$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Esplendor El Calafate

4 stars
Pte. Peron 1143, -, El Calafate, SC 110054
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
10 reviews
Phenomenal, The Best Hotel

Absolutely phenomenal. It was the most comfortable and best hotel I've ever stayed in. From helping... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Feb 21, 2011
Absolutly beautiful!

While I was in El Calafate I had the chance to visit Perito Moreno and did a trip in a 4X4. I... See full review

  • Vero Barker
  • May 19, 2010
In the Heart of the Argentinean Patagonia stands the Esplendor del Calafate Hotel. Located in the centre of the city, the region's first boutique hotel has a marvelous view of the imposing "Argentino" Lake and the "Calafate" Hill.

The city of El Calafate, 80km from the "Perito Moreno" Glacier, is the area's most important tourist attraction, and one of the top destinations chosen by tourists who want to visit the Patagonia.
Our boutique hotel is located there enabling each guest to enjoy their trip in the best possible manner.

Note: Restaurant will be closed during April, May, September and October.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Esplendor El Calafate also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

Esplendor El Calafate Rooms

Classic Concept
51 Concept rooms, with comfortable Queen-size beds, leather headrests and an easy chair that complements the room, being a perfect space for relaxation. Telephone, mini bar, in room safe, Cable TV and a complete toiletry kit with hair-dryer are all standard features. Besides those amenities, the innovative rooms have been designed with Patagonian inspiration, enabling the presence of ornamental hanging lamps and tables of "Quebracho" wood.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Concierge
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Esplendor
We offer you an excellent dining option, with an exquisite, creative and contemporary signature cuisine, inspired on the combination and harmony of flavors and textures. Our dishes, made with local ingredients, conserve the traditional roots of the Patagonia presented and combined in an innovative way, part of an exclusive option for those who are keen on new experiences. Taste innovative drinks and aperitifs on the warm and relaxing atmosphere of the "Iglu" bar. The distinguished design and warm atmosphere of the restaurant compliments our cuisine and makes ours a unique dining option in El Calafate.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For your convenience, we offer you a 144 m2 hall for social events, meetings and small conventions room accommodating 170 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1000

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (10)

Ratings and reviews for Esplendor El Calafate

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 10
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
4

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Esplendor El Calafate

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sleepless in Las Vegas
Business
Anacortes, WA
Mar 1, 2012

Nice Hotel but not in a nice place

Spent two nights here in late February. Best place in town, by far based on what other lodgings look like here in town. We had a suite up front that was huge. Room does get hot, and they have cut little viewing holes in the drapes so the big windows remain draped, Worst thing is the location up on a hill--great view of a not very pretty place, but this location is about 3 blocks away from the main street and pretty unkempt area. you walk on slippery gravel to get there, and there are lots of weeds in front of the place. Can't belief they have not planted the small lot in front of the building. Not a romantic location, and pretty expensive for trekkers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor El Calafate

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
berkeley
Apr 17, 2011

Nice looking hotel, rooms too hot

The hotel while looking nice, has a fatal flaw: the rooms are way too hot, over 90 degrees even when it was freezing out. If you open the windows, some cool air comes in but then you are bombarded by barking dogs and loud cars. Stay away!! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor El Calafate

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Feb 21, 2011

Phenomenal, The Best Hotel

Absolutely phenomenal. It was the most comfortable and best hotel I've ever stayed in. From helping us to make plans for our excursions to the glaciers, to the wonderful buffet breakfast, it was truly a wonderful experience for me and my wife. We even just spent a day relaxing in the hotel instead of venturing out to the beautiful surroundings. That is saying a lot about how wonderful this place is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pura Vida- Wonderful Vegetarian food, Casimiro Bigua- the best steak I've ever had (the Three Pepper steak).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor El Calafate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota Florida
Feb 11, 2011

Great Location

Nicely situated over looking Lake Argentina. Short walk to town. Very clean hotel, nice menu and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

See the glaciers both from boat and walk from the top of the observation area and walk down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor El Calafate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hyperben
Business
hudson, ny
Jan 14, 2011

Esplendor review

A fine place to stay, only negative comment was the rooms were all perfumed with a coconut scent which was not pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pura Veda restaurant was recommended to us and was well worth the short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor El Calafate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jan 14, 2011

Beautiful Lodge Like Hotel

El Calafate is still a developing, remote town near the glaciers of Patagonia as its first airport was only constructed 10 years ago. So while some areas and roads are still rough, it is still very safe and friendly. This hotel was very good with many modern comforts. It felt like a US West mountain lodge. Service was friendly and helpful and they readily arranged Patagonia tours. Rooms were very comfortable and well maintained. Hotel bar was nice, not too busy so you had your own space with beautiful views. The free breakfasts were above average. I assume this is one of the nicer hotels in the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Pura Vida and La Tableta are 2 recommended restaurants about 5 minute cab ride or 15 minute walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor El Calafate

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vero Barker
Business
Mexico City
May 19, 2010

Absolutly beautiful!

While I was in El Calafate I had the chance to visit Perito Moreno and did a trip in a 4X4. I highly recommend both, Also I got a facial in the hotel, and it was nice and relaxing! It was one of the most amazing trips of my life and the Esplendor hotel was the perfect place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor El Calafate

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Domermick
Business
Staten Island, NY
Oct 12, 2009

A Nice Surprise

I don't expect other travellers who want to go to El Calafate to be the types who want to have massages and get treatment that one would expect at a resort location - instead, you are likely to be going to Calafate to see the glaciers and the hotel is of secondary importance. It was for me. That being said, the hotel was a very pleasant surprise...and as it turned out, I believe you CAN get massages, etc.! Staff at the hotel and restaurant were very friendly, and the rooms were quite nice. Certainly better than I expected for the price and at the bottom of South America in a fairly remote location. There's a great ambience about the place that I can't quite put my finger on in terms of how to describe...but it's a really nice style. Food at the restaurant was very good too. My wife loved the place, and I think I scored some points for the selection, which was a relief particularly after getting some demerits for my selection on Easter Island! :) I would stay here again in a heartbeat, and would recommend it to my friends and family without reservation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

You are in El Calafate undoubtedly to see the glaciers, in particular probably Perito Moreno. If you have a couple of days, the cruise on Lago Argentino is a good option (althought currently icebergs block passage to Upsala glacier). But if I had to choose between the cruise and being driven to the park itself, I would choose the drive, which we did on the second day before flying out. You only get a couple of hours to see the park, but it is a rewarding couple of hours, and really gives you a better impression of the beauty and marvel of the place than the cruise, in my opinion - because you can see it at different heights on the peninsula (on the water, you just have the one perspective)...taxi cost us about $100 (combined) to and from the hotel to the glacier for a couple of hour stay, but you've already spent a lot to go there already, right? Don't miss the park itself...and the ride there is also quite beuatiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor El Calafate

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
iTrader
Business
New York, NY
May 2, 2009

good stay

nice and clean hotel that provided all the services in a professional manner. helpful staff. not in the town center, but has a very nice view of the town and lake because it's situated on a hill. short walk into town, about 7-10min. hotel has a decent restaurant. i would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

hotel requires cash payment for all glacier tours. you can use your credit cards in tour agencies in town center, but credit cards cost 20% more. but might be worth a trip to town to make reservations there as they were about 10% cheaper than in hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Esplendor El Calafate

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Oct 17, 2008

Beautiful Boutique Hotel

The Esplendor was a great hotel. Beautiful interiors. Lobby was like a boutique ski resort. Room was large and very comfortable. The Town of El Calafate is very dirty and noisy with the stray dogs, but this hotel was a great retreat, up on a hill, from that. Staff was excellent and practically predicted my every need. I called them beforehand to set up excursions for me for the glaciers and they were perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to everything. We walked into town. ten minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top