$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2015 Check-out: Jul 16, 2015

Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

4 stars
View map of L G Smith Boulevard 82, Aruba,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
294 out of 294
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blonde Rapunzel
Baltimore, MD, USA
Dec 27, 2012

Mom & Daughter Vacation

This was my 2nd time at Renaissaince & I would stay again. I feel extremely safe & love the private island for swimming & sunbathing. Great location for center of town & the free shuttle is convenient that takes you across the street to Marketplace where many restaurants & shops & big casino is located. It's close enough to walk also. I stayed at Marina & wouldn't pay extra for Island View. That just puts you on the 5th or 6th floor and those rooms only have a King Size Bed. When I asked to switch cause my daughter & I wanted separate beds, there was no problem. Be sure to go over to their resort across the street for a lazy river, bigger pool & to experience the swim up pool bar! I would recommend doing an ATV tour to experience the island. Choose one that takes you to the Natural Pool as its an awesome ride & sight to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We really enjoyed Buster's Garage Restaurant & Bar for watching Football & grabbing some American football food.

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NPsRock
Business
Boise, ID
Sep 1, 2013

Great location

First impression was that the hotel was great. It was clean and modern. Location was spectacular in downtown Aruba. The staff is nice but they don't have that extra thing that makes you feel welcomed. We found out later that all costumer service was like that in Aruba. They are not rude but they don't go the extra mile to make you feel comfortable, which we found was very weird in a country that makes most of their money from the tourism industry. Anyway, the room was great until we took a shower. Everything was updated but the bathtub looked horrible. The next day we had to wait until after 4pm to be moved to another room, which was great. The food was ho hum and really expensive (but again, its like that everywhere we went) Overall, I would stay there again but if I was given an option probably choose to go to Mexico (the people and customer service are incredible)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuban's Cooking. Great food and mojito's! Would not recommend Carpe Diem. Very expensive. When we ordered our entree found out it doesn't come with side then. We were paying $28-$32 for the entree and our waitress didn't even lets us know, so we had just fish

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler teacher 2013
Business
McAllen Texas
Sep 1, 2013

Perfect Vacation

Loved it, friendly staff. Great suites. Loved the private island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Not a morning person
Business
Michigan
Jul 27, 2013

Ok Couples Vacation

I was not impressed with the Hotel because it was a little outdated. The rooms were too small and we could hear everything that was going on in the room next to us. The hotel was also undergoing construction therefore two days of our vacation was interrupted each morning around 8am with drilling and loud noise. The staff was friendly and nice and the food was great! Didn't appreciate loosing two days of relaxation to loud drilling noise. Spa and adult pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Like the many choices in resturants that were across the street. Prices are reasonable and food was great!!

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charitysmiles5
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Jul 16, 2013

Absolutely Wonderful

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last year. The atmosphere is perfect, and the private island is amazing. I love the location and the staff. I would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Aruba.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lafa
Business
Cypress Tx
Jul 13, 2013

Good trip

The entire staff was so helpful and friendly. The location was perfect. My biggest complaint is that no one prepared me for the extent of renovation happening at the hotel. We were actually moved from the 4th to the 2nd floor due to the overwhelming noise by construction crews above us. Not related to the hotel, but all the streets surrounding the hotel were all under construction and made walking around a little difficult. This will be a 4 star resort in a year or so......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The private island saved the week

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler teacher 2013
Business
McAllen Texas
Jun 27, 2013

Good for the value

I loved the private island offered with the hotel stay. I also loved the pool and the fact that it closes late. We had an awesome view from our suite. They only bad experience is when a pipe broke and we had no running water. I talked to someone in the reception area and they refused to compensate in anyway except for using the facilities to shower at the other hotel building the Marina Suites. I had to ask for the manager and she was nice enough to credit my account with some points to compensate for the inconvenience. Good thing we were checking out that day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alter
Business
Chicago
Jun 12, 2013

Great Location, cool place

Overall I'm very satisfied with this hotel. When I arrived they tried giving me a room with 2 twin beds instead of the 1 King I reserved because my room wasn't ready yet. They allowed me to switch rooms when it became available though. The building is really cool looking, the bar, etc all open to the outside and modern looking. I especially like the boat pickup which goes into the building to pick you up and take you to the private island ( the private island is the nicest, quietest beach I stayed at on Aruba and the boat ride there was fun) The bar staff was kind of slow and unresponsive, but thats an overall Aruba thing and not necessarily this hotel's problem. My only minor complaint is that they didn't open the craps table in the casino....due to staff issues, apparently. But it was a good time and came out ahead at blackjack. The bar tapas are pretty tasty and the buffet is very nice. I also booked a tour at the desk here which was great! The hotel is in a great location with lots of shopping, although the downtown area is undergoing some pretty extensive renovation. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
glasswiz
Business
Charlotte
Jun 5, 2013

Happy Island

Enjoyed the entire stay. The only issue was the water temperature in the shower would change considerablly while showering! Excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Must visit their private island. It is spectacular.

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Relaxing Couple
Business
Londonderry, NH
May 19, 2013

Incredible week!!!

My husband and I took this last minute vacation with the intention of just wanting to relax and do pretty much nothing. We first checked into the Marina portion and had an "okay" room with a nice view of the pool and the ocean. Dinner at LG Steak House was phenomenal as was breakfast the next morning at the Aquarius. However, everything started to fall apart in the afternoon when we heard construction drilling that pounded through our ceiling totally shattering the peace and tranquility. My husband called the front desk and received amazing service from Esmerelda who quickly moved us to an absolutely heaveny balcony room at the Ocean Suites side. The room and the view were both totally amazing and we were able to finish our week there getting the beautiful experience we were originally hoping for. Everything was perfect and we highly recommend this hotel to give you what they promise!! All of the staff were incredible - they were on their game at both locations and were all incredibly helpful and friendly at all times (one happy island personified!!!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay away from Capt. Cove Minimart - they are scalpers (go to Hong King supermarket instead), Beware of pricing - ask for what the U.S. price is!

Review of Renaissance Aruba Resort and Casino

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Misinformed Ruth
Business
Warren, Ohio
May 19, 2013

One Happy Island and One Happy Visitor

First I must say that this is my 5th stay at the Renaissance. My screen name does not reflect the review. They are in the process of remodeling the hotel rooms. Acutally you would not of even realized this unless you were in your room during the day (which why would you be, you are in Aruba) and there was hardly any noise level. I am looking forward to seeing the improvements. This hotel and staff are the best. Starting with the hostess Anushka at Aquarius in the evening to the desk person Dito and of course the waitress at Captain 's Corner for dinner in the evening( Yahlitza) I know people like the hustle and bustle of the high rise hotels, but this is a must stay place. The boat ride to the private island is one of the most enjoyable experiences. The rooms are very clean and both pool areas are clean and kept extremely neat. Shout out to the pool person Antonio and Roland. I enjoyed myself and wish I could return right now. Thank you Renaissance!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top