$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

3 stars
J.E. Irausquin Blvd #330, Palm Beach, Aruba,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
109 reviews
Good value hotel

This is actually a resort that doubles as a hotel. It had a spacious room, very clean and well kept... See full review

  • jdiazmunoz
  • Aug 25, 2014
The Mill Resort

Small ,clean , accommodating, nice and relaxing most of the time very quiet - peaceful , no large... See full review

  • Randy C
  • May 10, 2013
Dutch-inspired Palm Beach budget hotel with two pools, fitness center
Enjoy shuttle service to and from Palm Beach, which is right across the street from the charming low-rise Mill Resort & Suites Aruba. Architecture is Dutch-inspired, as there is even a windmill. Every room or suite has a view of the tropical gardens. Family-friendly to a point (no kids are allowed in the "Royal rooms"), the Mill Resort has activities just for a kids, and a designated playground for little ones, along with two freely flowing fresh water pools.
Highlights
  • Beach located right across the street
  • Spacious studios and suites in a low-rise Dutch-inspired setting
  • Restaurant, bar and free shuttle to and from Mill Beach
  • Spa and fitness center
  • Two outdoor freshwater pools
Rooms

The hotel features spacious rooms and suites with tropical decor and modern amenities like cable TV, radio, safety deposit box, coffeemaker and iron/ ironing board. Some units have full kitchen. All rooms and suites are non-smoking.

Recreation
Romping is encouraged at the playground for kids, and the whole family (or just adults) may participate in daily activities. Two freshwater pools wind around the hotel like a natural body of water would. A spa and fitness center provide pampering and a spot to work out on-site. A shuttle provides transportation to Palm Beach, right across the street from the Mill Resort & Suites Aruba, where guests can find towels and lounge chairs. The concierge can help arrange activities spanning the island.
Transportation
  • Shuttle service to and from beach
  • Queen Beatrix International Airport (9 mi/14 km)
Attractions
  • Pedernalis (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Bubali Bird Sanctuary (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Red Sail Sports Aruba (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Meeting room on-site
  • Wi-Fi Internet access available poolside and in the lobby
Policies and fees

The minimum check-in age at the resort is 21.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

12.5645 -70.0469
Area served
Palm Beach, Aruba
Nearby airports
Queen Beatrix International Airport (AUA) Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 9 miles (14 km.)
Area description
Complimentary beach shuttle service provided to the hotel's beach facilities across the street, so guests can enjoy a wide array of water sports, from swimming and snorkeling to sailing and windsurfing. Kids can chase waves, build a sandcastle, or burn off energy in the hotel's own playground and kids club. Also at the hotel itself are two outdoor pools.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba Rooms

Studio
Studio features: One king size bed, (some with sofa bed), bathroom with shower, full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, dining/sitting area.
Supersaver
Supersaver features: A run-of-the-house room with queen-size bed, bathroom with shower, mini-refrigerator and coffee maker.
JR Suite
JR Suite features: one king size bed or two double beds, bathroom with shower/tub, kitchenette, stove, mini-fridge, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.
Two Bedroom Suite
Two Bedroom Suite features: three king beds or two king bed and two double beds, two bathrooms, full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, dining/sitting room with sofa-bed, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.
Royal
Royal features: one king size bed, large roman tub and a separate shower, mini-fridge, coffee maker, sitting area, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.
One Bedroom Suite
One Bedroom Suite features: two king size beds, two bathrooms, full kitchen, stove, refrigerator, coffee maker, toaster, blender, microwave, dining/sitting room with sofa-bed, ground-floor patio or first-floor terrace.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

The Garden Cafe
The Garden Cafe offers a buffet breakfast, a-la-carte lunch and casual indoor as well as patio dining.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Apr 23, 2009

Great deal

Having the kitchenette was very nice b/c we didn't have to waste money on breakfast and lunch. Convenient location - walking distance to high rise area, restaurants and a short walk to the beach. Definitely not a "luxury" resort but for the price, you can't beat it!Rooms were clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend eating at Wacky Wahoo's -easily the best meal we had in Aruba.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Apr 22, 2009

we cancelled this room and stayed at the

We arrived for checkin and had to wait an hour. Then we were "taken" to the just cleaned room, that was filled with flies, bugs, and an apparent "clorox" scrubdown that made your nose feel like you had been kidnapped by the mafia.....dead bugs in the windows...sheets on the bed looked like sheets you cover bushes with to prevent frost.....Oh, oh, oh....the best thing was the bathroom that looked filthy and in desperate need of a silkwood scrubdown.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Italian restaurant at the California Lighthouse.....somehow, that always makes things perfect while in Aruba....

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Nov 15, 2008

Beautiful resort

The Mill is a good hotel at a great price. The rooms are in need up updating, but other than that it is a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street from the beach

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 2, 2008

Value and Location

This hotel is just behind the main beachfront hotels, but about half the price of the big name hotels, so a really nice value for the money. Our room came with a kitchen with refrigerator, microwave,coffeemaker, et cetera, so it was really easy to save $ by eating some meals or breakfast in the room. The staff was friendly and competent, nice convenience store for small necessities onsite. There's a knowledgeable concierge, free shuttle bus to the beaches, and a poolside bar.Parking was plentiful and free. The room is pleasant, not luxurious, but perfectly adequate for a vacation. The internet was not working during our stay, but there were hurricanes elsewhere in the Caribbean; the front desk was very gracious about giving us an immediate refund for the cost.Overall, great value and convenience, if seeing Aruba is more important to you than a luxurious hotel. Nice choice for a family with kids, also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

This is a very convenient location, right behind the Westin, and a 5-minute drive from beaches , shopping and nightlife areas. It's about a 10-minute drive into downtown Oranjestaad. Only a 5-minute walk to the Butterfly Farm.

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Webster
Sep 2, 2008

Lovely pool, resort loud at night

The Mill Resort, had a lovely welcoming pool, and all the staff were very freindly. It was very nice that most of the staff could speek many different lanauges. Althugh it was not right on the beach it was very close and Staff were very willing to drive us to the beach and porvide us with chairs in the shade. The room was a good size,with good kitchen supplies however parts were not very clean, the ceiling. sheets and bathroom. The bathroom in the B rooms was very small, and in need of repair. The sleeper couch was brooken and my daughter had to sleep side ways. We did ask for better cleaning of the room after seeing the sheets and bedspread, but we should of asked for a better overall room, because of the couch and bathroom, but hind sight is 20/20. Don't even think of staying here if you like to go to bed early, the rooms beside and above us came to life, loud talking and moving arround at about 11:00pm to 2:00am. The night of the local dance Friday night at the resort there was a big fight outside our room at about 2:00 and it took staff a while to get it under control. The location was good for getting a bus downtown or for a walk to the beach or resurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dollard Des Ormeaux, QC
Jul 27, 2008

Good value for your money!

The Mill Resort in Aruba is a good option! I did not want to spend a lot of money on this vacation and I opted for this hotel; For what we paid I am very satisfied. The studio was spacious and had every amenities; the pool area was nice with lots of lounge chairs free of charge; there is a free shuttle to the beach; the restaurant is more a snack bar but still it offers a quick meal at a fairly reasonnable price and the hotel has a bar and dancing during the week. The staff at the front desk was not always friendly and at times it seems we were disturbing them when asking questions. On the other hand the excursion desk' staff, the car rental people and the time share people were very nice. The location is good since it is located in the 'high rise hotels' row although the Mill Resort is not a high rise - it has only two floors and the one elevator that I saw what out of service which might be a problem for someone with limited mobility specially on the day of arrival since no one was there to help with the suitcases. We rented a car for the whole week which made visiting the island easy but if you do not rent one you might feel a little bit isolated although the shuttle is offered to the beach. If you want to go anywhere else you have to rely on the bus. Parking is readily available for hotel guests and free of charge. We used the services of the Spa at the hotel and had to argue to get a 10% discount which is offered to the guests of the hotel. There is a small convenience store that offers souvenirs, sun tan lotions etc. but not much food items; since the rooms have a complete kitchen you really need to go to Oranjestad to buy the groceries whic are quite limited and somewhat pricey although less than I expected. We were travelling as a couple but I feel that it is a very good place for couples with children; the hotel offers a small pool for them, the atmosphere is friendly and they feel right at home and some nights the entertainment is geared to them. All in all, we would go back to the Mill Resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to have dinner at the restaurant 'LA TRATTORIA EL FARO BLANCO' It is located about 15 minutes away (by car) from the Mill Resort; it is a beautiful Italian Restaurant with a fantastic view of the island - since Aruba is a mostly flat island, the elevation of the restaurant is welcomed.

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Burlington, MA
Jul 15, 2008

Unhappy

We stayed at the Mill 4 years ago and we were satisfied, this last stay was terrible our room faced the dinning room and we could not sit on our patio without an audience. We will not stay at the Mill again. We asked to get our room changed and they said they would let us know when they had one availabe. We were there 7 nights and never heard from them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 5, 2008

Friendly Hotel

This is the only hotel we have ever stayed at in Aruba. We have returned every year to see the same staff year after year. This is a friendly hotel with a great atmosphere. My family and I shall return here every year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

At night we took walks down the beach to the different high rise hotels and had dinner and drinks.

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 19, 2008

best value on Palm Beach

This was my second stay at the Mill Resort. It definitely does not look like the other hotels on Palm Beach, but it's MUCH cheaper. I have looked at other area hotels during my visits to Aruba and to be honest, I prefer the Mill. It is small and quiet. The staff is friendly and you can always find room--and your friends--at the pool. Some of the other resorts are so huge. This one is easy to go in and out of your room to the beach or pool or where ever. I would recommend getting a garden view (not for the garden...there isn't one) because the pool area can be loud at night until 11:30 or so with music, etc. because that is where the bar is. The hotel isn't the most stylish, but it has everything you need and it's the best value around for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

best restaurants are on palm beach! try Texas de Brazil, Casa Tua, and Picallos at the Hyatt.

Review of The Mill Resort and Suites Aruba

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tikia
New York, NY
Mar 20, 2008

Too many kinks and not enough perks!

Several lights not working, knobs being broken, clothing drawers difficult to open, soap dispenser s running forever on empty--all began to add up. While one might say, well what do you expect from a no-name hotel, I think we actually paid a lot for relatively little. Yes, the pool was decent and I got a great massage (which one could get at several chain locations on the island), there was no jacuzzi (sigh) and the fitness room consisted of only 3 antiquated machines. If you have an open-mind, its definitely possible to enjoy yourself, but if less than mediocre is not your speed, bite the bullet and stay in one of the high-rises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pretty good location near the beach, shops and dining.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search