Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

4 stars
View map of L G Smith Boulevard 82, Aruba,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
252 reviews
Awesome

I and My husband stayed at the Reinassance hotel resort and casino. It was an absolute pleasure to... See full review

  • Jinesh P.
  • Jul 30, 2015
Great trip

Shopping, Casino, great drinks, beautiful view, great room and even better people. Won a little... See full review

  • shawn t
  • Jul 29, 2015
Boasting the only private beaches on Aruba, the Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino wows visitors to its tropical location with amazing views and onsite amenities. Guests can choose from two resort options, the Marina Hotel with Renaissance Mall for adults, or the family-oriented Ocean Suites. Located in the heart of Oranjestad, the Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino is also near many of the island's popular attractions. Wi-Fi access is available in public areas.

At Renaissance Aruba Resort, diners can choose from casual to fine dining experience at the seven restaurants on site. Guests can enjoy small plates at Blue, a tapas and martini bar, or peruse the dessert wine and port list at L.G. Smith's, an upscale steak house with a dress code (no jeans).  Sip a cup of coffee at the two Starbucks coffee bars or grab refreshments at the several bars and lounges.

For leisure, tourists can have secluded outdoor massages for couples at mangrove-hidden Spa Cove or be pampered with rejuvenating treatments , sauna and juice bar at Okeanos Spa. The Patamingo Kids Club has scheduled activities and baby-sitting service.
Rooms

The Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino has a number of room options, but all rooms have in-room coffee/tea service and Wi-Fi access. Room service is available during limited hours. Cable television, and pay-per view movies are also available (fees may apply). Many guest rooms offer ocean or marina views. Ocean suites come with microwave oven and wet bar.

Highlights
  • Private adult-only and family beaches only a short water taxi ride away
  • Located in downtown Oranjestad, close to the main shopping, dining and nightlife
  • Opt for the relaxed ambiance of the adults-only Marina Hotel or the family-friendly Ocean Suites
  • Many rooms feature stunning water views
Nearby attractions
  • Archaeological Museum (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Aruba Ostrich Farm (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Alto Vista Chapel (5.7 mi/9.4 km)
  • Philip's Animal Garden (5.7 mi/9.4 km)
  • California Lighthouse (8.2 mi/13.3 km)
  • Bushiribana Ruins (9.0 mi/14.5 km)
  • Arikok National Park (10.1 mi/16.2 km)
Policies

  • The hotel provides wired Internet access and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the rooms and in the lobby.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino also booked these hotels.

Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino Rooms

Ocean Suite
Includes Private Island Access - Located in the Renaissance Ocean Suites. These spacious one-bedroom suites offer a king bed, large bathroom, living room with queen sofa bed, microwave and coffeemaker, high-speed Internet access and balcony or patio. Maximum occupancy is 4.
Resort Double
Includes Private Island Access - Located in the adult exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel. Rooms feature two double beds, French balcony, high-speed Internet access, coffeemaker, and more. Maximum occupancy is 2.
Ocean King
Includes Private Island Access - Located in the adult exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel. All rooms offer a king bed, high-speed Internet access, coffeemaker, a French balcony and much more. Maximum occupancy is 2.
Executive Suites - Renaissance Marina Hotel Adult Excluisve
Includes Private Island Access - These Suites feature distinctive furnishings, a king bed, coffeemake, and a french balcony. Sitting area offers a sofa bed and elegantly appointed desk with high-speed internet access. Maximum occupancy 2 - adults only.
Island King
Includes Private Island Access - Located in the adult exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel. Each room features a king bed and French balcony, plus convenient amenities including high-speed Internet access and coffeemaker. Maximum occupancy is 2.
Island Suite
Includes Private Island Access - Located in the Renaissance Ocean Suites. These one-bedroom suites feature a king bed, spacious bathroom, and living room with queen sofa bed. Amenities include coffeemaker, high-speed Internet access and balcony or patio. Maximum occupancy is 4.
Resort King
Includes Private Island Access - Located in the adult exclusive Renaissance Marina Hotel. These guest rooms offer views of Oranjestad, or the hotel atrium with the unique water launch. Rooms feature one king bed, French balcony, high-speed Internet access, coffeemaker, and more. Maximum occupancy is 2.
Family Suites
Includes Private Island Access - Ocean Suites and Island Suites. Maximum 4 guests, includes up to 2 adults and 2 children under 12 only. Any additional guests outside these specifications will be moved to another room at an additional cost.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Casino
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Dining

L.G. Smith's Steak & Chop House
One of Aruba's top restaurants for wining and dining is located at the 2nd floor of the Renaissance Marina Hotel. This steak and chop house has an ultra modern decor and ambiance unparalleled in Aruba. This restaurant offers a menu of steak, veal and lamb with a selection of delectable desserts.
Captain's Corner
For a fresh, buffet-style breakfast, eat at Captain's Corner at the Renaissance Ocean Suites. The buffet features made-to-order omelets, pancakes, pastries and cereals, all of this in a location that looks out over the resort pool, beach and ocean.
Blue
In the lobby of the Renaissance Marina Hotel, BLUE serves your favorite frozen drinks, martinis, specialty mixed drinks and many other classics. BLUE also offers lunch and tapas items throughout the day.
The Lounge, Midnight Grill
Overlooking the Crystal Casino and adjacent to L.G. Smith's Steak and Chop house, the Lounge Midnight Grill offers an all-night light fare menu while enjoying live entertainment till sunrise.
Aquarius
Located adjacent to the lobby of the Renaissance Marina Hotel, Aquarius offers a casual fare in a relaxed setting. For breakfast, you can enjoy an extensive daily buffet featuring made-to-order omelets, pancakes, pastries, cereals and much more a la carte morning favorites. For lunch and dinner, buffet and a la carte, the restaurant features an amazing array of choices with a touch of Caribbean flavor including some wonderful seafood specialties.
Papagayo Bar & Grill
Papagayo Bar and Grill is located on Renaissance Island and is open-air so you can enjoy the sights of the beach and the sounds of the ocean. The menu includes finger food, island salads, sandwiches and specialty frozen drinks.
Sole
Located at the pool at the Renaissance Ocean Suites, Sole offers casual fare including burgers, steaks and shrimp. Enjoy one of the rum specialties while sitting at the swim up bar or a romantic cocktail while watching the sunset.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
4:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
252 out of 252
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Apr 22, 2009

Trip to Aruba - supposed to be.

The hotel was not as advertized. The Renaissance is definitely not luxury, not all inclusive, and not on the beach. Rooms were small and noisy open to the lobby. One restaurant and a small pool, practically in the lobby. Within an hour of arriving I cancelled the reservation (with long debates with ORbitz about refunds) and rebooked at the Riu Palace for my entire stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The snorkelling trip was awesome and hotel transfer critical for ARuba since there are no shuttles.

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jhoefler
Business
Houston, TX
May 31, 2010

We are not Fans of the Renaissance

If you are old, boring, and like to shop, then this is the hotel for you. If you are looking for the following: beaches, nightlife, fun, wrist-band with the all-inclusive package, activities, etc. - please try another hotel. This hotel is NOT on the beach…………..I repeat this hotel is not on the beach. Additionally, there are two separate hotel building that are about 0.5 miles apart (kind of a pain). This hotel offers an all-inclusive package. If you are interested in going to an all-inclusive hotel, you SHOULD NOT stay at this hotel. Less than 10% of people at this hotel are on the all-inclusive package; hence, if you go down this path at this hotel you will feel like somewhat of an outcast. 4-5 miles north of this resort is where you want to stay (tons of nice hotels, beautiful beaches, and nightlife). Since my post if very negative, I have decided to list the positive aspects of this hotel: the island is pretty cool (but it gets old after a couple of days), and the food is pretty good at this hotel. With disliked this hotel so much that we changed hotels about half way through our stay (Occidental - which we liked). Don't make the same mistake we made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, *
Aug 1, 2008

Dirty

Hotel was FILTHY and DISGUSTING and under construction. The "infinity pool" overlooks the main street. Bar and restaurant service is horrible. Pools are unkept and dirty. Maid service is a joke. I had to call twice each day to find out if my room would be cleaned (as it was not cleaned until 6pm most days and when it was "clean", this meant that sheets were straightened. Trash was not collected,counters were not wiped off, water was not provided nor were clean sheets the entire week.). The hotel food was horrible and over priced. The hotel pool bar was VERY understaffed (only one bartender for the actual swim up bar, she was very sweet but bad service). The concierge was very friendly and accommodating. She was the only good thing about this hotel. I will never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe NYC
Business
New York
Jun 29, 2009

Go to Aruba! Avoid this Hotel

We apid extra for "Ocean view" it was on the side of the front of the building over looking a pool that had loud music till 12:00/1:00 and the motorcycles racing up & down at night made sleep hard. The "Private Beach while beatiful was at the end of the Airports runway when planes took off the whole island shook... The Staff was great and the Island had all sorts of wild life but all the watersports they mentioned cost a lot more. The Casino was right out of the 60's and empty the restaurants were good and the service was good. The rooms were small dark and the bathroom dark, dirty and cramped. Aruba was great the people appreciate tourest and the Royal Market Place was fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Flying FishBone was the GREATEST you dine on the beach with your feet in the water. The food and service were amazing the wine list was good and a Cubian Cigar was the finishing touch. It was a $30. taxi fare but I would go back nighly not that I know about it.

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gmv29
Business
NY, NY
Apr 7, 2009

Renaissance- Not as great as we expected

The hotel took some getting used to. We were first assigned a marina room facing the atrium and it had absolutely no privacy so we paid for an upgrade which was beautiful but noisy because of the main road that passes right in front of the hotel. The lobby areas were gorgeous but this theme was not taken into the hotel rooms. Our first room smelled horrible and the bathrooms in all the rooms were not acceptable for the price the hotel charges. The beach was amazing until I heard several planes take off and land. The noise factor completely runied the idea of a private island. The hotel staff was not as friendly as other hotels. However, the location was nice because of the shopping and several restaurants in close proximity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Romance Package- there was a package offered for $250 for a couples massage and dinner at LG Smith Steak & Chop House. The massages were great and the dinner was amazing!!!!

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hurricane travelers
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Sep 1, 2011

Not sure what to think

We were there for a couple days bc of the hurricane. The staff was great... actually amazing, appearance was nice and upscale, but our room had flies or something in it that bit us. Also our pillows were not clean, floor had stuff on it, and bathroom was small. They had to beaches one was small and the other you had to take a 7 min boaf ride to get there. It was nice but planes fly very low at that point which makes it very noisey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wexford
Nov 30, 2008

My review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

The first night of our arrival at your hotel - we arrived around 7:00 and were tired after a long flight - in the middle of the night around 2:00 am the electricity went out causing the generator , thus the alarms to repeatedly try to kick on. They never did work but the alarms would go off repeatedly almost every half hour causing us to lose sleep all night. There was no electricity until the afternoon the next day. They had no flashlights so we could see in the bedroom to get our clothes out in the morning so we could at least get out to the beach to enjoy our day. THEY OFFERED US GLOWSTICKS. It took them until around 10:30 to bring over coffee from another hotel and drinks for us. We couldn't even use our coffe pot in the room. I will never stay at this hotel again. Very disappointed in the service . The Renaissance should never offer this as even a 3 star hotel with the level of service we were given. It was primarily a time share and individual rooms should never be sold to a guest expecting comfort for a 4 night stay. 1/4 of our vacation was ruined. THe rooms were also very must smelling as if there were water leak or mold somewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Sep 30, 2009

Great Location, Unprofessional Service

[...] We were supposed 2 $100 credit to casino, free breakfast everyday, and $50 in cocktails. We received 1 free breakfast. $50 credit in casino and no credit for cocktails.We also had to wait one hour and forty five minute to get into a room and on some days room service never even came. On the one day breakfast we did receive food was forgotten and cold by the time we got it. The hotel is beautiful, the pool and beach were amazing but I just felt overall disappointed and the staff was very unprofessional. I wouldn't go back to this resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The nightlife in Aruba happens only on Fridays and Saturdays. There are great clubs to go to in short walking distance. To do any fun outdoor event is really expensive however and the food is extremely expensive.

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Washington, Maryland
Jun 1, 2011

Bad Experie nce at a high price

We were told at the time of booking that we would have an oceanfront room, but found out that there are two Renaissance hotels. We were booked at the one that is not on the beach, even though pictures indicated beachfront. The hotel manager wanted to charge us $69 more a night to make the switch. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 23, 2009

Aruba Trip

Go to fitness center, pool, restaurants and casino. Front staff very nasty, service and hotel need some improvement. Our 2nd time to Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino the first time was better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Very good food and Happy Hour

Back to menu Return to top