$310 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Anguilla Great House

3 stars
View map of PO Box 157, The Valley,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
5 reviews
Marriage

Excellent location, great no frills resort, like being in Key Largo, recommend highly See full review

  • The Taibl's
  • Mar 30, 2014
Relaxing getaway

The Great House was a gracious, laid-back hotel on a beautiful white sand beach at Rendezvous Bay.... See full review

  • Dutt
  • Jun 30, 2013
At the Great House Beach Resort the gentle warmth of the Caribbean sunshine is second only to the friendly smiles and hospitality of our staff. Located on spectacular Rendezvous Bay, a 2 1/2 mile crescent of dazzling white sand fringed by the turquoise Caribbean Sea, this is an intimate and romantic hideaway, offering Anguilla Great House's great style of vacation in a very private and uncrowned atmosphere. Anguilla Great House Beach Resort has 35 intimate guest rooms, all with views of the Caribbean Sea (set back a little, so as not to "intimidate the beach"). A perfect spot for lovers, it would be difficult to imagine a better setting for a wedding or a honeymoon in paradise.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Anguilla Great House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Anguilla Great House Rooms

Garden View Room
Each of Anguilla Great House's gingerbread laced cottages sit amid our beautiful gardens, just footsteps from the beach. All accommodations are furnished with a choice of one king OR one queen sized OR two double beds; ceiling fans, private porches, and shower bathrooms. Air conditioning is available in most rooms.
Ocean View Room
Each of Anguilla Great House's gingerbread laced cottages sit amid our beautiful gardens, just footsteps from the beach. All accommodations are furnished with a choice of one king OR one queen sized OR two double beds; ceiling fans, private porches, and shower bathrooms. Air conditioning is available in most rooms.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Old Caribe Bar and Restaurant
This casually elegant, open-air restaurant is close to both the beach and pool. An array of cuisine styles is featured here, including West Indian, French and American.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Anguilla Great House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 5
Amenities:
2.8
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Anguilla Great House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Taibl's
Business
Denver
Mar 30, 2014

Marriage

Excellent location, great no frills resort, like being in Key Largo, recommend highly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

CuisinArt resort close by, first class with restaurants and all amenities

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anguilla Great House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dutt
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 30, 2013

Relaxing getaway

The Great House was a gracious, laid-back hotel on a beautiful white sand beach at Rendezvous Bay. There were few guest this time of year so we often had the beach to ourselves. A few days a week, a catamarran full of tourists would come over from St. Martin to enjoy our beach and eat at the restaurant. The Caribe Restaurant was across the yard and served excellent food at reasonable prices when compared to other places on this island. We also tried several other restaurants on the island and meals were good to excellent. We rented a car which was very helpful in exploring this small island and getting to other beaches where we could snorkel through the coral reefs of enchanting colorful fish. Locals were friendly, respectful, and helpful. They came to our beach early each morning for a swim before work and again at the end of the day. We took the ferry to St. Martin one day. The ride was very bumpy across he sea and should not be made on a full stomach! St. Martin' s town of Margot was busy with some lovely French sidewalk cafes. We caught a bus to the Dutch side of the island and saw the sights. We were glad to get back to Anguila were life moves at a much slower pace. If you're a shopper, this is not the island for you, but we found it a great place to unwind. There was always a nice breeze, no bugs, and a spot under the palms to sit and read or watch the birds and visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Print off a dining rating guide from the Anguilla web-site before you go rather than rely on the tour book advertisements. We found them accurate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anguilla Great House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caribbean Wannabe
Business
Chesterfield, MO
Nov 18, 2012

Unbeatable Location if you love the beach!

Ok, I want you read this review carefully. If will help you if/when you decide to stay here and might set the stage for a great trip or a disappointed one. First, let me say that we have traveled around the world and have stayed in locations ranging from one star to five star. So, I feel qualified to offer this opinion. Before you decide where you want to stay in Anguilla, it is critical to decide what is most important. If it's beach location, you CANNOT, I repeat, CANNOT get much better than this! Great House is directly on beautiful Rendevous Bay (reported to be the 2nd or 3rd best beach in the world) at a fraction of the cost of the well known Cuisinart resort next door. You will feel like you have your own private beach. Also, bring or buy insect roll-on while on the island. If lodging and ameneties are MOST important to the travelers, then you probably want to avoid Great House. The rooms are bungalow style that are separated by shared doors. They have A/C, ceiling fans, cable TV, iron, small desk, and a small fridge. However, they are a bit dated and need updating. I will admit that after checking-in, my wife was not happy. However, after one day and a little additional cleaning, she was fine. My best advice is do not try and measure this property by what you may be used to in larger US cities or Brand Name Hotels. As our friends reminded us "Remember that this is the Caribbean". Actually, by the end of the week, we were talking about when we would return to Great House. Did I mention it's proximity to the beach!!! The onsite restaurant and bar was great and offered a open outdoor atmosphere next to the beach. The staff was great and whom we now call friends. In summary, if you are coming to Anguilla and want a true Caribbean experience, feel, and beach location, at a fraction of the cost, this is the place to stay. If you want big resort feel, spa, fitness centers, private cabanas, and pampering, then there are plenty of other well know resorts on the island. The true test for any location is whether you would come back to stay. Let me say that "yes, I would."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a new restaurant/bar opening soon a short beach walk from The Great House on Rendevous Bay. The beach views while dining are to die for! The restaurant has yet to be named, but when you go, ask about the dollar bill that is attached on the wall behind the bar!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anguilla Great House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
An avid traveler
Business
Netherlands
Sep 25, 2009

Good location & friendly staff

The hotel is located on a nice sandy beach with a view of St. Martin/St. Maarten right across the other side of the sea. Room is spotless an clean. The only disadvantage is the limited dining option in the area, and you may need to have a rental car to move around, as taxi is expensive (you can easily rent the car for the same or less than the taxi fares you pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent beach not to be missed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Anguilla Great House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Aug 4, 2009

Love Rendezvous Bay

The great house is one of the oldest hotels on the island. The rooms are spacious enough and have a quaint Carribean character. If you need to be taken care of, this is not the hotel for you. If you can be self reliant, its perfect. The beach is gorgeous and uncrowded, the hotel is quiet, staff is pleasant. With the money you save on the room, you can rent a car and go to all the restaurants on the island, many are superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top