$31 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

Catalinas Suites

3 stars
Tucuman 313, Buenos Aires, 1049
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
14 reviews
Review of Catalinas Suites, Buenos Aires

The location was superb! Also, the front desk was very helpful in terms of arranging things for us. See full review

  • Steph So.Cal.
  • Aug 10, 2009
updated information required

from EZE you may take "Manuel Tienda Leon" shuttle @55 peso to Sheraton hotel and then walk to this... See full review

  • old nomad
  • Sep 20, 2011
Stellar location and good facilities at all-suite Buenos Aires hotel
The Catalinas Suites has an enviable location at the very heart of downtown Buenos Aires. The hotel lies within walking distance from the Obelisk, Plaza de Mayo and many other popular tourist attractions. It features 80 recently-renovated rooms with a full range of modern trimmings such as free wireless Internet. A complimentary buffet breakfast is served daily in the hotel's breakfast lounge. The Catalinas Suites has a 24-hour reception desk with dedicated bilingual staff that helps with sightseeing suggestions and directions.

 

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
  • Complimentary buffet breakfast daily
  • Excellent location in downtown Buenos Aires

 

Rooms
The Catalinas Suites houses 80 well-appointed and functional guest rooms with a pleasing look and feel. Rooms come in various configurations and sizes. All units are equipped with free high-speed wireless Internet access as well as mini-bar and satellite TV. Other trappings include air conditioning and safe deposit boxes. The recently-renovated rooms at the Catalinas Suites are an affordable option in downtown Buenos Aires.

 

Features
Its top location is the major drawing card of the Catalinas Suites. It is situated at the very heart of central Buenos Aires. Guests walk to the Obelisk, Colon Theater, Plaza de Mayo and many other tourist attractions. The upscale neighborhood of La Recoleta also is nearby. The Catalinas Suites is surrounded by cinemas, theaters and shops. A variety of restaurants also are within walking distance.
 
Guests of the Catalinas Suites enjoy a complimentary breakfast buffet daily in the hotel's breakfast lounge.
 
The 24-hour reception desk staff of the Catalinas Suites arranges a full spectrum of other services including laundry, dry cleaning, babysitting and car rental (fees apply).

 

Transportation
  • Buenos Aires International Airport (17.7 mi/28.6 km)

 

Attractions
  • Casa Rosada/Plaza del Mayo (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Colon Theater (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • San Telmo Fair (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Recoleta Cemetery (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Caminito/La Boca (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
Business
  • Meeting facilities
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel

 

 

Catalinas Suites Rooms

Standard Room
Spacious and comfortable rooms offer 1 double bed or 2 twin beds. The hotel has all the amenities to make of your stay an unforgettable stay. Our rooms have full and spacious bathrooms with bathtub and fully equipped.
Amenities
  • FREE Wi-Fi
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Air conditioning
  • Work desk
  • Wake up service
  • Extra beds and cribs (upon request)
  • Amenities

    • Free buffet breakfast
    • WiFi
    General
    Concierge
    Dining
    Free buffet breakfast
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed Catalinas Suites also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
    Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Map

    -34.6007 -58.3713
    Area served
    Buenos Aires
    Nearby airports
    Ezeiza International Airport.
    Area description
    Located in downtown Buenos Aires and just a few steps away from the most outstanding points of interest in the city, whether tourist, business or cultural. The stock exchange, the financial area, cinemas, theaters, shopping malls all lay around the hotel.

    Nearby points of interest

    • University of Buenos Aires: 0.1 mi
    • Obelisco de Buenos Aires: 0.5 mi
    • Buenos Aires Metropolitan Cathedral: 0.6 mi
    • Torre Monumental: 0.7 mi
    • Monserrat: 0.8 mi
    • Puente de la Mujer: 0.9 mi
    • Argentine National Congress: 1.2 mi
    • Port of Buenos Aires: 1.4 mi
    • The National Museum of Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
    • National Historical Museum: 2 mi
    • Latin American Art Museum of Buenos Aires: 2.2 mi
    • Once railway station: 2.3 mi
    • La Boca: 2.8 mi
    • Buenos Aires Botanical Garden: 3.1 mi
    • Club de Pescadores: 3.3 mi
    • University of Buenos Aires: 0.1 mi
    • Obelisco de Buenos Aires: 0.5 mi
    • Buenos Aires Metropolitan Cathedral: 0.6 mi
    • Torre Monumental: 0.7 mi
    • Monserrat: 0.8 mi
    • Puente de la Mujer: 0.9 mi
    • Argentine National Congress: 1.2 mi
    • Port of Buenos Aires: 1.4 mi
    • The National Museum of Fine Arts: 1.8 mi
    • National Historical Museum: 2 mi
    • Latin American Art Museum of Buenos Aires: 2.2 mi
    • Once railway station: 2.3 mi
    • La Boca: 2.8 mi
    • Buenos Aires Botanical Garden: 3.1 mi
    • Club de Pescadores: 3.3 mi
    • Tierra Santa: 4.8 mi
    • Federico Lacroze railway station: 5.1 mi
    • Estadio Monumental Antonio Vespucio Liberti: 5.7 mi

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1400
    Check-out:
    1200

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (14)

    Ratings and reviews for Catalinas Suites

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    14 out of 14
    Amenities:
    2.8
    Room cleanliness:
    3.9
    Hotel staff:
    3.9
    Room comfort:
    3.1
    Location:
    3.5
    Value:
    3.9

    64% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Catalinas Suites

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    E&S
    London, UK
    May 6, 2010

    Noisy

    This is an old hotel in a very central area. The road outside has a lot of rubbish, but the lobby is clean and the staff welcoming and helpful. The rooms are old-fashioned and worn, but reasonably clean, and one of the ancient lifts didn't work. The breakfast was OK, although when we came down there were plenty of empty tables, but not one with a clean table-cloth; staff were almost invisible during breakfast, and when we found someone to point out that the coffee urn was empty, it was taken away and never returned. So far, so acceptable (just) for a budget hotel. But the big problem was the noise. On the far end of the hotel, away from the entrance, the rooms overlook a roof-top night club. Very loud music started at midnight on Friday night, and got steadily louder until 6.00 am. The staff refused to find another room, so we checked out and found somewhere else for our last night in BA. Definitely to be avoided at weekends, unless you are planning to be up all night or go to the night club.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    2
    Value:
    3
    Review of Catalinas Suites

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Chicago
    Mar 19, 2010

    Very Good value for the price

    This older hotel is located on Tucuman, in El Centro, the main business district. The room was larger than most similar hotels as it had a kitchen/dining area, and it was rented as a suite. If you like older, Buenos Aires charm, this place has it. The breakfast was fairly good. The lobby is inviting. Antique elevators that actually worked fine, but small. It is close to the Reconquista Ave restaurant, pub district. Staff pretty helpful. For value, this is a good hotel to stay it if you are on a budget.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Close to Reconquista and Florida avenues.

    Review of Catalinas Suites

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    js
    Business
    Hayward, CA
    Mar 19, 2010

    I got what I paid for

    The hotel was very well situated and was within walking distance of everything I wanted to see. However, the hotel is a bit older and the rooms are in need of some renovation. The carpets, beds, bathroom fixtures were all showing some wear. For the most part, it was well cared for even if everything was new. I do have two criticisms. First, the carpets were dirty and were in need of being cleaned. Second off, they have old, rickety "cage style" elevators and quite often other guests would forget to close the door all the way when they got out. When this happened, I had to climb the stairs to wherever the elevator was stuck. All in all, I might stay again as long as I wasn't traveling with my family.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Catalinas Suites

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Dallas, TX
    Apr 19, 2008

    Very Unpleasant Experience

    Catalina suites is more like an apartel but does not have the amenities that they say they do, like a mini-refrigerator, ice maker or indoor pool. They gave us a choice between 2 full size beds or a queen size bed and I chose a queen size bed. When I got to my room, I didn't realize the queen size bed was two full size bed put together. If your in the middle, you feel like falling in the gap. The place was also noisy inside and outside. Although they say breakfast included, it was always the same thing day in/day out. Overall, we were not satisfied.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Bakery with good empanadas and sweets and cappuccino.

    Review of Catalinas Suites

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    js
    Business
    Hayward, CA
    Mar 19, 2010

    I got what I paid for

    The hotel was very well situated and was within walking distance of everything I wanted to see. However, the hotel is a bit older and the rooms are in need of some renovation. The carpets, beds, bathroom fixtures were all showing some wear. For the most part, it was well cared for even if everything was new. I do have two criticisms. First, the carpets were dirty and were in need of being cleaned. Second off, they have old, rickety "cage style" elevators and quite often other guests would forget to close the door all the way when they got out. When this happened, I had to climb the stairs to wherever the elevator was stuck. All in all, I might stay again as long as I wasn't traveling with my family.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of Catalinas Suites

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Baltimore, MD
    Apr 16, 2010

    Convenient, but noisy

    This hotel is reasonably near the heart of El Centro in Buenos Aires, just a couple blocks from the Florida (several blocks of pedestrian-only street with lots of shops) and 2 blocks from the Subte (subway system). Plaza del Mayo and Retiro are within easy walking range. So the location works well. My room was equipped with a kitchenette, which included a small stove, refrigerator, and some plates and utensils. Very workable. There is a small balcony (at least for those rooms facing the street -- I'm not sure about the rest). Now the downside: I didn't think it was possible for a place to be noisier than my first apartment. This place puts my first apartment to shame. The diesel engines of the buses going up and down the street resonate in the room, as does the loud music from the neighbors. Granted, this is a very urban area, so it is not unexpected. But if you're after peace and quiet in a hotel, this is not your place. The staff was very courteous and helpful (albeit you will need to know at least some Spanish).

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    There is an excellent wine store about 3 blocks up (west) on Tucuman on the right (north) side if you're walking from the hotel. I forget the name but the sign says "Wine Spectator Recommended". The service there is excellent, and they will hook you up with very strong wines.

    Review of Catalinas Suites

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Chicago
    Mar 19, 2010

    Very Good value for the price

    This older hotel is located on Tucuman, in El Centro, the main business district. The room was larger than most similar hotels as it had a kitchen/dining area, and it was rented as a suite. If you like older, Buenos Aires charm, this place has it. The breakfast was fairly good. The lobby is inviting. Antique elevators that actually worked fine, but small. It is close to the Reconquista Ave restaurant, pub district. Staff pretty helpful. For value, this is a good hotel to stay it if you are on a budget.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    4
    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Close to Reconquista and Florida avenues.

    Review of Catalinas Suites

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    old nomad
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Mar 27, 2012

    don't walk over there

    from EZE you may take "Manuel Tienda Leon" shuttle @55 peso to Sheraton hotel and then walk to this Catalina Suites nearby, much cheaper than taxi @160 peso. But no one knew that when I was at the airport. I was directed to the Bus#8, which took me to a spot dozens of blocks away after 2 hours zigzag way throughout the city. worse than that, when i walked to the hotel via the street where the hotel is located, i was attacked by a couple of aggressive thieves who approached me pretending to clean the dirt they threw upon me from behind, i knew this old trick so that just tried to walk away from them but still too late. my money was all gone after i struggled out of them and found it later. bad to have such an experience, isn't it! the street where the hotel is located is a bit desolated and dirty. I don't recommend to walk over there. the hotel staff is nice and helpful. they helped me exchange some bucks after i discovered the situation otherwise i didn't know how to deal with it in the later afternoon at that time.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    3
    Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

    from EZE you may take "Manuel Tienda Leon" shuttle @55 peso to Sheraton hotel and then walk to this Catalina Suites nearby, much cheaper than taxi @160 peso. But no one knew that when I was at the airport. I was directed to the Bus#8, which took me to a spot dozens of blocks away after 2 hours zigzag way throughout the city.

    Review of Catalinas Suites

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Baltimore, MD
    Apr 16, 2010

    Convenient, but noisy

    This hotel is reasonably near the heart of El Centro in Buenos Aires, just a couple blocks from the Florida (several blocks of pedestrian-only street with lots of shops) and 2 blocks from the Subte (subway system). Plaza del Mayo and Retiro are within easy walking range. So the location works well. My room was equipped with a kitchenette, which included a small stove, refrigerator, and some plates and utensils. Very workable. There is a small balcony (at least for those rooms facing the street -- I'm not sure about the rest). Now the downside: I didn't think it was possible for a place to be noisier than my first apartment. This place puts my first apartment to shame. The diesel engines of the buses going up and down the street resonate in the room, as does the loud music from the neighbors. Granted, this is a very urban area, so it is not unexpected. But if you're after peace and quiet in a hotel, this is not your place. The staff was very courteous and helpful (albeit you will need to know at least some Spanish).

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    There is an excellent wine store about 3 blocks up (west) on Tucuman on the right (north) side if you're walking from the hotel. I forget the name but the sign says "Wine Spectator Recommended". The service there is excellent, and they will hook you up with very strong wines.

    Review of Catalinas Suites

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Dallas, TX
    Apr 19, 2008

    Very Unpleasant Experience

    Catalina suites is more like an apartel but does not have the amenities that they say they do, like a mini-refrigerator, ice maker or indoor pool. They gave us a choice between 2 full size beds or a queen size bed and I chose a queen size bed. When I got to my room, I didn't realize the queen size bed was two full size bed put together. If your in the middle, you feel like falling in the gap. The place was also noisy inside and outside. Although they say breakfast included, it was always the same thing day in/day out. Overall, we were not satisfied.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    2
    Location:
    3
    Value:
    2
    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    Bakery with good empanadas and sweets and cappuccino.

    Back to menu Return to top