Flights to Florida

Age of children at time of trip

We will search for applicable airfare discounts. Must have 1 adult for each infant in lap

Cheap round-trip flights to Florida

Departure Arrival Travel dates Round-trip
New York Miami Wed, Sep 9 - Wed, Oct 14 $158
Washington DC Miami Tue, Jun 23 - Sat, Jun 27 $99
Washington DC Orlando Tue, Jul 7 - Wed, Jul 15 $138
Latrobe Orlando Tue, Jun 2 - Tue, Jun 9 $167
Pittsburgh Orlando Tue, Jun 23 - Sat, Jul 4 $235
Boston Miami Mon, Dec 7 - Thu, Feb 4 $192
Boston Orlando Wed, Sep 2 - Fri, Sep 11 $244
New York Orlando Tue, Jun 16 - Wed, Jun 17 $219
Newark Orlando Tue, Jun 16 - Wed, Jun 17 $227
Philadelphia Orlando Tue, Jun 16 - Tue, Jun 23 $118
Los Angeles Miami Tue, Sep 1 - Sun, Sep 6 $344
Philadelphia Miami Wed, Jul 1 - Sat, Jul 4 $158
Detroit Orlando Sat, Jul 25 - Wed, Jul 29 $179
Los Angeles Orlando Thu, Oct 15 - Fri, Oct 16 $334
Orlando Key West Sun, May 31 - Tue, Jun 2 $111

Orbitz has made booking inexpensive flights to Florida a breeze, so your biggest dilemma will be which beach to visit first.

Flights to Florida

Flights to Florida can be routed to most cities in Florida, but the four largest airports are in Miami, Orlando, Tampa, and Fort Lauderdale. While Fort Lauderdale and Miami accept southern Florida flights, Tampa and Orlando serve central Florida. Miami International Airport is a hub for American Airlines and is the principal gateway between the United States and Latin America. Orlando International Airport is the second largest airport in Florida, following Miami, and is only six miles southeast of central Orlando. Tampa International Airport is a hub for Silver Airways and is only six miles from downtown Tampa. Fort Lauderdale International Airport is also a hub for Silver Airways, as well as a popular gateway to the Caribbean, and is only three miles from the beach. Florida flights to the panhandle area are most often routed to Tallahassee Regional Airport.

Florida Weather

Passengers on Florida flights will want to make sure they pack two things: rain gear and sunscreen. Particularly during the summer, torrential downpours can occur at any minute, and when it is not raining the sunlight is extremely strong. Heat and humidity in the summer are high as well, and the hurricane and cyclone season peaks in August - October. For this reason, travelers may want to schedule their flights to Florida for winter months, when weather is milder and storms are less likely. Winter temperatures average 65F - 77F but fall sharply at night.

Getting Around Florida

No matter where travelers on Florida flights land, they will find copious public transportation options available. The Florida Public Transportation Association has worked tirelessly to increase transportation options statewide. It is committed to alleviating congestion on highways, providing additional jobs for citizens, and reducing Florida's impact on the environment. There are over three thousand buses operating in and between Florida's major cities, and over two hundred train cars. Miami, Orlando, and Tampa offer extensive heavy rail, bus, and trolley lines respectively, all of which have inexpensive fares. For those renting cars, be advised that Florida's toll roads are expensive and often unavoidable. Visitors will save money using public transportation, especially with the purchase of day passes for buses and trains.

Florida Attractions

Looking down on Florida's stretch of beachfront, passengers on flights to Florida may dream of spending their entire vacation with their feet in soft sands and warm waters. There is plenty to do in Florida, and popular attractions include:

  • Ringling Museum Complex, the Venetian Gothic mansion-turned-museum constructed by circus titan John Ringling
  • Walt Disney World, both a city and an adventure, with access to Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Animal Kingdom, and Disney-MGM
  • Clearwater Marine Aquarium, the world famous sanctuary that rescued dolphins and that sea turtles call home
  • Boggy Creek Airboat Rides, a guided boat tour of the Everglades with opportunities to see wild alligators, turtles, and exotic birds
  • Bahai Honda State Park, one of the best beaches in Florida for swimming, snorkeling, kayaking, and watching sunsets