$652 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 17, 2015

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Dickenson Bay, P.O. Box 147, St Johns, -
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
22 reviews
For Couples only

It's a very nice vacation spot for couples only. It's wonderful not to hear noisey kids and crying... See full review

  • Aruba Beach Bum
  • Dec 30, 2013
Wonderful Vacation!

What a great resort! From the time we arrived to the time we left, we had a wonderful experience!... See full review

  • Beach Lover Couple
  • Nov 22, 2012
Voted "World's Most Romantic Resort" 12 years in a row, Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa beckons with two extraordinary vacations in one on Antigua's best and most famous beach, Dickenson Bay.

Cooling trade winds soothe the soul as you immerse yourself in a seaside garden oasis graced by majestic palms at the authentic Caribbean Grove. Savor the sophistication of a fine European Hotel in the Six-Star, all-suite Mediterranean Village. Awaken your most sensual side in an exotic Rondoval with its soaring 20-foot conical roof and spacious circular floor plan; or languish in the luxury of a 1400 square foot Mediterranean villa - both with private plunge pool and your own butler. Your choice of accommodations is rich and varied, allowing you to customize your vacation to the way you want it. Free WiFi for all guests, occupying Club Sandals or higher categories of accommodation.

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa allows you to unwind in the East Caribbean's largest pool (one of six). Celebrate the high art of food and drink with world-class faire and intimate settings at nine restaurants and eight bars including an English pub. A night out on the resort is really like a night out on the town. Whether you're dining on classic Italian, sumptuous sushi, or a sizzling steak, Aphrodite presides over every meal as you share the most romantic vacation of a lifetime. Two perfect worlds in one grande resort all designed for love.

Complimentary airport transfers to and from the hotel are included in the room rate.

/Free Wi-Fi included throughout the resort.

BUTLER SERVICE
Offering the absolute pinnacle of personal service, those who reserve a Butler Suite will enjoy the extraordinary services of a personal butler trained by the most elite guild of valets. From the moment you arrive, every detail is handled with unobtrusive grace, with your butler ensuring that every moment of your stay is beyond flawless.

SPA
Discover a sanctuary for relaxation and rejuvenation at Red Lane Spa, where classic European rituals are reinterpreted with a distinctive Caribbean flair. You'll find a unique sense of tranquility with a selection of exclusive services infused with botanical products, transforming your quest for inner beauty into a journey of endless self-discovery.

DINING
At nine world-class restaurants, a global team of master chefs caters to your endless culinary cravings. From the fiery island dishes of Eleanor's and the stir-fry drama of an Emperor's Feast, to the heart-warming Italian cuisine of Mario's, passions of the palate are served to absolute perfection. And whether you like it spicy, tangy, zesty or sweet... in stunning settings that are on-the-beach casual or white-gloved chic, Sandals Grande Antigua has your mood-of-the-moment covered.

ACTIVITIES
You will find a wide range of activities waiting for you at Sandals Grande Antigua: land-based sports such as tennis, volleyball, outdoor chess and shuffle board, billiards and every board game imaginable. Watersports include sailing, scuba diving, windsurfing, kayaking... and more. At night, the energy level kicks up a notch with stage shows, live performances, opulent beach parties and the lively piano bar.

The Perfect Romantic Getaway - Sandals Resorts have been designed to fulfill and exceed every need and wish that two people in love could ever possibly have. Resort accepts couples only, ages 18 years and older.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive Rooms

Mediterranean Oceanview Penthouse 1BR Butler Suite GA
These penthouse vistas offer penultimate views of the Mediterranean Village, Dickenson Bay and fabulous sunsets. The living room and bedroom both lead out to an oversized balcony with chaise lounges. The living room is furnished with a sofa, chaise and writing desk. This is complemented with a hidden microwave and wet bar. The bedroom has a king-sized, four poster canopied bed. The bathroom has twin wash basins, a Roman whirlpool tub and a separate walk in over head "rain" shower. Both the bedroom and living room are equipped with large flat-screen TVs (42). 24-hr. room service. Formerly: Grande Amalfi Sunset Luxury Penthouse One Bedroom Oceanview Suite Room View: Ocean, pool and gardens
Caribbean Honeymoon Beachfront Grande Luxe Club Level Room HGB
Newly refurbished room with pickled and mahogany furnishings and a four-poster king size bed with a large flat screen TV. Bathroom features marble vanity, and hand held luxury shower head. Room View: Ocean, Pool and Beach
Caribbean Honeymoon Grande Luxe Poolside Walkout Room WGL
Newly refurbished room with a separate sitting area, mahogany furnishings and a four-poster king size bed. Room offers a large flat screen TV. and a patio that opens to a pool. Bathroom features marble wash basins. Formerly: Honeymoon Orchid Grande Luxe Poolside Walkout Room
Sunset Bluff Honeymoon Luxury Club Level Room HL
Large room which sits atop a bluff offering panoramic views of Dickenson Bay, resort gardens and main pool. All rooms are furnished with four-poster mahogany beds, with a patio or balcony. Room View: Gardens or Pool
Caribbean Grande Luxe Poolside Room GL
Centrally located within the Caribbean Grove, the completely renovated Honeymoon Grande Luxe Room features a four-poster king size bed with a separate seating area and a balcony or patio just steps from a secluded pool and tranquil gardens. Set in Flamboyant, Oleander and Poinsettia Blocks. Formerly: Honeymoon Orchid Grande Luxe Room
Caribbean Honeymoon Premium HP
These rooms are more spacious than the Deluxe rooms and they offer a patio, separate vanity areas and are furnished with four poster mahogany king size beds. These are the closest rooms to the main pool and offer views of the pools & gardens. Located on the first floor of the Hibiscus building. Formerly: Honeymoon Garden of Eden Premium Room View: View of Pool and Gardens
Caribbean Premium PR
All first-floor garden-view rooms with patios, separate vanity area and more spacious than Deluxe rooms. Closest rooms to main pool. Formerly: Garden of Eden Premium Room View: View of Pool and Gardens
Mediterranean 1BR Butler Villa Suite wPrivate Pool Sanctuary LV
This is a true one storey villa in paradise. Each villa has an expansive private pool deck which leads to the pool sanctuary & whirlpool. The living room, which is furnished with a sofa, a love seat and a writing desk, looks out onto the pool deck. The bedroom is furnished with a king sized four poster canopied bed. The bathroom has twin wash basins, a roman whirlpool tub and a separate walk in overhead rain shower. Both the bedroom and living room are equipped with large flat screen TVs (42). This villa offers total romantic seclusion. 24-hr Room Service. Room View: View of Beach, Grounds and Village Pool

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort James: 2 mi
  • St. John's Cathedral: 2.4 mi
  • Museum of Antigua: 2.8 mi

Dining

Bayside Restaurant
International gourmet cuisine served indoors by candle-light or outdoors overlooking the moonlit sea. Saturday night is a 'grand buffet'. Closed Sundays. Dress code - casual elegance (dress pants, shirt with sleeve and collar for men). Reservations not required. Hours: Breakfast: 10:00am - 11:00am; Lunch: 12:30pm - 2:00pm; Dinner: 6:30pm - 9:30pm
O.K. Corral Restaurant
The atmosphere is casual in this Western-style grill, but the ocean view is breathtaking. Reservations are no longer required. Closed Sundays. Dress code - resort casual.
IL Palio Restaurant
A colorful, elegant restaurant specializing in regional Italian dishes. Reservations required. Closed Saturdays. Dress code - Casual elegance, (dress pants, shirt with sleeve and collar for men).
Kimono's Restaurant
Entertainment as well as delicious oriental cuisine prepared table-side by individual chefs. Restaurant has been expanded to seat more people, and Sushi Bar will be added soon. Reservations required. Closed Saturdays and Sundays. Dress code - casual elegance (dress pants, shirt with sleeve and collar for men).
The Courtyard Bistro
Anytime snacks, grilled items, such as grilled cheese sandwiches, cheeseburgers, salads, wraps and other light fare. Hours: 10:30am - 5:30pm; 10:30pm - 7:00am

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (22)

Ratings and reviews for Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 22
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eden Vermont
Feb 21, 2011

Antigua Trip 2/12/11

Over all a good trip. Food was well prepared and presented; drinks were good,service was great and personel were always friendly. A couple times the servers were a little unhappy, but for the most part all were accommodating. We would go back and more than likely upgrade from our deluxe package to the concierge level or above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Three resturantes required reservations, get those in early!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia
Jan 9, 2011

Average at best

Very average resort hotel that didn't deliver good value. Many, many better choices for all-inclusives.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan, PR
May 31, 2010

nature's paradise

Employees went out of their way to please you.Too many vendors on the beach constntly approaching you. The restaurants which required reservations were hard to book.Not much to do at night.[...] at main bar were especially nice as was the Phillipine young chef at the sushi bar who made our dining experience a very special one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make you reservations as soon as you get there so that you are able to visit the restaurants you like.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
philly john
Business
john, philly
May 23, 2010

dont believe the bad reviews

top shelf

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny and Tessy
Business
Noank, CT
Mar 12, 2010

Good value, good time!!!

The Sandals Antigua was amazing. The location is perfect. The transfer to and from the resort was hassle free. Landscaping excellent. Beach is beautiful despite the cloudy weather. The pool was huge, very comfortable and had awesome swim up bar, complete with stools and tables. Plenty of lounge chairs. Services was excellent; staff constantly going around making sure everyone are enjoying their vacation. All Restaurants have great food and service. Definitely recommend it and plan on returning in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Call early for restaurant reservation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JILLY
Business
SUFFOLK
Mar 11, 2010

The real feedback that counts

The hotel staff were fabulous, the location was good and the main pools were over crowded and shortage of sun beds. The beach was always packed and we was not able to get a sunbed on the beach until late afternoon. The restaurants were over booked and we had to wait for any special restaurant for over an hour to a table. This happened often for the restaurants. We did hire a car and found nelsons dock yard worth a visit, we also went to shirley hights again worth a visit. Car hire was fine in Antigua i did not find it value for money and the dominican has my vote for my next long haul vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO ST JOHNS GREAT SHOPS THERE AND QUITE AN EXPERIENCE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ashleyc
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Jul 13, 2009

Our trip was AMAZING!!

The pictures on the website do not do this resort justice...it was so breathtaking and beautiful. The staff was very nice and helpful. There was so much to do that we really wished we had another week to stay.. I HIGHLY recommend this resort.. you will NOT be disappointed!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Go in town and shop for gifts to take back home before heading to the giftshop! You can coordinate this through the resort which makes it very easy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canton, GA
Jun 19, 2009

Great vacation!

The best beach we've seen in the entire region. A fantastic staff who are happy to help with special requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you make reservations for Kimonos, Eleanors, and OK Corral when you arrive since all three book up quickly. Eleanors (Caribbean) was the best restaurant, but we didn't have a bad meal the entire week were there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Mar 3, 2009

Less than perfect honeymoon

We were on our honeymoon. When our luggage was lost by the airline, the hotel reassured us all week that they would help to recover it. However, every time we asked about the status, we got a different answer, and our luggage never arrived. We were extremly dissappointed with the food quality and selection. We felt our food choices were limited and the quality was poor every time we ate. Had we not been on our honeymoon, this trip would have been miserable. We had no luggage, no camera, and no books. The poor quality of the food made us never want to return to another Sandals resort again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do not let your luggage out of your sight.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa - Luxury All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belmont
Aug 23, 2008

Great Honeymoon Spot

Sandals Grande Antigua Resort & Spa was amazing. Everything from the food to the pool and the beach. Top notch and anyone having a negative experience at this amazing place would purely have it due to something they have done and not because of the quality of this hotel. Both my husband and I loved the food, the daily and nightly activities, the asthetic beauty of the island and particularly Sandals. We would love to come back here and will be telling all of our friends about our great experience for years to come.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top