The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

4 stars
Indian Town Road, St. John's,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
15 reviews
Relaxing break

Good facilities, food fairly good,friendly staff, good sized rooms. Hotel was a bit remote if you... See full review

  • Kingstonian
  • Oct 24, 2014
WONDERFUL resort!

Absolutely stunning resort and spa. See full review

  • Capitol Hill family
  • Apr 22, 2009
Adjacent to Devil's Bridge National Park, The Verandah Resort & Spa offers two soft white-sand beaches and tranquil waters on a protected cove -perfect for swimming or snorkeling in its crystal-clear waters. The resort offers three pools and features "the Oasis", a large freeform pool with a fun high-splashing water feature in the middle. It is one of the Caribbean's largest pools and an inviting spot for lounging in the sun or enjoying a refreshing dip.

The resort prides itself on its friendly, caring service. Amenities include its dedicated Kid's Club, as well as a state-of-the-art fitness center, tennis courts and a mini-cinema. The resort's signature "Spa Tranquility" offers rejuvenating and soothing treatments in a serene setting. Three palate-pleasing restaurants invite guests to savor familiar and new cuisines, while four bars and lounges keep visitors refreshed both day and night. The reef-sheltered waters are ideal for non-motorized water sports such as windsurfing, Sunfish sailing, snorkeling, kayaking and Hobie-style catamaran sailing.

The sightseeing, dining and shopping of historic St John's are only 30 minutes from the resort by car, as is Antigua's international airport. The resort offers both All-Inclusive.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive Rooms

Hillside Suite - All Inclusive
All Inclusive Caribbean Styled Architecture - Suite is located in single story duplex villas 700 sq feet. One King-Size bed, plus a Queen Sofa-Bed in the Living Area. Each Air-Conditioned Suite has a private furnished terrace, Flat-Screen Cable/Satellite TV, Microwave Oven, In-Room Safe, Compact Refrigerator and a Wet Bar with Coffee/Tea maker. Each Bathroom has a deep Soaking Tub with Shower, and Twin Sinks.
Waterfront Suite - All Inclusive
All Inclusive Caribbean Styled Architecture - Suite is located in single story duplex villas with spectacular waterview - 700 sq feet. One King-Size bed, plus a Queen Sofa-Bed in the Living Area. Each Air-Conditioned Suite has a private furnished terrace, Flat-Screen Cable/Satellite TV, Microwave Oven, In-Room Safe, Compact Refrigerator and a Wet Bar with Coffee/Tea maker. Each Bathroom has a deep Soaking Tub with Shower, and Twin Sinks.
WaterView Suite - All Inclusive
All Inclusive Caribbean Styled Architecture - Suite is located in single story duplex villas with slight waterviews - 700 sq feet. One King-Size bed, plus a Queen Sofa-Bed in the Living Area. Each Air-Conditioned Suite has a private furnished terrace, Flat-Screen Cable/Satellite TV, Microwave Oven, In-Room Safe, Compact Refrigerator and a Wet Bar with Coffee/Tea maker. Each Bathroom has a deep Soaking Tub with Shower, and Twin Sinks.
Superior Waterfront Suite - All Inclusive
All Inclusive Caribbean Styled Architecture - Suite is located in single story duplex villas with spectacular waterview - 700 sq feet. One King-Size bed, plus a Queen Sofa-Bed in the Living Area. Each Air-Conditioned Suite has a private furnished terrace, Flat-Screen Cable/Satellite TV, Microwave Oven, In-Room Safe, Compact Refrigerator and a Wet Bar with Coffee/Tea maker. Each Bathroom has a deep Soaking Tub with Shower, and Twin Sinks. This suite offers the best views.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Antigua: 10.2 mi
  • St. John's Cathedral: 10.6 mi
  • Fort James: 12 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Verandah offers a spacious 1612 sq ft meeting room with vaulted ceilings, audio/visual capabilities, available full-service beverage bar and light catering. The meeting space is located upstairs the main reception with waterview. The meeting room can accommodate 100 people using theatre-style seating or 50 people using table seating. Advance notice is required to reserve this location

Dining

Seabreeze Restaurant
Open-air restaurant with stunning ocean views serving buffet or a la Carte option. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily.
Marina Bar
Casual beach bar offering snacks and refreshing drinks.
Buccaneers Family Restaurant
Open air family dining.
Nicole's Steak House
An air conditioned la carte Bistro style steak and seafood grill. Reservations may be required and supplement of $25 pp applies.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (15)

Ratings and reviews for The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 15
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kingstonian
Business
London
Oct 24, 2014

Relaxing break

Good facilities, food fairly good,friendly staff, good sized rooms. Hotel was a bit remote if you wanted to see the island but had private beaches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jinu
Business
New Jersey
Dec 27, 2013

It was just OK

The food was ok. The beach smelled like urine. Our room was far from the beach and dinning area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Futzmommy
Business
Andover, Massachusetts
Oct 25, 2013

Single Get-a-way!

This is a nice smaller resort. the bungalows or little house are pretty and each has a balcony overlooking the sea or the garden. I had a garden room which was spacious but the furniture could be updated und the sheet were scratchy, but my room was quiet and not too far from the restaurant and big main pool. The entertainment at night could be better and the food was average. Breakfast hat a lot of fresh fruit which I liked. - The staff was very helpful and friendly and the golfcarts were always coming after a few minutes. They were the nicest staff I have come in contact with in a long time. The "quiet" beach was not nice and completely unswimmable , as it was very shallow and full of rocks. The bigger beach war fine, but in the beginning also very shallow and muddy . One had to swim way out to finally experience clear water. So several times I went around the corner to Long Beach ( near the Pineapple Resort) All in all I would give the resort a 3 1/2 star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
halool
Business
michigan
Aug 17, 2013

very disappointed

I've visited this resort once before, and I was very excited to have a reservation there for three days. However, it was a horrible experience. The room was not as nice as I expected it to be. I booked for 3, however only 2 were accomodated and I had to pay extra for my third guest. The room was not cleaned daily. The staff was rude. I had called the front desk multiple times for help, but never received any. I was once locked out of the room, called for someone to open my door, yet no one came. I was charged for the internet twice, which did not even work. When I complained to the front desk, they did nothing to fix my situation. I was very disappointed and upset with this stay, and will definitely never repeat it again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sisters
Business
UK
Mar 28, 2013

Great resort

Great resort, excellent staff, recommended for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dingo
Business
UK
Oct 25, 2012

True Paradise

Despite arriving to 3 days of a tropical storm, we had a brilliant stay at this resort, and would definately go back, staff all very helpful and couldn't do enough to help you, the only thing we weren't completely happy with was the food, we felt that the menus were repeated more than was necessary and would like to have had more variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ALMike
Business
Bloomfield, NJ, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Fantastic Family Gateway

Family of four (2 children 9 and 5). We just came back from our vacation on tuesday. We had a wonderful time. The resort is gorgeous. Very large bedroom with balcony with views of the sea. Very quiet and relaxing. The only thing missing: not a lot of entertainment at night. The food is really good. The staff is helpful and very nice. We would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frozen Out
Business
NYC
Apr 21, 2011

Antigua

After a brutally cold winter, we wanted nothing but sunshine and beach/pool. We had perfect weather, choice of beach location or pool location. Our room was centrally located to everything. The food could have been more createive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jan 10, 2011

Paradise found

The room was spacious and so was the bathroom with a large soaking tub.To confirm another review: the bed was hard.The view was good with a partial view of the water. The food was only OK, except for The Grill (included) and one of the specialty restaurants ($25 additional/person). ..but there was good variety. The drinks were as generous as it gets.. whatever you wanted was part of the "all inclusive", including very nice call brands. But the magnificent part was the beach and protected bay. The sand was powder soft, full use of the catamaran (sailed by you or a staff member who takes you out whenever you want), kayaks, paddle boat and other water toys... warm water with sandy bottom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make reservations at either the Buckaneer or Nicole's to break up the buffet dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Verandah Resort and Spa an Elite Island Resort - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami Beach, Florida
Oct 9, 2009

Not for the business traveler

I travel for business and was completely misled by the discription given for this hotel. 4.7 Miles West of VC Bird airport - more like 24 MILES or 45 MINUTES from Bird airport. Internet access, NO - not in the room, Wireless access, NO - not in the room, very important for a business traveler. Early meetings in St.John required I leave at 7:00 am WITHOUT breakfast. NO ROOM SERVICE - breakfast buffet not set up until 7:30 am. Front desk suggested taking food from the evening buffet for breakfast - NO FOOD CAN BE TAKEN FROM BUFFET. 2 small water bottles bought at the gift shop $10.00 USD!!! I arrived back at the hotel each evening at 8:00pm, requested a massage, NO - only 9:00am - 5:00pm. Requested a reservation at Nicole steakhouse, NO - not open until Friday. Sofa bed very uncomfortable felt the metal bar through the mattress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top