bit of mold in the tile grout as well. There's a charge for WIFI if you need it. And they have funny policies regarding towels for the pool, and excessive charges if you lose your pool card. If you're only using the room to shower and sleep, you can get away with it. But be mindful it may not be that clean or user friendly. I'm not sure if I go back I would stay here again. I would probably shell out the cash and stay across the street at a nicer hotel for $50-$100 more per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

When using the taxi's, try not to put bags in the trunk because they charge you extra. Just keep them in the seat next to you. If you do use a tax, put as many people in at once as it'll save you money.

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Clag
Wilmington, OH 45177, USA
Feb 1, 2012

More Bang for the Buck

The Mill Resort is located across the street from The Westin Hotel on Palm Beach in Aruba. It is a small friendly complex of about 200 rooms. It is nothing fancy, but the rooms and grounds are kept clean. It is within walking distance of many casinos, restaurants, and Palm Beach. I stayed for three weeks for the price of one week at the more exclusive high rise hotels. Since I spent all of my time at the pool, the beach, and the casinos at night...a luxurious room to sleep in was not a priority. If you are on a restricted budget, The Mill is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Da Vinci's restaurant "early bird special". They have the best grouper.

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dhc529
Indiana, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Inexpensive Possibility With a Great Pool

The Mill Resorts is a relatively inexpensive, older, non-inclusive resort where you will have to pay more for the extras: internet, lost towels, etc. Located 5-minutes walking to Palm Beach and ~$25 taxi ride from the airport. The pool is very relaxing and beautiful and the bar closes at 10:30. Pros: Location to Palm Beach, Price, Pool, Cold Room, Family Friendly Cons: Somewhat dated, no free wireless, scared of losing deposit over nothing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Within ten minute walk from hotel is a strip for nightlife, albeit the same you would find in America.

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MAIN MAN
LYNBROOK, NY
Dec 16, 2011

ENJOYABLE

this is the 10Th time I've stayed here- good value, clean, & good location. pleasant week in Aruba. SJS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

SWISSE CHALET RESTAURANT

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ms. trisha
NJ
Dec 13, 2011

Update in computer age!

Check-in and check-out are slow as the dickins! Location and price made it worth the wait.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aruba Traveler
Long Island, New York, USA
Dec 13, 2011

Worth It but Could Improve

I've stayed here many times and have seen much of the staff turn over, especially the front desk. What hasn't changed is their inability to check anyone in in less than a half hour............. in fact, when they seem to no longer need help, they are replaced. This year, we started with one person who needed help immediately and the both of them needed help from a supervisor. Everything that needed to get printede resulted in a trip behind a wall and a 2-3 minute wait. Being assigned a first floor room near the driveway entrance and facing the road, I assumed they expected me to act as security or the place must be full. I asked if any inside room was available and it took at least 5 miunutes to get a "no" after 2 yes's. The room was OK, the pool was nice, everyone except reception was competent and friendly. The value was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Comne toi Check-In with patience.

Back to menu Return to top