By clicking, I agree to the terms

Cheap Flights to Florida

Flight only Hotel only Flight + Hotel

Flight type

Round-trip One-way
Age of children at time of trip

We will search for applicable airfare discounts. Must have 1 adult for each infant in lap

More to explore in Florida

Florida flights

Orbitz has made booking inexpensive flights to Florida a breeze, so your biggest dilemma will be which beach to visit first.

Flights to Florida

Flights to Florida can be routed to most cities in Florida, but the four largest airports are in Miami, Orlando, Tampa, and Fort Lauderdale. While Fort Lauderdale and Miami accept southern Florida flights, Tampa and Orlando serve central Florida. Miami International Airport is a hub for American Airlines and is the principal gateway between the United States and Latin America. Orlando International Airport is the second largest airport in Florida, following Miami, and is only six miles southeast of central Orlando. Tampa International Airport is a hub for Silver Airways and is only six miles from downtown Tampa. Fort Lauderdale International Airport is also a hub for Silver Airways, as well as a popular gateway to the Caribbean, and is only three miles from the beach. Florida flights to the panhandle area are most often routed to Tallahassee Regional Airport.

Florida Weather

Passengers on Florida flights will want to make sure they pack two things: rain gear and sunscreen. Particularly during the summer, torrential downpours can occur at any minute, and when it is not raining the sunlight is extremely strong. Heat and humidity in the summer are high as well, and the hurricane and cyclone season peaks in August - October. For this reason, travelers may want to schedule their flights to Florida for winter months, when weather is milder and storms are less likely. Winter temperatures average 65F - 77F but fall sharply at night.

Getting Around Florida

No matter where travelers on Florida flights land, they will find copious public transportation options available. The Florida Public Transportation Association has worked tirelessly to increase transportation options statewide. It is committed to alleviating congestion on highways, providing additional jobs for citizens, and reducing Florida's impact on the environment. There are over three thousand buses operating in and between Florida's major cities, and over two hundred train cars. Miami, Orlando, and Tampa offer extensive heavy rail, bus, and trolley lines respectively, all of which have inexpensive fares. For those renting cars, be advised that Florida's toll roads are expensive and often unavoidable. Visitors will save money using public transportation, especially with the purchase of day passes for buses and trains.

Florida Attractions

Looking down on Florida's stretch of beachfront, passengers on flights to Florida may dream of spending their entire vacation with their feet in soft sands and warm waters. There is plenty to do in Florida, and popular attractions include:

  • Ringling Museum Complex, the Venetian Gothic mansion-turned-museum constructed by circus titan John Ringling
  • Walt Disney World, both a city and an adventure, with access to Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Animal Kingdom, and Disney-MGM
  • Clearwater Marine Aquarium, the world famous sanctuary that rescued dolphins and that sea turtles call home
  • Boggy Creek Airboat Rides, a guided boat tour of the Everglades with opportunities to see wild alligators, turtles, and exotic birds
  • Bahai Honda State Park, one of the best beaches in Florida for swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, and watching sunsets
Best Anytime fares to Florida

Cheap round-trip flights to Florida

Departure Arrival Travel dates Airline Round-trip
Washington DC Orlando Sun, Aug 31 - Mon, Sep 8 airline logo Frontier Airlines $145
Washington DC Miami Tue, Aug 12 - Wed, Aug 13 airline logo American Airlines $193
Dallas Tampa Sat, Sep 13 - Wed, Sep 17 airline logo Spirit Airlines $135
Washington DC Fort Lauderdale Tue, Oct 21 - Sat, Oct 25 airline logo Frontier Airlines $145
Washington DC Fort Myers Sun, Sep 28 - Fri, Oct 3 airline logo Frontier Airlines $145
Boston West Palm Beach Sat, Jan 10 - Sun, Jan 18 airline logo Spirit Airlines $195
New York Jacksonville Fri, Sep 19 - Fri, Sep 26 airline logo jetBlue $203
Tampa Key West Mon, Aug 18 - Wed, Aug 20 airline logo United Airlines $197
St Louis Pensacola Sat, Aug 23 - Sat, Aug 30 airline logo US Airways $237
Rochester Sarasota Wed, Sep 3 - Tue, Sep 9 airline logo jetBlue $205
Syracuse Daytona Beach Sun, Aug 31 - Wed, Sep 3 Delta Airlines Delta Air Lines $224
Washington DC Valparaiso Sun, Aug 24 - Wed, Aug 27 Delta Airlines Delta Air Lines $238
Back to menu Return to top

Best weekend fares to Florida

Best weekend fares to Florida

Departure Arrival Travel dates Airline Round-trip
Washington DC Orlando Thu, Sep 4 - Mon, Sep 8 airline logo Frontier Airlines $145
Washington DC Miami Thu, Sep 18 - Sat, Sep 20 airline logo American Airlines $209
Dallas Tampa Sat, Nov 1 - Mon, Nov 3 airline logo Spirit Airlines $145
Washington DC Fort Lauderdale Thu, Sep 18 - Sat, Sep 20 airline logo Frontier Airlines $145
Washington DC Fort Myers Thu, Sep 25 - Sun, Sep 28 airline logo Frontier Airlines $155
Boston West Palm Beach Thu, Dec 18 - Sun, Dec 21 airline logo Spirit Airlines $195
New York Jacksonville Fri, Sep 19 - Mon, Sep 22 Delta Airlines Delta Air Lines $195
Tampa Key West Thu, Sep 18 - Sat, Sep 20 4-1 version from Alfresco Silver Airways $197
St Louis Pensacola Fri, Sep 12 - Mon, Sep 15 airline logo American Airlines $299
Rochester Sarasota Thu, Sep 11 - Sat, Sep 13 airline logo jetBlue $240
Syracuse Daytona Beach Thu, Sep 18 - Sat, Sep 20 Delta Airlines Delta Air Lines $216
Washington DC Valparaiso Thu, Mar 5 - Mon, Mar 9 Delta Airlines Delta Air Lines $246
Back to menu Return to top